We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Belfast and beyond”
Review of Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Rectory
Ranked #3 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We highly recommend this guesthouse. It was our first time to Northern Ireland and staying at the Old Rectory was one of the major reasons our family enjoyed Belfast so much. Located in a quiet neighborhood just south of the city center, it is especially well-located if you're driving since the M1 highway is just a few minutes away which we found convenient when we drove out to see Giant's Causeway. But the bus going into the city center also stops right in front, which makes it very easy to leave the car behind for the day if you wish. Mary and Gerry are lovely hosts and gave us many helpful recommendations during our stay. Their breakfast is top notch (My wife thought the porridge was marvelous) and gave us a great start to our days. And after our long activity-filled days, it was wonderful being able to return and rest in their comfortable rooms. Even though it was November, by the end of our three night stay, our school-aged daughters were sorry to be leaving Belfast and the Old Rectory and have told everyone they hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summertimeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have just stayed in An Old Rectory for three weeks while I attended courses at Queens University and I have enjoyed every minute. Mary and Gerry are very friendly and considerate hosts. During my stay they gave good advice on practialities as well as trip in the area. The room, I stayed in, was spacious and clean with good beds and nice furniture. For a long stay it was a perfect blend of nice rooms, good food, relaxed atmosphere and high quality.

The breakfast is wonderful - and with so many different possibilities to choose from that I praised I had three weeks to try it all. Especially the homemade wheatenbread was my favourit. In the evening it is possible to dine in the guesthouse - and the meals I had were all very delicious. Gerry is a experienced cook - and you can taste that!

The house itself is well situated in for public transport with the bus - and also only half an hours walk from either the university or the river Lagan and the green meadows and walking paths there. A minor problem is that the road is heavy trafficed. It does give some noise in the evening and night when the window is open.

But - whenever I might be back in Belfast I will certainly stay here. I also experienced several regulars during my visit. An Old Rectory is a place people return to.

Ulla Poulsen, Denmark

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here with our teenage daughter, to attend a family party in Belfast. Both rooms were great, and the place is very welcoming, and the owners very helpful. Breakfast is especially recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Maria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We were in Belfast for a family occasion and family from various parts of England and Dublin chose to stay here as it was very close to our aunt of 92 years of age . In total we booked 5 rooms.
What can I say, its all been said before, this is a SUPERB guesthouse, in fact its more like a top market hotel.
The rooms were immaculate , clean and beautifuly furnished and decorated. On each floor there was a fridge with fresh milk and filtered water in them.
The breakfasts were amazing and cooked to order with plenty of choice .
All staff were extremely polite and very friendly.
A HUGE thankyou to Mary who made us most welcome at what was a very sad time for us as a family.
WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked for one night wished it had been a Fortnight. Everything nice thing said about this place is true. The room, bed, food , price and not forgetting the owner and staff Brilliant.
Will make a point of staying there again. Thanks again Mary for letting me of £3 as I had run out of ready cash.
George Brown

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for one night recently and was well impressed by service and facilities. Safe area where I was able to walk to the bar on the Lisburn Road where I met friends. Went for the Omlette version of the Ulster Fry and it was superb. Will definitely be my first port of call the next time I need accommodation in Belfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I are both from Northern Ireland and stayed here on a whim. This is the perfect way to experience our country's hospitality and warmth, is located in one of the city's leafiest suburbs, and the food was outstanding too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niall n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 46 in Belfast
3,097 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 46 in Belfast
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Gregory
#2 of 51 in Belfast
627 reviews
Ravenhill Guesthouse
#1 of 51 in Belfast
464 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Harpers Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Address: 148 Malone Road, Belfast BT9 5LH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Stranmillis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £36 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Rectory 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing