We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

My mother,sister and I stayed here on Thur 8h November 2012 as we were going to a concert at the Odyssey. On that note, it is around a 10 minute drive to the venue, taxi there cost around £10 one way. Free parking is a bonus. On arrival at hotel the receptionist was doing something on the computer and as I approached the desk he said 'give me a minute'. I thought that was off putting as a ' Welcome to the Ramada, Ill be with you in a moment' woulc have been warmer! But he was actually very helpful when we were checking in, and throughout our stay. We had lunch in the bar 'Surburbia', food was beautiful, I had prawn and salmon cocktail on wheaten bread. Price £6.50, very reasonable. My companions also enjoyed their food. The female bar staff was grumpy and miserable looking. The hotel itself, including our room, was spotless, no problems there. The pool, sauna and jacuzzi were ok, temperature of water in pool too cool, and there was a cracked tile in the jacuzzi covered with black masking tape, dangerous especially when there are children running about and swimming. However, we did enjoy these facilities, and the staff in the fitness suite were lovely. The rest of the hotel staff we encountered were great, very helpful and friendly. My mum is a diabetic and on returning from the evening out we asked for milk for her cereal and some jugs of water, he offered to bring them to our room and it was no bother to him. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, great selection of Irish breakfast fare and continental, and the staff were more than helpful and friendly. The domestic worker the next morning was very nice and friendly; its these things that make a difference to our stay. Overall it was a nice experience, have had worse, and better. My mother, who never really travels or goes to hotels, was very impressed and wants to go back, so although my rating is average, hers would be excellent! It's subjective I guess!

Room Tip: All family rooms face the car park on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin01028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Dear caitlin01028

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Plaza Belfast, and for taking time to post your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to hear our customers feedback both positive and negative. We take on board your views on your first arrival which could of been more welcoming, however we are glad you found our staff throughout the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. Its nice to know that you and your family enjoyed the facilities here at the hotel from the lunch in the Suburbia Bar and enjoyed the great breakfast choice. Overall its great to know you had a nice experience and would return for another visit.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    428
    205
    90
    68
See reviews for
403
353
41
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

We arrived at 13:50 hrs on the 1st Nov 2012 after driving for over 3 hours. The first words from the man on reception who booked us in were “you can’t book in before 14:00 hrs, definitely not before 14:00” there was no good afternoon welcome to the Plaza, did you have a nice trip etc.
This was an extremely negative first impression; even if we were 10 minutes early there was no need to be so rude. Next words were take a seat and I will check you in at 2.
Thankfully not all of the staff at the hotel were so unprofessional, the staff in the restaurant were very polite and friendly. We had a lovely meal/experience that night in the restaurant.
The small bed in the family room is not suitable to two kids.
I would return to eat in the plaza but not to stay due solely to the negativity on checking in.

Room Tip: Family room not suitable for two adults and two kids if kids are older than 5 (bed is small for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomrowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Dear tomrowland

Thank you for taking the time to post review, We appreciate your comments and firstly would like to sincerely apologize for the extremely poor reception welcome you received on your arrival to the hotel. We totaly understand how the first impressions at our hotel would of appeared, this is not the normal reception we would like to give to our guests. We are thankful to know that the rest of the staff had a professional approach and where polite and friendly and that you enjoyed your experience and meal in our Green Room Restaurant. We do hope the positive comments will make up for the negative one and would hope to welcome you to return to the Ramada Plaza Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Room was nice well presented and a good size, on arrival at our room it was freezing the windows had been left open, took a while for it to heat up! The bath could of done with a good clean, a brown stain in the middle of the bath nothing a bit of bleach could of sorted out! Overall nice hotel and enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Rab84

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza, we appreciate both positive and negative feedback from our customers and recognise the importance of making everything as comfortable and enjoyable for our guests during their stay. We are dissappointed to hear you encountered a few issues with your room and apologize for failing to deliver our normal housekeeping standards, and sorry that the window had been left opened and obviously the room was cold this should have been checked prior to your arrival. On a positive note as you mentioned overall you enjoyed your stay which is nice to know, we do hope we will be able to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
Regards
Geraldine Mclarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Myself and my 2 daughters took my friend away to this hotel for her 50th birthday,we booked a health and leisure break with 2 spa treatments.The treatments were the best we have ever had and full marks to the staff in the omni centre for this they were all very nice and treated us all excellently.The hotel itself was excellent the rooms with 2 queen beds were brilliant and the breakfast was amazing.We also had dinner on 1 night in the green room resturant where we had the indian cuisine which was amazing the food and the staff was fabulous.Although the hotel is out of the city centre it was a 10min taxi ride costing about £7/8 which was fine,overall a great break and would return again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libby803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Libby803

Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is wonderful to hear such a nice review and are pleased that you had a lovely break at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. Our team are very appreciative of your feed back and glad you and your family and friend enjoyed the health and beauty and leisure treatments provided at the hotel, we will pass on your kind review to our Omni team they will be delighted. We are glad everything else from your bedroom, breakfast and your meal in our Green Room was excellent this is great its makes everything a wonderful experience at the Ramada Plaza Belfast. Our team would love to welcome you back again for another memorable stay. Thanking you so much.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in a family room (room only) at the Ramada for two nights during the mid-term October break. The hotel is well situated on the Belfast outer ring road allowing easy access to the City Centre via the Lisburn, Ormeau, Newtownards or Cregah Roads. It is clean, comfortable and affordable.

We used the leisure facilities and found the pool, sauna and steam room to be clean and not too busy. The leisure centre staff were approachable, friendly and helpful, and obviously committed to their job.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering a family break...its not luxurious...but was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sellit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Sellit

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your two nights stay during mid term break and had the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilities, great you had time to relax and pamper yourself during your break. Our staff are always committed to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable experience at the hotel. Hope to see you back again at the Ramada Plaza Belfast assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Good hotel if you are going to Belfast. Its reasonably priced for what you get. Hotel has a gym, spa and pool that guests have full complimentry use of during their stay. rooms are comfortable and spacious, all with aircon to heat or cool your room so you have full control of ur heating or cooling. Unlike some hotels it has freeview in its rooms. Parking is free and plentify, which is a big bonus as many other hotels in belfast you need to park in nearby off street car parks that can cost around £18 for 1 overnight stay. hotel isn't within walking distance of the city but taxis are plentiful and the average trip into town is around £6-£7.

Room Tip: When booking do book bed and breakfast, as its not in the city centre its not as easy to pop out for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjr1_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Dear Cjr-85

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to know that you found everything during your trip all to your pleasing and enjoyed the use of all our facilities that the hotel offers. We are glad that you found our rooms comfortable and had time to relax and avail of the leisure and spa treatments within the hotel. Its good to know that you found the location suitable, with good parking and easy access to the city. We do hope to see back for another visit, assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We booked a room for 2 adults & 3 young children online on Ramada website - said on booking was happy to share room with kids- as always do anywhere we ever stay. Next day got phonecall telling us due to insurance reasons that wasn't possible but could make a deal on adjoining rooms. I said I'm sure she was mistaken & could she check as that sounded wrong. Came back min later saying she was correct & our booking was impossible. Cancelled it & emailed company to check- we do hotel breaks 3 or 4 times a yr & have never had that prob before (including Ramada...). The reply took a couple of wks & eventually sent me back to the same place with the same answer (most prob the same person). Anyway- booked with Holiday Inn, Ormeau Ave- just returned from lovely trip to Belfast-(in same room as our 3 little girls) thanks Holiday Inn. Ramada Plaza sent me email today asking me to review my stay so here it is!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GalwayDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 10 November 2012
Dear Galway Daisy

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your comments on your booking arrangements for a family room for two adults and three children, and must apologize for the delay in the response to your booking enquiry at that time. Unfortunately it is the hotels policy due to health and safety that we do not offer our family room to accommodate two adults and three children only suitable for two adults and two children and child under two where we can provide a cot, alternatively we would offer the family room with adjoining room which was recommended for your booking which gives better space for all the family. We at the Ramada Plaza Belfast have always the best interest for the comfort of our guests and hope that we can welcome you and your family to the Ramada Plaza in the near future.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Property: Crowne Plaza Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing