We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic good, clean and near everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Botanic Lodge

Botanic Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botanic Lodge
South-Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Basic good, clean and near everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

Good, clean. Staff really nice. Some rooms noisy on Botanic Avenue, but good location has some bad points sometimes. Not many en suites, but I was happy enough to share the clean bathrooms. Much better than previous owners from 2006.
Old, but nice. Lovely Breakfast.

  • Liked — Staff was pleasant, helpfull and always friendly
  • Disliked — Very old building, noise from street
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank daisySouth_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
8
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

Myself and my wife have travelled a lot, stayed in a large variety of accomodation of differing standards. This place is without doubt the worst we have ever seen. Actually when we saw the room, it was so bad we left immediately, walked across the road to another B&B where we got a room that you could actually breathe in. The bathroom area was tiny, you could not swing a cat in it. When I read the review of this place before our stay, it read nice family run place...I guess its under new management then.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

dundalk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We booked our stay over the phone having read some of the reviews on this website. We were a bit unsure as to what we could expect - having lived in belfast a while back I knew that the B&B had gorgeous flowers outside but that was all.
Our first impression was that the place was old but clean and indeed our first night was comfortable, and followed by a delicious breakfast served with a smile.
Unfortunately the second morning we waited for over 40 minutes in the breakfast room without even being greeted by the staff member who was on duty at the time. In fact she actively avoided us despite our attempts to get her attention. When she finally made her way to take our order (of one scrambled egg and one poached egg) there was no apology for the delay. After another ten minutes we got some tea and toast, and it was a further ten minutes before the scrambled egg arrived. As long as it took my partner to eat all the toast and his egg, and for another couple (who arrived subtantially later than we) to get a full irish breakfast, there was still no sign of my breakfast.
Having waited at this stage for over an hour in total we had to leave to catch our train. And even still at this point there was no apology from the staff member! We were livid and can categorically state that we will not return to this establishment.
And the shower was broken. Annoying.
Having said this, the owner/manager was extremely courteous and agreed to send back a mobile phone left by us in our bedroom after the same staff member who couldn't manage a poached egg refused to take our details over the phone. Lose the loser!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The unfriendly and unhelpful staff on duty on Monday June 2nd 2007
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dundalkcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2007

place is old but clean and comfortable. not a palace but good value and right where you want to be. completely surrounded by good restaurants, pubs, clubs etc.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — place is a bit tired
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrigfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2006

I stayed for two weeks in April 2005 and then again two weeks in May 2005 - having taken a side trip to Dublin in the meantime. It is easy to find (a 5pds cab fare from the central rail station) and when you get there Morgan and the team are friendly, the place is clean (and was cleaned every day - rubbish removed, floor vacuumed, clean towels every 2nd day) and if you're after a great cooked breakfast, its the place to stay. I found it very easy to walk into the centre of the city (10mins tops), the bus stops right across the road if you're not in the mood to walk, and Queens University is just around the corner. The place has good sized rooms and was not expensive considering where it is situated. I stayed in one of the front rooms and it is a little noisy when the clubs empty out but that was the only hitch (and I soon got used to it).

  • Liked — Convenient site
  • Disliked — Front rooms not double glazed
  • Tips/Secrets — Small ensuite so if you're OK with sharing a bathroom (which is big) don't worry about ensuite
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2006

Oh dear! We stayed here for a night as part of a package tour so I don't know what the cost was - maybe we got what the company paid for. But I can honestly say it was the worst experience of a recent three month world tour. Everything was absolutely filthy - the bathrooms (on another floor to our bedroom) were almost unusable - couldn't wait for the next night at another place to have a decent shower in a clean environment. And the cups and plates at breakfast were a disgrace - I had to wipe the previous day's egg off them before we could bring ourselves to use them. Very disappointing experience. I usually only write good reviews on TripAdvisor and let the bad places go, but I just have to warn you about this one! Good luck!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

first impression was it was smelly and filthy. every part of guest house was filthy. toilets and showers were discusting. curtains in our romm were falling down and headboard nearly fell on my friends head, had to prop it up with pillows. looked like sheets on her bed hadnt been changed, we were a party of 10 people and every room was dirty.
never seen such a dirty guesthouse. rooms were so small.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arnie's Backpackers
#12 of 31 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Lagan Backpackers
Lagan Backpackers
#7 of 31 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Queen's Quarter
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Pearl Court Guesthouse
#15 of 51 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Lodge

Property: Botanic Lodge
Address: 87 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Botanic Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing