We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
preston lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

along with a friend i stayed for 3 nights and from the moment we entered the hotel everyone there to assist us in anyway, we had room 308 and it was a very large roomy room with everything we could have wanted, and very clean, the yong girls on reception were also very helpful in trying to book the theatre for us, we only ate in the hotel on one night ,but it was very good selection on the menu, served promtly and everything was hot that should have been, and again the staff in the restaurant were very attentive with out overpowering, breakfast had a very good selection and well cooked, and again the waiters/resses were wonderful, we would stay there again on our next visit to belfast, every were in the hotel was very clean

Room Tip: room 308 was a very quite room, overlooking linen hall street and side door of hotel (which is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    280
    59
    33
    35
See reviews for
168
554
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My room was large, with high ceilings, tastefully decorated & furnished. The desk was large, unlike most modern hotels, and the wifi signal was strong so work was well catered for.

Plenty of tea bags (normal & herb), coffee & hot chocolate along with a fridge should you want to chill wine/water/beer.

The bed was large and comfortable.

So ... that's the basics covered.

Breakfast was very good, with lots of choice & the staff were friendly & fast.

It's not cheap, but cheaper than many of the other quality hotels in the centre of the city. You can find cheaper hotels, but in my experience, you won't save much money, and the experience will be significantly worse. Go on - spend that little bit extra, you know you're worth it.

Room Tip: I was in room 210. No noise issues, the room was very large with distinct area for watching TV, wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy_and_Sue_1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Down
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Having eaten here a few times with work ones and friends, i simply cannot fault this place, the food is lovely as are the friendly staff.

Their cocktails are beautiful, and the bar area is lovely decorated, and very clean

Overall a beautiful hotel in a great location.

Would definitely return !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here on one of their packages “Discover Northern Ireland”. We had won this as a prize in a charity raffle and it had a value of £400. We have been to Belfast many times. There was nothing to say that staying on one of these packages meant that the breakfast on three mornings and dinner on 2 nights wasn’t from their menu either on line or the menu given in the rooms. The restaurant/bar, as it is one and the same should be avoided. Although restaurant prices are charged, it is pub grub in a noisy pub atmosphere on wipe down tables with uncomfortable bench seating and substandard food. I ordered rack of lamb at a supplement to receive lamb chops full of gristle and bone, which broke 2 teeth as I was not expecting to chew on bone from the fleshy part of a rack of lamb. This was at a supplement as the main menu was not for people on a package so the menus were taken off us and a sheet of paper given which we refused and paid the supplement. We didn’t bother with dessert and ate outside of the hotel for the other 2 nights and no apology or refund was offered by the hotel management. Instead they argued that their trip advisor ratings were brilliant! The breakfasts were very poor and served along with human hair on 2 mornings. After making a complaint on the first morning about the hair the second morning I returned the breakfast untouched. It was not replaced and an apology does not make up for not eating to have to go outside and find breakfast elsewhere. The room we had was tired with a view over the side of the City hall looking into offices. The window didn’t open and was stuffy as a result. We know now that boutique hotel means small and no facilities. It certainly does not deserve a 4 star rating. There are much better hotels to choose from in Belfast city centre at cheaper rates and this hotel gives a very poor respresentation of Belfast and Northern Ireland generally and should be avoided as should their restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank Noel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenSquareHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Square, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of you stay with us. Whilst we normally communicate directly with our guests, we feel on this occasion it only fair to give clarity to the points you have raised via this forum for the benefit of readers..

As a prize winner of our Discover Northern Ireland package, there were many different elements for you to enjoy over the 3 days and as you had not been back to Belfast in decades, as you had told us upon arrival, we shared your excitement. Unfortunately, within 15 minutes of arrival, your dis-satisfaction became apparent.

Having welcomed over one hundred thousand overnight guests at Ten Square we had yet to meet any visitor who disliked Belfast, its people, our stunning Giant's Causeway and our historic past so much. The way on which you dismissed our beautiful City was quite upsetting to witness.

To address your comments on your dining experience, it is fair to say that our Lamb Chops contain a bone. We do not expect our customer to try and eat the bone itself, rather the rib meat attached. Your claim of broken teeth is without foundation. On the two occasions at breakfast when you claimed that a hair was present, upon inspection, no hairs were found. You claimed you had discarded them yourself which we found strange. Having eaten the majority of your breakfasts on all 3 mornings before complaining, you also refused an offer of a fresh breakfast, which again we found strange.

The office bock you refer to as the view from your guestroom was in fact our majestic Belfast City Hall. As our hotel is located in Belfast City centre there are many historic and recent buildings in our proximity. At each opportunity over the 3 days, we met with you and spoke at length so we feel it is disingenuous to claim that such meetings did not happen. We are of course saddened that you disliked our hotel, our staff, our bedrooms, our restaurant, our city and our landmarks so much.

As your stay was a prize and therefore free of charge, we are unsure of your refund statement.

We wish you safe future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Down
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I met a few friends here last Friday night and we had a wonderful meal. A large group of friends then joined us and we had a great night. Fab music, great drinks, brilliant music. So much so that we were due to go somewhere else - but stated until chucking out time! We will definitely be back - again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Soupy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, County Down
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A girlie weekend treat, we were deliked with the hotel
nice and central to city centre and opera house, as we were going to see a show that evening,
staff very pleasant and friendly, rooms spacious, clean, every thing you would need,
tea, coffee, hot chocolate, safe, mini bar, iron and board, bathroom also had everything including robes and slippers
evening meal delicious and good portions
table reserved for us when we arrived back from the show and we danced the night away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for the Sunday Night Getaway - really brilliant price for one night stay, 3 course evening meal & breakfast. We upgraded to a Fabulous room which had an amazing freestanding bath. The room itself was lovely, it was so clean and spacious. When we checked in we were given a complimentary glass of pink sparkling wine each, the receptionist was really friendly and helpful. In our room we had a large complimentary bottle of water, chocolate on our pillows and a selection of different flavoured teas, some hot chocolate and coffees to make as we wanted. There was also an iron, ironing board, safe, fridge and the largest amount of towels I have seen in one hotel room! Three course meal was amazing, staff were super friendly and kept our bags after we checked out so we could do some shopping! Really brilliant, will definitely be back! Not one negative comment from me! :)

Room Tip: I was in room 209 which was a corner room looking onto the back of city hall. Definitely upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing