We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Morning”

Hillmount BBQ Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our Aim is to Give People a Hands-On BBQ Cooking Experience - Release Your Inner Chef! Whatever your level of culinary experience the BBQ Academy Chef's are passionate about teaching people how to cook good food on a Weber BBQ. The Chef's will teach you everything you need to know about different barbeque cooking techniques such as cooking directly or indirectly, grilling, roasting, and baking, so you can get the most out of your BBQ. You will have the opportunity to cook delicious food such as smoked salmon, lamb joints, and chocolate puddings! - Dishes you never thought possible on a barbeque! The Master Classes are innovative hands-on barbeque cooking experiences that are perfect for individuals and groups. BBQ Academy Classes 2 Hour BBQ taster Session £20.00 The BBQ chef demonstrates how to make starters, main course and dessert on a BBQ! Half Day BBQ Master Class £70.00 You make your own starter, main course and dessert on a BBQ with thorough instructions from our BBQ chef! For advanced BBQ experts who are keen to further develop their BBQ skills!
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

My father in law and I attended the half day BBQ academy. Terry, Natalie and the rest of the staff immediately put us at ease with a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere. Fantastic setting, structure and expert tuition guaranteed a great day. We learnt so much about the versatility of the BBQ. Simple but very tasty recipes have inspired us both to be much more creative with the BBQ. Great value for money and a great way to spend a morning. Highly recommend this as a great present for anyone with an interest in developing their BBQ skills!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing corporate day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our team were treated to a day with Terry and his kitchen staff who taught us all sorts of barbecue techniques and food preparation and presentation tips. The food was absolutely delicious and the portion sizes were fantastic. Everyone had a great time and I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jordanmoore85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and myself visited Hillmount for the BBQ Academy on Sunday 16th of March, and to be totally honest I was very dubious about doing so. We were greeted with a soft drink or wine and made feel very welcome, and felt very comfortable. Terry who took the course was to say the least a character, he was funny, witty and extremely knowledgable in every aspect of barbecues, right down to the workings. The food he cooked was made look simple and delicious and I have tried 2 of the dishes already. Overall I would give this 10/10 and recommend this to anyone. Thanks.

Helpful?
6 Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Half Day Weber BBQ Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Myself and my Mum visited Hillmount BBQ academy in August 2013 as a birthday gift voucher for a half day course. She had purchased a Weber BBQ the year before from Hillmount, and thought it would be useful to learn how to use it to the best of its ability which is why we went on this course.

Well, we had a fantastic day!! Terry the head chef is fun and engaging, teaching us how to cook a 3 course meal all on a charcoal Weber. There were 6 people on our course, so it felt almost one-on-one. We loved how interactive the course was, aprons on, knife and BBQ prong in hand we all learnt how to cook aubergine and feta cheese stack for starter, beer-can chicken and horseradish salmon for main, and an absolutely delicious ad simple apple tart tatin for dessert. Best of all, these were ALL cooked on a BBQ! We learned plenty of great tips... how to cook the perfect roast, direct vs indirect cooking methods, and even how you could make a pizza & popcorn on the BBQ! We were shown some clever Weber attachments for the BBQ, but it defiantely did not feel like a forced or hard sell.

Then the best bit....a 3 course lunch to enjoy what we had made (with wine!) There was more than enough food, infact some people took a doggy-bag home! We chatted with our chefs and classmates, and the craic was great.

Dont be put off by the price of this course, you more than get your monies worth in my opinion. Plenty of food & wine, and some super BBQ tips to try out on your friends and family at the next BBQ.

Thanks to all at Hillmount for a super day,
Anna & Liz McGuire

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Excellent - very friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent menu in coffee shop and lovely peaceful surroundings. Will definately revisit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hillmount BBQ Academy also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Hillmount BBQ Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing