We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but noisy”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food but noisy”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Dropped in on chance to the restaurant in this city centre hotel. Restaurant and bar area were absolutely packed - well it was the evening of the Snow Patrol concert at the City Hall, and MTV EMA awards. Staff very friendly and helpful despite clearly being under pressure. Quickly showed us to table tucked in a corner far away from the bar. Good choices on menu, arrived quickly and presentation and taste were absolutely fantastic - haven't had as good food in a hotel restaurant for a long time. Thought the bar area had got busier as the evening went on because of the noise, but in fact it had emptied considerably and this seemed to emphasise the background noise in the restaurant. As I said before, food arrived very quickly, presentation was outstanding, food was delicious, tasty and tender, and exceptionally good value for money. We had one shared starter, two main courses, and one shared dessert - can't remember how much it cost but hubby was surprised how little it was - a pleasant change.

Only two small drawbacks - one was noise as mentioned previously, and the other was the long walk from the restaurant to the toilets which were through the bar, and out near main entrance. Not miles away, but as a Blue Badge holder it was more than enough! Don't think either of these will hinder young, able bodies, customers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waltzingmatilda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    286
    60
    36
    36
See reviews for
170
568
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We were very happy with this hotel where we stayed for one night. Great service, free wi-fi, very helpful employees, the room was very spacious and comfortable, and as we entered the room there was a bowl with fruits as a welcoming courtesy. The location was great, in walking distances to most attractions. And at night, we went out to have dinner but decided to come back to the hotel because the restaurant there was the best option around - great food and environment - in the hotel reception they managed to get a table for us at the restaurant, because the place was very crowded (we noticed many locals enjoy the place as well)! And the breakfast the following day was excellent, very complete and delicious. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone willing to visit Belfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Ten Square in June 2011 and were extremely disappointed. First off I have to say the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights on the dinner, bed and breakfast package. The menu for the dinner in this package was very limited especially when staying 2 nights. I think they should at least alternate this fixed menu for people staying 2 nights or more. The food was average but then I felt we didn't have a lot to chose from the fixed menu.The outside of the hotel is beautiful and is well located, however our bedroom was in need of a good dusting and could have definately done with a lick of paint as there were marks all over the walls. If you are looking for a quiet break this is not the place to go. We could hear the music/noise coming from the bar/nightclub downstairs into the small hours on both nights - not what I expected from a supposed 4 star boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LSwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at the Fitzwilliam Hotel; however, the walk to Ten square is simple. We ate in their restaurant one night and it was excellent. Someone had recommended it to us. I had the chicken pow pow with a side of thai noodles. It was excellent. It also had the best desserts of all the restaurants we went to and believe me, there were some amazing ones. I would have put this review under the restaurant section but could not find this restaurant. I will look again. Definitely a must!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny01OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This lovely hotel is located just behind the City Hall in the heart of Belfast. The location is hard to beat if you want to be in the city centre. The hotel is small but the rooms are massive and wonderful, the service personal and the staff so very, very friendly. Will go there again should I find myself in Belfast again, wish I was there for longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xadina24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

From the moment we arrived the service was brilliant. The staff were very helpful and polite. The room was very comfy and everythin was catered for.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWorkman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Although i didn't stay here i did dine and have a drink or two, the service was second to none. My only regret was that i didn't stay in Ten Square

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#17 of 45 in Belfast
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing