We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's happened to this place?”

Abacus Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #611 of 1,058 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What's happened to this place?”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I used to eat here regularly so last Friday when we were having a night in to watch the footie we thought we'd try the takeaway service. Really impressed with the quick delivery but that's where the enjoyment ended. The prawn crackers set off the alarm bells - as thick and chewy as a pancake. On to the main courses - first up was the pork with mushrooms, green pepper and black bean sauce. Tasty enough but there wasn't any green pepper and a definite taste of tomato puree in the mix. Wrong but not inedible. The second main was another matter. 'Chicken' with broccoli and oyster sauce contained no more than 2 chopped up tiny broccoli florets. When I said 'chicken' its because it have no idea what that chewy, revolting stuff was. I should have kept it for DNA testing.
Unforgivable and will not be using this place again

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnStran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    6
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You will not be hungry!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Suggested again by our hotel, we were not surprised... I was not able to finished the portion i got!! My partner was extremely happy with his meal!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marandpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Chinese in Belfast.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been here several times. Keep coming back. Best Chinese food in Belfast. Very nice authentic restaurant. Great service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wceweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Just back from another excellent meal in abacus. The food is really tasty and the staff are quietly efficient and friendly. There is no problem with any special requests so food is presented exactly how you want it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeR496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monaghan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Every time I go to Belfast a visit to this cantonese is on my list .
A very relaxing restaurant where you have all the time you need and more to have your meal nothing is rushed . The food is excellent and great value for money and a very friendly service awaits you. A special mention for Ted on our last visit who was very friendly and efficient

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abacus Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Abacus Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing