We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, quintessentially Ulster experience.”
Review of Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 50 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding, quintessentially Ulster experience.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I are both from Northern Ireland and stayed here on a whim. This is the perfect way to experience our country's hospitality and warmth, is located in one of the city's leafiest suburbs, and the food was outstanding too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niall n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    36
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
58
105
49
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Our first trip to Belfast we stayed two nights our hosts Mary and Gerry were more than welcoming to us, our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The best part of the stay was the breakfast meal. If you haven't had a traditional Ulster breakfast you will not be disappointed . We travelled to other bed and breakfast's and we made a point to call back a book another night before our journey back to Canada ?

It was very easy to find from the Belfast ferry terminal and we just left our rental car and took a cab downtown the bus stop was right out the front door as well

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolutely outstanding in all areas! Our Tripadvisor reviews of previous years of The Old Rectory have not altered. It is the best place to stay whilst visiting Belfast. We always enjoy the comforts of this house and the excellent breakfasts. The people who live and work here are so helpful and friendly and make one feel most welcome and at home, yet the privacy of the guest is paramount. Free Wifi is a bonus!
We shall be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfGeddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My sister, her husband and I stayed at the Old Rectory for a couple of days when we first flew to Belfast for a week's holiday. Fantastic, friendly people. Excellent advice on places to see and things around Belfast, and even for our trip heading north up the coast. The best breakfasts in Northern Ireland and probably the World!! We were looked after so well we made sure we booked the last nights of our Northern Ireland trip with them too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpr1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Apart from the lovely house itself, the staff was very pleasant and helpful, giving advice on anything asked, always with a warm smile on their face! I stayed in this very cozy guesthouse for 10 days and very quickly started feeling as comfortable as at home, with the bonus of an ama(aaaaa!)zing breakfast every morning! Definitely the best moments during those 10 days! I would definitely like to visit again with family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We visited Belfast to celebrate our 15th Wedding Anniversary and chose to stay at the Old Rectory, a family run guest house. We made a good choice! Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, most comfortable and quiet. There was a good choice of cooked breakfasts which we worked through during our four night stay! The family were very friendly and helpful. The stops for buses to and from Belfast city centre were at the end of the driveway which we found to be very useful. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren-Olimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had not booked a place in Belfast and we were so lucky that rooms were available for our two night stay. We stayed in a double one night and twin the next. Every room was spotless, cozy and a home away from home. Gerry is a chef and the breakfasts are delicious. He also gave us excellent recommendations about what to see and where to eat in Belfast, did not disappoint. Location is on a bus route direct to the University area and downtown. Easy to find once you know the roads. Hoping to stay again in the near future. Thank you!
Sincerely, Eric and Melinda Falkenberg-Poetz

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ermefalkpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,555 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 45 in Belfast
2,514 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Property: Old Rectory
Address: 148 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing