We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay, would highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved our stay, would highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here with my family for 2 nights the week before Easter. Having stayed in a few hotels in Belfast I can honestly say this hotel probably doesn't get the recognition it deserves in comparison to others. On arrival check in was quick and efficient and the reception staff were very friendly. Our room was on the ground floor facing onto a car park, which briefly worried me as a previous reviewer said their room facing the car park was too noisy. Luckily we didn't have this problem and didn't hear so much as a car engine throughout our stay. Rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything you would expect - freeview tv, tea/coffee, hairdryer and unexpected mini fridge, which wasn't great but at least delayed the milk going off overnight to get a decent cup of coffee the next morning!
The main reason we chose this hotel was for the swimming pool and we weren't disappointed. There are some restrictions on times children can swim, which I have never experienced before (and I didnt see online prior to booking this hotel) but to be fair it was only for 2 hours around lunchtime. As the pool is part of a gym I can imagine it gets quite busy around peak times however there was never more than 3 other people when we were in it.
I didn't eat in the restaurant or the bar but the standard of the breakfast, served in 'The Green Room' restaurant was excellent. Obviously the location of the hotel is slightly outside the city centre but we took a double decker bus into town which my 3 year old son absolutely loved!
For those travelling with children there is a children's playground in the Shaw's Bridge park area across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review during your recent two night stay with us. We very much appreciate all your kind comments and are delighted that you found The Ramada Plaza Hotel a pleasant and enjoyable visit for you and your family. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcome you back for another return visit in the future.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    428
    205
    90
    68
See reviews for
402
353
41
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just had our wedding ceremony and reception in this amazing hotel. The hotel recently had a refurbishment in the Lagan view suite and it is outstanding with marble floors and decor to complement any bridal colour scheme. The hotel staff were very helpful in particular Roisin and Geraldine who catered to our every need I simply cannot praise them enough for helping us through one of the biggest days of our lives.

They were right on schedule throughout the day, the food was outstanding it came out very promptly and warm and they accommodated my husband with his dietary needs. When the reception finished we were able to continue in the main bar until 3am. Every little elegant touch to the day such as a sparkling wine and chocolate dipped strawberries reception made our guests feel well looked after and the day was very enjoyable as we were always being informed step by step.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely be returning to remember the best day of our lives

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Stacey

Thank you so much for your kind comments on your wedding day been held at Ramada Plaza in our newly refurbished Lagan View suite. We are delighted that you had a wonderful day on your wedding day and are pleased to hear that we made everything special from beginning to end. Its great to know that you can recommend The Ramada Plaza and will be returning to remember the best day of your lives, thank you so much.

Kind regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed with a large group for four days.
The room was very good, large, clean and with good facilities.
Breakfast was the usual buffet served at a large hotel of this type, with fruit, cereals, cooked choices, toast, pastries, etc. Tea or coffee was served in individual pots. All fine, except the bacon, which was extremely greasy.
However, the whole experience was completely spoiled by the quite dreadful dinners.
First, we had no menus so had no idea what the food was meant to be. On three of four evenings we were served with soup for a starter, vegetable soup twice! Did not appear to be freshly made at the hotel. Fourth night - melon. Very uninspired. The main course was served from large metal containers that were in the room before we arrived! Shades of school dinners. On the first day the plates had not been warmed. The food was not good. There was some choice, but the vegetarians had pasta every evening, with no discernible protein content at all.The first night I had a slice of what turned out to be tough gristly beef with vegetables, next night chicken, very small quantity in a watery sauce, no idea what. Third night, "boeuf bourgignon" made with tiny pickled onions! Last evening, dry chicken, with no choice at all. Cauliflower and brocolli were totally over cooked. Desserts - three nights out of four we had some sort of blob on top of a cheesecake base, colour varied, but no idea what the flavours were meant to be. The other night's dessert was a very over sweet and pastry heavy apple pie. Diabetics constantly had to explain that they could not eat the puddings and wait for some fruit to be produced, despite the hotel knowing about their condition. One cannot imagine a chef was involved with the cooking, or if there was, they need to get their act together.
The service was overseen on the first two nights by a member of staff who controlled when people went to collect their food, very irritating. But on the third night she was not there, and we had to ask whether we were allowed to go and get the food!! On the last night the food was in another room, where food was served plated up, but the quality was no better.
My advice would be to use this hotel for bed and breakfast only.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186254Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your review. It is disappointing to read your review during your recent stay with us. We are very surprised to hear all your comments and will certainly take all your comments on board to be investigated with our senior team. During your stay we wondered had you brought any of your issues to our attention we would of been more than happy to assist any of your requirements. Once again we appreciate your time in writing your review.

Kind regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

my wife and i stayed here on friday 25th april i had two customers from my work and there wifes along with us and we went to the local dog track for a meal and night out.on returning to the hotel at 11.30pm bar was still open and we stayed there to wee small hours we where very well looked after by samantha who was very pleasent and always had a smile staff like this are hard to come by and is one of the reasons my company dulux will be using this hotel again,we all had a great night and a very good breakfast in the morning which set us up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear James

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Ramada Plaza for your overnight stay. It is wonderful to hear your kind comments and are trilled that you where happy with everything with your stay from the friendly service, & well looked after that made the difference to a great night and also the excellent breakfast. Thank you so much.
We are pleased to know that you and your company would choose to stay at The Ramada Plaza in the future we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at Ramada Plaza. Room was excellent. Staff were friendly. Carparking free. There was a wedding on but we hardly noticed. Lovely walks nearby. Good value, we went on the dinner, bed and breakfast for 2, £130. Well worth it. Great stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Joanne

Thank you for posting your kind comments during your recent break away with us at The Ramada Plaza Hotel. We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities excellent in lovely surrounding location suitable for your break away. Our staff are always at hand to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable experience at all times and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back on another visit in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Attended an event and decided to stay for lunch in the bar as the menu looked good. We were not disappointed, both choosing the chicken Caesar salad and chips. Plenty of very tasty chicken and a lovely sauce, nice chunky crispy chips. Staff were attentive, friendly and polite. Based on this, we decided it was worth booking for the Sunday carvery for the following day so watch this space for that review.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Rosie

Thank you for lovely comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and liked the choice of menu and our attentive friendly staff in the Suburbia Bar. Hope to see you back again at The Ramada Plaza on another accession.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Property: Crowne Plaza Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#13 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing