We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear!”
Review of Botanic Lodge

Botanic Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belfast
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Botanic Lodge
Reviewed 10 July 2006

Oh dear! We stayed here for a night as part of a package tour so I don't know what the cost was - maybe we got what the company paid for. But I can honestly say it was the worst experience of a recent three month world tour. Everything was absolutely filthy - the bathrooms (on another floor to our bedroom) were almost unusable - couldn't wait for the next night at another place to have a decent shower in a clean environment. And the cups and plates at breakfast were a disgrace - I had to wipe the previous day's egg off them before we could bring ourselves to use them. Very disappointing experience. I usually only write good reviews on TripAdvisor and let the bad places go, but I just have to warn you about this one! Good luck!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 23 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
jarrow,tyne and wear england
14
Reviewed 27 June 2006

first impression was it was smelly and filthy. every part of guest house was filthy. toilets and showers were discusting. curtains in our romm were falling down and headboard nearly fell on my friends head, had to prop it up with pillows. looked like sheets on her bed hadnt been changed, we were a party of 10 people and every room was dirty.
never seen such a dirty guesthouse. rooms were so small.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2006

I stayed in this bed and brekfast last December and it wasn't a pleasant experience. Our room was cramped, the towels supplied smelled of stale smoke, we had a shared bathroom and the shower basin was grimey, the room we were stuck with had not seen a hoover in a while.Check out time was at 11am and they were knocking on the door at 10am to try and get us out! It wasn't somewhere i would recommend to anyone despite it's good location. They should have some hygiene inspection!

Stayed: December 2005
4  Thank Girlfromschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Simply fantastic! food--best ever, People--very friendly---best of all, the the Welsh singers at breakfast.

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank stylux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
17
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We stayed in this guest house for a weekend in March and we will never forget the experience.The rooms were a disgrace and the service was terrible by staff.A mouse trap was found under under one of the beds which will give an indication of the standard of this accommodation Sheets were stained,used tissues behind the bed and the large amounts of hair in the plug holes were just a few of the things found in this place.Check out time was supposed to be 11 am but we found ourselves being ushered out of our rooms by the housemaids at 10 !! We will NOT be back !!

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
harlow
18
Reviewed 4 August 2005

I have just returned from work commitments in Northern Ireland, Belfast to be exact.
I stayed for four nights in the Botanic Lodge B&B.
The room I asked for (single) turned out to be a twin, far too big for one person, really, but spacious, nevertheless.
Breakfast - you could either have cereal & toast, or a cooked breakfast & toast, not BOTH! (cereal & breakfast). The cooked breakfast was minute and served on side plates (not very big).
The room - you don't always get towels, so take your own!!!!! The maid/cleaner, doesn't make your bed every day & does not clean the room or empty the bin at all!!! (so your kebab wrappers stink the room out!).
Apart from that, it was a pleasant stay. (not much can go wrong when you are asleep, I guess).
Not worth £25.00 per night in my view.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2005

Good location. Easy walk to laundry, coffee places, Botanic Gardens, restaurants, shop, University. Reasonable sized room with coffee making facilities. Good breakfast. Very nice Breakfast room. Shower is reasonable size, there are 2 sinks - one in the bathroom and one in the room. We had an ensuite room but most have shared facilities.

6  Thank Tashii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,108 reviews
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Failte B&B
#30 of 51 in Belfast
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Lodge

Address: 87 Botanic Avenue, Belfast BT7 1JN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: £30 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Botanic Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing