We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"All Good"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Point Bar and Grill - CLOSED

The Point Bar and Grill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Irish, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“"All Good"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

After work on a Tuesday evening, at the end of March, arrived at the Point with a friend for a bite to eat.

Went up stairs, it wasnt busy at all, a friendly waitress showed us to a table and took our drinks order.

The menu was not extensive but enough choice, we both decided on main courses only, which we both thought were very tasty.

Read some not so good reviews here but I didnt find it bad at all, maybe try it yourself.

I will return soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    13
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great finish to my Easter break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Myself and my wife called to the point bar and grill on Easter Tuesday to finish off my few days off from work and enjoyed a great meal and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere and very helpful staff .we enjoyed their early bird menu I myself had a starter of the half rack of ribs and main course chicken fillet on a brioche bun and my wife had potato and leak soup to start and a main of lamb shank this came with a bottle of wine all for a great price of £35 .I have to say great food great service and great price what more could you ask for

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have been here and whilst the food is grand and the portions are just enough the services is well below standard, we waited 10 minutes before someone came over to us even though we asked do we come to the bar someone comes to us, the girl then gave the wrong menu and finally after her going away and chatting to other people she came back and we ordered, we didn't wait to long maybe 10/15 minutes for food and again the food was grand. On leaving I waited for nearly 10 minutes at the bar before someone would come over and collect my payment even though 3 different staff member's seen me... One thing I hate about going out to places is lack of service considering we are paying good money for food and service .....

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stewill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking food - worst meal of my life”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Before I begin, I want to say that value for money and service was good. The food, however, was utterly repulsive. Went for Sunday lunch. Every course was terrible and I've eaten some bad food in my time. Very disappointing because I was told that the food was good, especially since the change of management. The 'soup' tasted like powder (probably because it came from a cuppa soup sachet) and was served with stale wheaten bread. The mash served with the main courses reminded me of school dinners (which to be fair were much nicer). The meat was dry, tasteless and came with little or no sauce. I didn't think the meal could get any worse until the Eton Mess arrived. The cream was off and it literally tasted (and smelt) like vomit. Rancid. When we complained, instead of an apology, we were told that the Eton Mess was prepared fresh that morning.... Thankfully they deducted this from the bill. Won't be back. Neither should you

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“worst place i have ever been in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked a table for 11 people, when we got there where there was only 9 places set and not room for another 2 places the staff where not interested and we where next to a singer which was loud and could not hear yourself think the staff where, rude never again so we all got up and walk out.
I went to the point last year when I was in Belfast and had a lovely meal staff where not rude.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmarNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Point Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing