We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i liked it so much I stayed a month !”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“i liked it so much I stayed a month !”
Reviewed 27 August 2008

While having to return to Northern Ireland recently to visit my sick mum I needed to stay in a hotel for the month. I initially booked the Hilton Belfast who were great but whose prices shot up after the July holiday fortnight. I then booked myself into Ten Square at a considerably lower rate after negotiating with the booking folks. I had an initial hiccup with my room wherein the air conditioning was not working and I had a very uncomfortable night. After raising this with the reception staff (thanks Sarah!) I was changed from there to another room. After this my experience of the hotel was top notch. The breakfast was certainly far superior to many I have had in hotels in both Belfast and around the world. The staff proved themselves to be very helpful through the whole duration of my stay and did as much as they could to help out during a particularly traumatic period. Though the hotel does not have leisure facilities included you can avail of a local gym with discounted rates. Room service was top notch - and much quicker than expected sometimes! If you want to find somewhere to eat or go out for the night ask Paul behind the bar where to go. The rooms themselves are of a high quality though may not fall into the high five star range - then again I was not in, nor did I pay for, a suite. Robes, towels and beds changed on a daily basis and my room was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. I have since recommended the hotel to friends visiting Belfast and it has become one of their favourite hotels to stay. Location perfect for nights out in Belfast

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff, quality of room
  • Disliked — No pool :o)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickmartin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    280
    59
    33
    35
See reviews for
168
554
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

i booked on the hotel website and got the internet special for £99 B&B from £170 for the same room normally. i was staying here to celebrate my first wedding anniversary and i couldnt have picked a better place. The Hotel, service room, food, bar, brekfast, atmosphere and location are faultless and i cannot say a bad word about this place and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Belfast.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank irishhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county antrim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

having heard some good reports i had wanted to stay in ten square for a long time before my husband treated me to a night in one of their more expensive rooms. while my expectations of chic and boutique were initially met in the reception area i found the room itself disappointing and not at all as i had hoped. as a boutique hotel i had imagined art and soft furnishings but instead the room was really quite bare with high ceilings and not quite enough furniture. the walls and curtains were an uninspired beige and the carpet had once been something similar. robes and slippers were in supply which is always good and the bathroom was very clean with some lovely aromotherapy associates toiletries. the location of this hotel is fantastic with the city right on the doorstep. on street parking was ok for the weekend although could be a real problem otherwise. overall the accomodation really did not live up to the price tag or reputation. breakfast is ok although i dont advise the eggs benedict which turned out to be bagels with bacon in disguise!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the decor and furnishings in the room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deesandfatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

I can not recommend this hotel. It was quite simply the worst customer service i have ever experienced.

From the receptionist who left me open-mouthed and mid-sentence when whilst i was checking in, as she answered the phone. No "excuse me" or "do you mind" and then had a 5 minute conversation, while i simply had to stand there and wait for her to finish. Her explanation; "its my job to answer the phone." Never mind about the customer infront of you!

To the hotel charging me £1.14 on my credit card to return my phone charger to me; yes my mistake i forgot it, but hardly a boutique, 4 * star attitude.

Loved Belfast and would go back, but certainly would not stay there again. Dreadful service.

  • Liked — Outdoor terrace
  • Disliked — Dreadful customer service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Ten Square boasts that it is a luxury hotel, but having stayed there on Saturday 26th July, the management need to take a serious look at the service provided.

We chose the £190 "Romance Package" and expectations were high, especially after opting for Ten Square over The Merchant.

The sprinkling of rose petals, the champagne and the aromatherapy gift set did little to mask the lack of luxury. Our room was full of damaged furniture, burnt lampshades and walls heavily marked with something? The shower and bath was lined with black mould. On one of the hottest days of the year, the air conditioning was broken!!

The manager was informed about the inadequacies and we were insulted by the offer of an electric fan, a drink on the house or £20 deduction on our bill. When we asked the manager to contact The Merchant, he almost collapsed and began to inform us that he knew, for a fact, that there were no rooms available. If only his clairvoyance had foreseen the the broken air conditioning!! After a lot of negotiating, we were offer a £60 deduction.

In conclusion - don't believe the blurb or the well out dated press quotes.

Ten Square is far from chic or luxurious and the cream has definitely turned sour.

“One of the chicest boutique hotels in Ireland”
Susan d'Arcy, Sunday Times

“ Ten Square is a model of luxurious living at the highest standards”
Mirror Newspaper

“Ten Square has established itself as the cream of Belfast hostelries – and with good reason”
GQ Magazine

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Poor value for money
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Stayed in Ten Square for my 30th birthday and it was easily the best choice my husband could have made for Belfast. The room was beautiful, definitely luxurious and overlooked the city hall. Some people have complained about stains on the carpet etc but we never found any of that. In fact the room was exceptionally clean; no carpet stains or chipped furniture and everything worked fine.

A definitely plus was the lack of travelling noise in the hotel despite the city centre location. After a night out in town we never heard anything despite the hotel hosting a wedding and a full bar downstairs.

We found the service to be really great. As instructed by my husband there was champagne and flowers in the room upon arrival and we had no problems with receiving messages, arranging transport, dining arrangements, and checking in or out etc.

Probably the best part of the stay was the breakfast – my husband still raves about it! We’ve stayed in many hotels across the world but the quality of the food on offer and the service at breakfast was fantastic. It really added to the boutique feel of the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again and wouldn’t even consider staying anywhere else in the city centre.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badlands1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing