We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointing stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A disappointing stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Recently stayed at the Ramada on business in Belfast for three nights.

First the positives. Breakfast was very good although the staff were from the hotel breakfast staff breed of being efficient but generally unfriendly.
I was fortunate enough to have a room near reception - although the down side is that the acoustics of the corridor mean you are regularly disturbed during the night... especially when there are wedding receptions at the hotel.
Wi-Fi in the room worked well, although occasionally very slow.

Now the negatives. I was spoken to like a criminal on check-in for not having a credit card for payment. As one who doesn't have credit cards (through choice) and prefers to pay as I go in a hotel, I was almost refused check-in. Despite a paper trail confirming company payment, that was not enough for our receptionist.
I was staying at the hotel with a large group of high-profile people, and reception seemed completely ignorant to both the business and the nature of the booking. Perhaps the staff need to be better briefed in future, especially when the hotel wanted the business!
I needed to check out a day early, but a colleague coming up to cover for me needed to stay, and rather than just rename the room was told that the single room for that one night would be nearly double the rate quoted.
Food and drink prices were ridiculous for what you got, and I would heartily recommend eating out for a good meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Sjd

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We very much appreciate your comments both positive and negative during this stay. Our customers feedback is very important to us and we are extremely disappointed to learn that you did not receive a warm welcome on check in. We can understand totaly how this would of made you feel and did not give you a good first impression to our hotel. I can say our front of house team always provides a helpful and efficient and professional manner at all times and can only apologize for this first reactions on arrival to the hotel. From your comments we will certainly investigate your issues that you have mentioned with our front of house team. However i can advise that it is our company policy that we take pre-authorisation by credit card or cash payment on check in as a security check as i am sure you can imagine the amount of people coming through the hotel. Once again thank you for bringing your issues to our attention and do hope that you found the hotel facilities comfortable and relaxing in nice surroundings and would love to welcome you back to The Ramada Plaza on another visit.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    426
    204
    90
    68
See reviews for
400
352
41
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel is an excellent choice for those seeking luxury without the too often high price tag. It's located in a quiet area not too far from the action. I stayed here for one night with my girlfriend. We ate in the hotels restaurant which was lovely. The staff were professional and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrynjbradleybb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Darryn

Thank you for your lovely comments during your recent break away. We are delighted that you found The Ramada Plaza a excellent and ideal choice, and that we where able to offer everything from the comforts of a relaxing break away to make it a enjoyable one. We very much appreciate your kind review on our restaurant and our professional staff here at our hotel which is very important to us to deliver good quality facilities and service at all times. We do hope to welcome you back to The Ramada Plaza in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

My second stay here. Arrived on Sunday (2 night stay) noted on website that restaurant closed and only soup and sandwiches available in bar and this confirmed on check in. However, very helpful waiter in bar assured me that they were serving "real food" so was able to have very tasty fish and chips. Bar very comfortable and nice for solo, female traveller. Ate in restaurant on second night. Food excellent and staff very helpful. Did notice that staff seemed to be under a lot of pressure and things seemed a bit hectic - maybe because there was a group of people having a self-service menu? From Leisure map in room noticed that was very near walks etc so was able to have lovely walk after dinner 1st night and after returning from day long meetings next day in Belvoir Forest Park by Lock Keeper's Cottage. This was particularly appreciated as both days were very hot but would also be nice whatever time of year and could be publicised more in propotional material. For first time had travelled without my own hairdryer so got a bit panicky when dryer cut out - came back on again - maybe it was close to packing up? Also no cold/cool setting. Just one minor quibble which wouldn't bother vast majority of visitors!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S2R6D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear S2R6D

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on another returned visit back at The Ramada Plaza, we sincerely hope you had a most enjoyable stay on this occassion. We very much appreciate your comments and we are happy that you found our food and service in our restaurant excellent at this time. Just to let you know we do offer our full menu in The Suburbia bar on Sunday evenings and hope the choice was to your pleasing, thank you on your nice comments, on the tasty fish and service. We are delighted that you had time to avail of the surrounding area with the near by walks and parks we are glad you enjoyed. Once again it was lovely to welcome you back on your second visit to The Ramada Plaza Hotel we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

On each instance of buying drinks from the bar the glasses had clearly not been cleaned. The first glass of wine seemed as though it if been collected from the previous customer and used for the next without any cleaning at all. This time I put it down to a lapse but I had to ask for a clean glass the next visit as well. If you're going to put the prices up for weddings at least clean the glasses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear j laughlin

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thank you for your feedback during your attendance at a wedding function within our hotel. We are extremely sorry to hear that you encountered this standard of service within our bar areas. This will certainly be passed on to the attention of our bar manager to investagate this evening why this happened. It is very important to us that we maintain our normal high standards within all our departments with in the hotel, and can hope this was only a one off incident. Once again we appreciate your comments and do hope you had a pleasant and enjoyable day at your wedding.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Ideal base for my requirements which covered Armagh and Enniskillen. Superior king size room was very comfortable with air conditioning, restaurant for dinner and breakfast was good with attentive personable service. Even managed a great spin class in the morning before breakfast which set me up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Rod

Thank you for taking the time to post your review during your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you found the facilities and surrounding location ideal for your overnight stay. At The Ramada Plaza we like to offer that very personal attention of service to make it as memorable experience as possible. Thank you so much for your lovely comments on our superior king rooms and food in our restaurant it is nice to hear your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again to The Ramada Plaza for your next visit.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Arrived at hotel and from the start all the saff were very helpful and welcoming. Room was as expected. Decided to have lunch and couple driks in bar was nice and quiet and food was generosly proportioned.Did not eat in the resteraunt but people we talked to said food was great.Unfortunately weather was not good so could not take a walk in surronding grounds will do so next time

I would reccommend the hotel and we will be visiting again soon.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for taking the time to post review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. Its lovely to hear your kind comments and are delighted that everything was satisfactory during your stay. We do hope to see you back again at our hotel to avail of all our facilities and surroundings that The Ramada Plaza offers. Assuring you of our best attention on your next return visit.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Loved the dinner, staff very attentive. Rooms very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Would definitely stay again. The hotel itself is slightly out of the way if you don't have your own transport but a minor hiccup in the overall picture

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Obel

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We are delighted that we where able to make everything a pleasant and comfortable experience during your recent stay with us and its great to know that you would definitely stay with us again. We are pleased that you enjoyed our quality food in the restaurant a long with our plentiful good breakfast thank you so much. Once again we hope that Ramada Plaza was able to offer everything for that enjoyable stay. Hope to see you again soon back at The Ramada Plaza.

Regards
Geraldine Mclarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Property: Crowne Plaza Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing