We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Rectory
Ranked #4 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Positives - Great breakfast with fantastic home-baked soda bread and potatoe bread, friendly staff.
Negatives - the top sheet did not nearly fit the mattress leading to disturbed sleep. The road is a busy 4 lane highway so expect traffic noise. I had the single bedroom with 'adjacent' private bathroom - it was at the other end of the corridor. They don't take credit cards, cheques or Paypal. Just cash.

Room Tip: I spent one night in a room with lovely stained-glass windows but NO blind / curtains for the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    35
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
50
98
47
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had a very nice stay at this charming B&B. The family were all very helpful and friendly. I stayed in the Belvedere room on the third floor, nice room with very pretty bedding. The Irish soda bread scone I had at breakfast was the best scone I had on my trip. I have recommended this B&B to my friends for their visit next May.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, or have a lot of luggage, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonD282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Charming B&B. It has a great location. It is outside the city center; a pleasant walk to Queens. Easy access to public transportation. It is very clean. My room was lovely and a good size. Fabulous breakfasts. Great value. And, the owners are wonderful. I found them extremely helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Historian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I were attending an evening wedding reception at Deane's at Queens last Friday and I had booked us in to the Old Rectory Guesthouse and was so glad I had. We were greeted warmly by the lovely landlady who booked, who was very helpful and booked us a taxi to the evening reception as soon as we arrived which saved us the trouble. Our room was really lovely facing out onto the main Malone Road. Tea/coffee making facilities in room together with biscuits and outside our room there was a small fridge which had jugs of cold water and milk if we needed any extra. There was also a hairdryer in the room and toiletries in the en-suite. The bed was really comfortable.

Breakfast was beautiful and the home made fruit soda farls were delicious. The cooked breakfast was also delicious and if we have the occasion to need a place to stay overnight again in Belfast I think we would definitely consider the Old Rectory Guesthouse.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely guesthouse to anyone and hope they enjoy their stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were over for the Bruce Springsteen concert and so we chose this b and b as it was a perfect location only 10 minutes walk or so from the venue. However, we also had a really enjoyable stay, a warm friendly welcome, comfortable tasteful room - we knew that the bathroom for our use only was down the corridor when we booked and this was not a problem for us. The breakfast was delicious - lots of fresh fruit and homemade breads.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Old Rectory for a week in July 2013 and were delighted. The longtime owners were away and two of their daughters were running things. Clearly they inherited the family DNA for hospitality and energetic service. The neighborhood is quiet and lovely--lots of interesting walks past mansions as well as regular-ol'-folks' homes. The rooms are comfortable (especially the mattress-wish mine at home was that comfy) and clean. We typically avoid B&Bs, preferring the privacy of a hotel...but this was a much better alternative. We had a double room ensuite, but I saw all the rooms at one time or another while they were being changed over -- and all are nice. We were there because of the proximity to a Springsteen concert, but found it was a nice walk to many good Lisburn Road restaurants, groceries and other needs. Also near the fabulous Ulster Museum, Queens University and on a major bus route. This is not a slick impersonal place -- it is a lovely home with scads of books around to read, nice common space and super professional, kind people in charge. We've already booked for another trip!

Room Tip: If you don't want stairs, ask for the double room on main floor. The rooms are all different and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithNotebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here for one night in our travels around Ireland and LOVED every second of it. It felt like home, a break from the same old generic hotels we usually stay in. It was my daughter and son's first time in a B&B, and they were delighted to have their own room with two separate beds equipped with the "most comfortable mattresses of the whole trip." The cherry on top was the fresh squeezed orange juice and hand crafted breakfast that was offered in the morning. The host was extremely helpful in guiding us around the city and suggesting yummy places to eat in town. Great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
The Gregory
#2 of 51 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Avenue Guest House
#3 of 51 in Belfast
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Property: Old Rectory
Address: 148 Malone Rd., Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing