We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, shame about the dreadful dinners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed with a large group for four days.
The room was very good, large, clean and with good facilities.
Breakfast was the usual buffet served at a large hotel of this type, with fruit, cereals, cooked choices, toast, pastries, etc. Tea or coffee was served in individual pots. All fine, except the bacon, which was extremely greasy.
However, the whole experience was completely spoiled by the quite dreadful dinners.
First, we had no menus so had no idea what the food was meant to be. On three of four evenings we were served with soup for a starter, vegetable soup twice! Did not appear to be freshly made at the hotel. Fourth night - melon. Very uninspired. The main course was served from large metal containers that were in the room before we arrived! Shades of school dinners. On the first day the plates had not been warmed. The food was not good. There was some choice, but the vegetarians had pasta every evening, with no discernible protein content at all.The first night I had a slice of what turned out to be tough gristly beef with vegetables, next night chicken, very small quantity in a watery sauce, no idea what. Third night, "boeuf bourgignon" made with tiny pickled onions! Last evening, dry chicken, with no choice at all. Cauliflower and brocolli were totally over cooked. Desserts - three nights out of four we had some sort of blob on top of a cheesecake base, colour varied, but no idea what the flavours were meant to be. The other night's dessert was a very over sweet and pastry heavy apple pie. Diabetics constantly had to explain that they could not eat the puddings and wait for some fruit to be produced, despite the hotel knowing about their condition. One cannot imagine a chef was involved with the cooking, or if there was, they need to get their act together.
The service was overseen on the first two nights by a member of staff who controlled when people went to collect their food, very irritating. But on the third night she was not there, and we had to ask whether we were allowed to go and get the food!! On the last night the food was in another room, where food was served plated up, but the quality was no better.
My advice would be to use this hotel for bed and breakfast only.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186254Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your review. It is disappointing to read your review during your recent stay with us. We are very surprised to hear all your comments and will certainly take all your comments on board to be investigated with our senior team. During your stay we wondered had you brought any of your issues to our attention we would of been more than happy to assist any of your requirements. Once again we appreciate your time in writing your review.

Kind regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

995 - 1,001 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Nola C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 April 2014

my wife and i stayed here on friday 25th april i had two customers from my work and there wifes along with us and we went to the local dog track for a meal and night out.on returning to the hotel at 11.30pm bar was still open and we stayed there to wee small hours we where very well looked after by samantha who was very pleasent and always had a smile staff like this are hard to come by and is one of the reasons my company dulux will be using this hotel again,we all had a great night and a very good breakfast in the morning which set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear James

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza for your overnight stay. It is wonderful to hear your kind comments and are trilled that you where happy with everything with your stay from the friendly service, & well looked after that made the difference to a great night and also the excellent breakfast. Thank you so much.
We are pleased to know that you and your company would choose to stay at The Ramada Plaza in the future we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Ramada Plaza. Room was excellent. Staff were friendly. Carparking free. There was a wedding on but we hardly noticed. Lovely walks nearby. Good value, we went on the dinner, bed and breakfast for 2, £130. Well worth it. Great stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Joanne

Thank you for posting your kind comments during your recent break away with us at The Ramada Plaza Hotel. We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities excellent in lovely surrounding location suitable for your break away. Our staff are always at hand to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable experience at all times and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on another visit in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Attended an event and decided to stay for lunch in the bar as the menu looked good. We were not disappointed, both choosing the chicken Caesar salad and chips. Plenty of very tasty chicken and a lovely sauce, nice chunky crispy chips. Staff were attentive, friendly and polite. Based on this, we decided it was worth booking for the Sunday carvery for the following day so watch this space for that review.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RebelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Rosie

Thank you for lovely comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and liked the choice of menu and our attentive friendly staff in the Suburbia Bar. Hope to see you back again at The Ramada Plaza on another accession.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Spent the day here at a wedding everything was brilliant from the food to the staff, the bar was next door to the wedding room meant we could nip in and out to watch the football

Brilliant all rounder

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Martin

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you had a fantastic day at your wedding and enjoyed the hotels surrounding facilities and thought everything to be brilliant from food and excellent service we are trilled to hear this. Hope to see you back at The Ramada Plaza on another occassion thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
2  Thank John2319
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#16 of 45 in Belfast
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 45 in Belfast
2,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#11 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £87 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing