We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great food...service not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely room and food, not impressed by bar service, bought champaign which was just put down on table, not opened or pour with no ice cooler... That's after the long wait while they got it from upstairs .... Small things ruined what was a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Eddie

Thank you for posting your review. We are disappointed to hear you encountered a poor standard of bar service on this occassion and would like to apologize for this as this is not the normal high quality standards that we aim to achieve at The Ramada Plaza. i can totally understand your comments and hope that this one off occurrance does not happen again. I would also like to thank you on your nice comments on the lovely room and food and hope that made up for a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future assuring you of aou best attention at all times.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Belfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hello i Booked the Ramada Plaza Hotel Belfast for an over night stay ..i Emailed regarding my Coeliac Diet But be aware the upstairs Restaurant only opens at 6pm the Bar Dont cater for a Gluten Free Food only for Samantha in the Bar my visit would have been Disappointing ..
Thanks to Samantha in the bar who made my visit extra special i also have to Compliment her Cocktail Skills she was Amazing .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frannie610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Frannie

Thank you for booking the Ramada Plaza for your over night stay. We very much appreciate your comments on Coeliac dietary requirements and sincerly apologize for the limited choice at this time, i can inform you that we are in the process of amending our menus to cater for all special dietary needs this week which are being recently updated with gluten free option. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future to try our new upadated menus and will be only to happy to assist with any special request. Thank you on the kind comments on our staff that made your visit extra special its always a pleasure.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great hotel. Stayed here 12 years ago when it had just opened and wondered if it would be looking a little tired by now. I shouldn't have worried as it was refurbished a short while ago.

The bedrooms were very comfortable; the dinning staff very attentive; there is wi-fi throughout and the staff on reception very patient with someone who was able to "wipe" 4 key cards in two days!

I was on the same trip as Ronnie K and the only criticism I have is related - only one poor soul to serve an army of thirsty singers and the way the bar is laid out, we couldn't sit more than four or five people together.

Other than that, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GadgetGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Radley

Thank you for writing your review during your recent stay. It is a pleasure to welcome you back to The Ramada Plaza after 12 years, we are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and are pleased your expectations on your return visit was satisfactory. Thank you on your kind comments on our intentive staff and a great hotel its lovely to hear.
Once again thank you for returning back to the Ramada Plaza on your trip and hope to welcome you back in the future. Assuring you of our best attention.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Travelled here with a tour group of singers and stayed two nights. Friendly efficient welcome, excellently appointed rooms and comfortable bed. Only slight criticism.... given that we were travelling as a group and the hotel were aware of this they could have staffed the bar better in the evening. On both nights one young barman struggled manfully to cope with the large group of people seeking refreshment but it meant long waits to be served.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Ronnie

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feed back and are delighted you and your tour group found the hotel facilites to be excellent and comfortable, with friendly staff and efficient welcome, thank you so much. However we respect your comments on the bar service being slow and take on board your comment. Our Customer feedback is very important to us as our team strive to improve and maintain our high standards at all time at The Ramada Plaza. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another visit.
Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I booked an over night stay (Tues) in the Ramada Belfast. Check in was efficient as was my check out. The 2 girls on reception were very competent, helpful & seemed to be interested in my stay. I mentioned 4 shortcomings that I noticed in my room; 1 from a maintenance point of view & the other 3 from housekeeping. Hopefully after I left the housekeeping issues were checked & rectified for the next customer. The breakfast was more than ample & I would have no problem in staying there again or recommending the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza. We very much appreciate all your comments both positive and negative. All your feedback is very important to us and our team, here at the Ramada Plaza strive to improve and maintain a good quaility standard and service at all times. Thank you for your kind words on our efficient staff and breakfast service and are trilled to here you have no hesitation in recommending the Ramada Plaza. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Good location, easy check in, friendly staff.We had a very late check in request after a boat ride from Scotland.
Hotel was easy to find and accommodating at this late hour.Was glad not too be in the city...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwini60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Kirwin

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased you found the hotel a good location on your trip over from Scotland. Our team is only to happy to give a warm welcome to our guest to ensure they have a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on another visit to Ramada Plaza the next time your in Belfast.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here last week for three nights. We had a very nice stay. Room was of a very good standard. Clean, tidy and well equipped. We used the pool and health club and they too were very good. Staff were helpful and courteous too. The hotel is well placed in the city with ample free parking - this was something that specifically attracted me to staying here as it's sadly a rarity these days. Overall a very good experience. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buccaneer544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Guest

Its lovely to hear your kind comments on your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza. We are delighted that you had a very pleasant stay and found the hotel location very attractive to suit your three night stay and enjoyed the surrounding facilities on site at the hotel. Thank you for your nice compliments on our high standards and helpful and courteous staff we do hope it made the difference to the hospitality that we provide at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.
Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
2,946 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 44 in Belfast
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#10 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £88 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing