We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite coffee/lunch spot”
Review of Cafe Carberry

Cafe Carberry
Ranked #331 of 1,212 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Cafe carberry is just round the corner from where I work, which is how I have discovered this little gem. I go here daily for my filter coffee which is £1 to take away up until 11am. Their speciality coffees and herbal teas are great as well. Staff are friendly and quirky and I can honeslty say that i look forward to calling in here everyday.

Great spot for lunch too, 2 yummy homemade soups to choose from daily with delicious home made wheaten bread, good value and portion sizes too. Also do a nice selection of salads, daily specials and homemade traybakes and scones. Really good all rounder for quality home made food. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 582EmmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We visit Cafe Carberry most weeks and whether it's early morning breakfast, a fast lunch or super sized tray bakes the service and standards are always great. Unlike a lot of other coffee houses who seem to have different staff every day these guys have built up a great team who are always keen to help and clearly enjoy working there. Service always feels very personal without being artificially friendly. The menu offers a good range of sandwiches, toasties, baked potatoes and salads with a couple of specials which change every day. Portion sizes are great and you can be guaranteed never to leave hungry- the only problem being you mightn't be able to fit in one of their great tray bakes, but it's always worth trying! All in all definitely worth the detour if you're in the city centre.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SashaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I visit Cafe Carberry at least once a month and have done so for at least 5 years. There's more coffee shops in the vicinity now but they're all corporate clones or a bit down at heel so I've stuck with the good one.

Coffee is made exactly as requested, even if you're looking something unusual. Once the staff get to know you they offer "the usual", given the large number of customers this is impressive. Many of the customers come from the nearby courts and don't have a lot of time however as the staff are so efficient this isn't a problem.

The cafe is nicely decorated with artworks around the place. Newspapers are always available too. The atmosphere is jolly and quiet enough for the customers to read files etc.

I would recommend this coffee house to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank newpaper-addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We always order scones from Cafe Carberry for our morning meetings. I guarantee you won't feel hungry after eating a Carberry scone and they're delicious! They also offer a great range of sandwiches and other dishes. Ursula and Raymond provide a friendly, efficient and flexible service. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We use Cafe Carberry for outside catering for office sandwich platters, hot + cold buffets, buffets, Christmas lunches etc and without fail the quality and presentation of their food is excellent. In fact, I don't think there's been an occasion when we've used them when guests haven't commented on how good the food was!

Ursula and the gang provide a first rate service - I've never had to worry about whether food will be delivered on time and if it will look/taste ok - they gang are 100% reliable in every way.

Cafe Carberry have also provided waiting staff for us on occasion who were totally charming and professional throughout.

Keep up the great work guys - I'd be lost without you! TN

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tickle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Carberry also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Cafe Carberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing