We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big let down definitely not 4*” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Wellington Park Hotel
Ranked #30 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big let down definitely not 4*”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

From beginning to end this was one of the worst weekend breaks that my husband and I have experienced ever! On our arrival at 2.50pm we were told by the receptionist that we would have to wait at least 1 hour for the staff to finish cleaning before we could have our room key (Despite check-in being 3pm). While waiting we decided to join the other two members of our party to see what their room was like. As soon as we entered the room the smell of smoke was evident from the last occupants. When we got to our own room there was no smell of smoke just the same dated, shabby room (Not at all like the luxurious bedroom pictures shown on their website). The shower was a joke it soaked the toilet, toilet paper and floor because its height or position could not be adjusted.
The icing on the cake was at 2.30am sat night/sun morning the radiator made the strangest noise that woke us from our sleep-it was so loud I initially assumed it was a fire alarm. We played about with the radiator until the noise eventually stopped. The same thing happened again at 6pm. Not the good nights sleep we had hoped for given that we have a baby and were hoping to get a good nights rest on our hotel break away from her. At checkout we decided to tell the staff about their wonky radiator-we were not looking any compensation a simple apology would have been suffice and the knowledge that no one else would have to loose a nights sleep over the same thing was all we wanted. The receptionist was unfriendly and lacked the ability to provde a good quality customer care service deserving of a four star hotel. I have yet to hear an apology/sorry for your trouble or I will get someone to check that out today. If it was my business I would be ensuring the first and last person that my customers meet when they arrive and leave the premises leaves a good impression not a nasty taste in their mouth. The receptionist also told us he would get the management to phone us regarding our stay-i'm still waiting on the phonecall!! Needless to say we won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Manager at Wellington Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
I am very sorry to read of the problems that you experienced at the Hotel. Please get in touch as soon as you can so that we can discuss how we can make amends and hopefully restore your faith in us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    197
    147
    77
    64
See reviews for
88
163
34
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Clean room, clean bathroom, comfortable bed, polite staff, nice bar, good breakfast. Easy to to get in and out of. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon Qld Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Such caring friendly staff. Wonderful food , clean rooms , by far the best of all our accomodation whilst overseas...Free wireless internet, relaxing foyer.I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and family..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terrybenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

This was our first trip away with our 6 month old baby so we didn't know what to expect. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating.We told the person when making the booking by phone, that we had a baby and she said "no problem we will put a cot in the room for you ".Although this was not in the room upon check in ,5 minutes later it arrived.
The staff in this hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome and it is very sincere .The food in the restaurant was good although menu was quite limited .Exceptional chocolate puddings .
Our car broke down after checking out and when we informed the manager he promptly rounded up a posse to push the car and get us started ,and it was no problem whatsoever,infact they actually seemed to enjoy it !!!
We travel to belfast quite a few times a year and this is the hotel we will be staying in from now on .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We came here for a family wedding and stayed on a few days to look around Belfast. The excellent Ulster Museum is about a minute away, as are the rather disappointing Botanical Gradens. The Ciry Centre is about 3 minutes by taxi, 20 minutes walk by road or more pleasantly, 40 minutes along the River Lagan (on the other side of the Botanical Gardens)

There are good restaurants and pubs - from "lively" to "relaxing" - in the area. The food in the hotel itself, for the wedding, the restaurant and the Bar were superb, especially the wedding meal which, from past experiences elsewhere, can be dire!

On Saturday nights, the hotel is a popular wedding/hen/stag venue and it's a good idea to keep away from the bar area if you're not involved in any of them! For the same reason, noise can be a problem on the lower floors.

Two of the rooms provided for our party were unsatisfactory (damp smell in one and too noisy in the other) but the two couples involved were given replacement rooms with no hassle.

The rooms in general, I would say, were just above "no frills" standard but what will make us come back to this hotel was the courtesy, helpfulness and friendliness of ALL the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greygapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

this hotel was good, very busy with hen do's and weddings, rooms and coridors were very hot, no air conditioning, room 321 noisy due to generators so could not have the small window open , we asked to be moved which they did with no fuss, very friendly, helpful staff . hotel is a bit out of main town its a long walk , we took a taxi

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa8_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

My partner and I decided to book this hotel for Valentine's night as we thought that £55 per person for an evening meal/romantic overnight stay was great value.
I can't think of anything bad to say about our stay there. The location was great for what we wanted to do (The Ulster museum was literally next door)....basically it was the perfect venue for a getaway even if just for one night. The hotel wasn't at all noisy, the service was top class, especially when it came to our evening meal in the restaurant , I felt we were treated like royalty, the staff were also polite and the breakfast offered was generous.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Applepie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Maldron Hotel Belfast
#29 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Park Hotel

Property: Wellington Park Hotel
Address: 21 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 6RU, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well established, independently owned and managed Hotel in a great location, close to Queens University, The Ulster Museum, Botanic Gardens and only minutes from the many tourist attractions now available in Belfast. With 75 large comfortable bedrooms, a spacious welcoming foyer and conference facilities for up to 300, a lively Bar and Restaurant, it's no wonder this hotel is popular with locals and visitors alike. Private coach and car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Wellington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belfast
Belfast Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing