We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made very welcome at the Welcome”
Review of The Welcome

The Welcome
Ranked #8 of 1,073 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$28
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Opened in 1982 by the then Lord Mayor Tom Patton, The Welcome Restaurant is the longest established family run Chinese Restaurant in Northern Ireland.
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Made very welcome at the Welcome”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Decided to revisit the Welcome in Stranmillis to celebrate Valentines day.The weather was apalling but the greeting we received made the atmosphere instantly welcoming.We used to frequent this establishment regularly when living close-by many years ago & it still serves fabulous food in pleasant surroundings.Staff were lovely & even though we had not made a reservation on a busy night , they squeezed us in.The menu whilst not extensive , offers traditional Chinese cuisine with a few specials of their own.Food is of a high standard & service friendly & charming.The main courses took a little time to come but it was a busy night & I expect that everything is freshly cooked to order.Our starters were amazing & main courses did not disappoint.There was no room for dessert but all the ladies were presented with a fresh red rose , just about to bloom on the way out.A lovely evening & we will make this journey again v.soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilliandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    28
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Expensive”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were having a few drinks in a nearby bar and decided to give the Welcome chinese a go for dinner last night.

We were left feeling bitterly disappointed and out of pocket.

I went for the garlic and chilli chicken. I do like garlic but the dish was swimming in it, the chilli was nowhere to be seen. The chicken also tasted like it had been reheated.

My partner opted for the duck. It was tough, yet didn't look thoroughly cooked in some parts (despite taking over 25 minutes to arrive). The portion size was also extremely small.

We felt the bill was very expensive for what we got (2 mains as above, 3 side dishes, 1 glass of red wine & a jug of tap water) - came to £41. We felt ripped off, disappointed, not to mention still hungry!

We wont be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank littleme21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food still as good as ever”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We as a family have been going to the welcome for over 25 years we were last there on the 11th of August for our daughters 21st there was 8 in our party including 2 children. The food was lovely as and the served was great as usual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good quality food.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have been a customer in this place for many years and I have yet to have a poor meal.The staff are friendly and the food is delicious if a little expensive but you usually get what you pay for in this life.The menu is extensive and well presented.My king prawns were delicious and my colleagues chow mein was a good standard.I can recommend this place and it compare favourably to the chinese restaurants I have eaten in London and in China and Hong Kong.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overall - good, but not great!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

As far as Chinese food goes it is one of the better restaurants for it in Belfast. However, the restaurant isn't usually that full so the atmosphere is lacking and the positioning of some tables, post redecorating, make you feel like you've been lost in a corner! Staff is very friendly though and do go out of their way to help!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosaMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Welcome also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing