We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sort out the restaurant!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Belfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“sort out the restaurant!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Second stay here on business. Despite booking online with Ramada a month in advance I was put in an assisted access (disabled) room rather than the suite I actually booked. Ok if you are three feet tall otherwise makes showering etc a total chore.No reason was given.
The bar area , staff and food and great. The restaurant is not so good. The staff lack basic restaurant service skills eg dumping a plate of food in front of the diner all transport cafe!! Also clearing the tables for breakfast mid evening service doesn't exactly add to the ambience of the place (it's green, dated and generally half empty anyway)
Nice hotel - just eat in the bar.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pondrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to read your comments at this time on the service you encountered. This is not the normal quality standards of service that we like to deliver here at The Ramada Plaza and are sincerely sorry you had a poor experience on your stay. We will certainly investigate all you have mentioned and hope this was a one off and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention for any further information on your booking please do not have any hesitation in contacting us directly.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    428
    205
    90
    68
See reviews for
403
353
41
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We held our wedding here on the 19th july 2014. All the staff are excellent and very pleasant. Any queries that we had were dealt with straight away. The food was very good and all our guests compliment the service. The accommodation was very good. Good sized rooms and comfortable conditions. I would highly recommended this hotel for a wedding or even just for lunch for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Amanda

Thank you for choosing The Ramada Plaza for your wedding day. We are delighted that we where able to make your special day a enjoyable experience from beginning to end and one to remember, from our great food and service and fine detail to make your wonderful day for you and all your guests. Thank you so much for your lovely comments and hope to see you back again at The Ramada Plaza in the near future.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was in on Monday night with my girlfriend for a few cocktails, sex on the beach was fabulous made by an equally brilliant bar man named Shaun, great banter and service all night and when we weren't served by him the other bar staff Michael was equally as pleasant

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Tomas

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you had a enjoyable evening in our Suburbia bar with cocktails at The Ramada Plaza. We are pleased that you found the service to be excellent that made the difference to a fantastic evening in The suburbia Bar.
Thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed weekend in this amazing hotel, great value for money fantastic staff. As travelled with friends no problem with adjoining rooms just perfect for quiet weekend, if you want closer to city centre I suggest ramada encore

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marymNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza Belfast. It is lovely to read your comments and are delighted that you found our hotel the perfect place to stay.
We are trilled that you had a enjoyable stay and are glad everything was to your pleasing and look forward to welcoming you back to The Ramada Plaza in the near future.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a very good property. A modern, bright building with a lovely location in the leafy area to the south of Belfast city. We were attending a meeting and then going to the Belfast Motor Show the next day (only a short taxi ride to Kings Hall). Both our rooms were very well equipped and with the largest, most comfortable King Size bed I have slept in throughout my frequent stays in Belfast (inc 5 star hotels!). Also a lovely touch was the comfy armchair (great for watching tv or reading) and the leather office chair (great for catching up on computer work). Staff were all extremely professional and friendly and were very happy to help. We ate dinner in the bar which was well priced, promptly served and very good. Breakfast was buffet, but was enjoyable and extensive. We did not use the leisure facilities but they seemed to be very good, inc pool and full leisure centre. Wifi was free and easy to use. It did not work in my room but that was being rectified once I reported it next morning. One issue which stopped me giving this hotel a 5* perfect review. They allow kids in the bar late at night. This is apparently allowed in the North, once they are residents. In Ireland after 9pm kids are not permitted and in my opinion, rightly so. The bar / lounge area had at least 7 kids running around and generally causing a lot of noise. This was not early (I do appreciate that families are entitled to enjoy themselves too and eat food in the evening). This was at 10-10.30 on a Friday evening. For myself and my colleague, this was not acceptable and we asked the bar manager was their policy was. She very politely said there was nothing she could do and the kids 'should be gone by 11 hopefully.' There was staff side stepping around the kids to avoid them. We move seats 3 times. This is a policy that Management would want to review. I would certainly stay in this hotel again as it is a very good, well run property, however we will be eating and drinking elsewhere only because of the issue with kids. Otherwise, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in Deluxe rooms which were very large and extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hotelstays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments during your recent stay at The Ramada Plaza. We appreciate all your feedback and take all your points you mentioned on board. Its a pleasure to read that you found everything within our hotel ideal from the facilities, food & service all excellent which you could recommend which is great to hear. I would like to take this opportunity of thanking you of staying at The Ramada Plaza and hope we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Belfast.

Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Plenty of parking and hotel is easy to find. About 10/15 min drive into town.
The room was spacious and had good facilities such as TV with plenty of channels, king bed and a fridge which was very handy as there was very hot weather at the time of my stay. However, the wifi disconnected every few minutes and I asked to swap rooms to get stronger wifi signal but it didn't make a huge difference. The air con was also not effective at all , and while I understand we had hotter than average weather, it was definitely the hottest hotel room I have ever stayed in. A bath mat would also be very helpful in the bathroom - the floor was soaked after showers. However, most of these things are very small issues and overall I was very happy with the room.
Had breakfast on one morning, which was of good quality and plentiful.
Staff were all very polite, apart from one girl at reception who was very disinterested in me. However, she was called away as I checked in and the girl who replaced her could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Pool and gym were also excellent and there was no problem getting towels/lockers. Its not the deepest pool in the world but still a nice treat in the evenings.
Therefore, I will definitely be back to stay and would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: For better wifi, rooms nearer the foyer are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 66dunaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeraldineMcL, Manager at Crowne Plaza Belfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review during your recent stay with us at The Ramada Plaza. Your feedback is very important to us and value all your comments and take all on board to be addressed. We appreciate all your kind comments and are delighted that you found everything from the facilities, surroundings & food and service all to your pleasing. Once again we thank you for staying at The Ramada Plaza and are delighted to hear you would choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Geraldine McLarnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Clayton Hotel Belfast
Clayton Hotel Belfast
#22 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Belfast

Property: Crowne Plaza Belfast
Address: 117 Milltown Road, Belfast BT8 7XP, Northern Ireland (Formerly Plaza Hotel Belfast)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Family Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#16 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Belfast 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated amidst the picturesque Lagan Valley Regional Park, the 4* Plaza Hotel Belfast Shaw's Bridge is your perfect choice for rest and relaxation. Just 10 minutes' drive from Belfast City Centre, the hotel boasts 120 luxurious bedrooms, The Green Room Restaurant and The River Bar onsite, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza, Belfast Hotel Belfast
Ramada Belfast
Belfast Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing