We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great course / walking tour”
Review of Shuttersheep Photo Safari - CLOSED

Shuttersheep Photo Safari
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you love photography and travel, why not join a Shuttersheep Photo Safari? A professional photographer will guide you around popular local travel locations, such as Belfast City Centre and the Causeway Coast, while giving you great advice and tips on composition, lighting, and exposure. All cameras and skill levels welcome. Be prepared for fun and great picture postcard moments!
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great course / walking tour”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Belfast Photo Safari is a very informative tour, and Philip is a great guide. There is quite a bit of time spent covering the basics for those who are not too familiar with their cameras, but once out and walking the pace is good, and it's easy to pick up plenty of new knowledge and ideas. Highly recommended for both locals and visitors.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank largebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic morning!”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I got a Groupon deal which made this unbelievable value. The setup is superb, its just the basics (Belfast walking tour) but even "the basics" are advanced enough to make a massive difference to your photos. We covered ISO settings, aperture, shutter speed and composition, undertaking tasks such as street photography, assignment photography and portraits.

There is a half hour or so at the start when each concept is explained and through reinforcing 4 main principles throughout, you'll be nerding out explaining all your settings!

Want to do the dark course now!

Helpful?
2 Thank JenRobo6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, northern ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Belfast by night made me appreciate the sights of Belfast. Loved it. Highly recommended. And as a local taking part on the tour was slightk embarrassed by my lack of knowledge of Belfast. Good fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scoobyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shuttersheep's Belfast By Night session”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Have attended on more than one occasion and can recommend without hesitation or bribe, interesting and excellent value for money, will be attending another in near future!!! Gillian taking care of bookings extremely helpful, communicative and efficient....Phillip seems to be a very calm and approachable guy who is expert at unravelling the technical jargon for us neophytes and had us capturing some fantastic scenes in a short space of time. A well organised and reliable business. Go for it! Dress for weather and don't forget to bring a ziplock freezer bag to protect cam/lens against inevitable and accursed rain

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Entertaining and Inspiring”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Here are a great pair of city safaris, both are full of great tips and brought some reality to the sometimes baffling world of DSLR for me. You bring your camera, a tripod and in my case total lack of skill! Phillip is entertaining and educational, he goes through the key points needed to get your camera set up and has you taking great photos without even realising it. I now have some fantastic camera skills to use in several situations. The group was just about large enough with several keen photographers on each trip. A pleasant stroll around Belfast on a Saturday morning and Thursday night (warmimg cup of hot chocolate thrown in for free) and at least three great photos to print and proudly frame on each trip. Plus the essential added bonus of actually knowing what I am doing when producing my camera in future and feeling confident to use a tripod when needed.
I cannot recommend this experience highly enough and am looking forward to booking my third,
the snow safari is next for me!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaymac92opa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shuttersheep Photo Safari also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing