We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stale Food Set Lunch Special”

Lee Garden Restaurant
Ranked #328 of 1,050 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stale Food Set Lunch Special”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Paid 6.95 for a set lunch special without any expectations.
The restaurant served me the oldest and most stale items of food, that had obviously been laying on the kitchen counter for a good long while. The garnish served with the starter was 2 slices of cucumber and daikon radish that was so dry and stale, it looked and tasted like plastic. The starter itself (pork belly) was hard as rock and just reheated through. The main course was a chicken dish with schezwan sauce. I have never in my life encountered the taste of stale chicken, and this was disgusting to say the least. It seemed to me from looking around at the other tables, that the stale food was served to the non-chinese clientele, while the dimsum menu is available only in Chinese to the Asian clientele. And the dimsum came out steaming hot and fresh from what I could see. For the 6.95 lunch price tag, I would certainly expect fresh food, if nothing else, and the price is consistent to a number of other restaurants serving in the area. Do yourself a favour and don't go to this place for the set lunch special, where the restaurant seems intent on cleaning out their old stale food through this avenue.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    53
    25
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I can't believe the negative reviews there are about this restaurant!
I thought the decor was very pleasant, the food was first class and I couldn't fault the service. If you are looking for a good Chinese meal in this part of town don't even think of going anywhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank GMacSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Have now eaten at this restaurant several times now, the food is excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Good value for money, can't fault it, will definitely be back

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BelfastFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“bad service”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

food is just ok. But the service is so bad. Two young girls even do not know how to take orders, and without smile. Just been there on Chinese New Year, the mananger sit there play his mobil phone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Yum yum Dim Sum”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My love of dim sum borders on the obsessive and asking around, the general consensus was that Lee Garden is the best place to sample it in Belfast.

We visited on a extremely busy lunchtime with a queue out of the door. We didn’t have to wait too long however to be presented with our little tick box menu.

We opted for beef cheung fun, shanghai dumplings, crispy prawn dumplings, deep fried cheung fun rolls and some taro dumplings. Obviously this was far too much food for 2 people at lunchtime but unfortunately greed prevailed! Aside from the deep fried cheung fun rolls, everything was delicious. The deep-fried cheung fun rolls were just too greasy and not to our taste. The crispy prawn dumplings in particular deserve a shout out, they were very tasty indeed.

The dim sum is authentic and just as you get it in Hong Kong (only without some of the more unusual options you come across – crab sperm and spinach anyone?!). Service is very quick and the staff are courteous and pleasant. We will definitely be back for our dumpling fix soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyglittershoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lee Garden Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Lee Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing