We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be back”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not be back”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Upon arrival after 2 pm our rooms were not ready. When we got into them they were spacious and very clean. Full marks to the housekeepers. Ate in the restaurant and the food was awful. Cold and an extremely small portion of plaice stuffed with a prawn served on a cold plate. Friends meals were a more generous portion but bought in coleslaw and limp rocket leaves served with poorly seasoned food was not value for money. Complaint was made to which the maître dee was argumentative and edging on rude. We were given a bottle of complimentary sparkly truly awful wine and a selection of bought in desserts both of which we did not want. Very disappointing and would not recommend eating in the restaurant. The room was unbearably hot at night with no air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    280
    59
    33
    35
See reviews for
168
556
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed in this hotel about 7 or 8 times now. Absolutely faultless hence we keep returning. We have stayed in a lot of hotels all over Ireland and this is by far our favourite. The rooms are of a very high standard, very clean and spacious. The suite in particular is worth booking if you have a little extra to spend. The staff are very friendly and attentive. We have yet to be disappointed at nay aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amci87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Booked this lovely hotel last october to take in a concert in Belfast. I had e mail a few requests, which were ignored , I phoned and asked if we could please have a quiet room, even if we had to pay extra, this was ignored , was told they would do their best to accommodate us , however n such thing. On arrival, they looked like this was the first time I had asked for a quiet room , on the top floor. No we were given possibly worst room in the hotel 203, if you like noise night noon and morning then this is the room to stay in , not sleep in (so dont be fooled). Staff said they were fully booked , as i previously said I booked this with request in october 2013 and as this was our 4th visit to hotel , one would think they would facilitate us. While the room itself was lovely and spotless clean , the service vent outside our window was shocking , the room was like a sauna all of the time. Could not leave window open with the constant racket outside, we were provided with 2 fans , suitable for a tiny area , of no use.
. I met a couple checking in day after us for 1 night and they were given a lovely cool airy room on the 2nd floor. Maybe its our accents that did not allow us to be given a choice room.
Lunch was lovely and staff very nice. overall staff were good. Dinner on the evening poor , stir fry very poor.this room 203 should really be used as a closet not a bedroom. the service area is also out the window , so bottles , barrells all been rattled around lat even and early morning . Will we be back ...................................................I really think NOT .............will try jurys or europa

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenSquareHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Square, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Cathy705

Many thanks for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. It should be noted that we addressed your requests in person and again in response to your guest comment card and again to your email correspondence but let me take this opportunity once again address the issues you raise as some are being reported for the first time.

You did indeed book for accommodation with us via booking.com late last year, to attend the Dolly Parton concert in Belfast as did many other guests..As soon as the tickets went on sale we were completely sold out. Repeatedly throughout this year you emailed and telephoned us requesting a complimentary upgrade of your accommodation. Each time we were unable to accommodate this request as we were sold out due to the high demand by concert goers. The only room which became available due to a cancellation, was our Linenhall Suite which was available for a additional charge but you declined this offer. You again contacted us the week prior to arrival and again at checkin asking for this complimentary upgrade and once again we were unfortunately unable to accommodate your request. As we had lengthy period of direct contact with you over 6 months we feel your comments that we ignored your correspondence are simply untrue.
As a small Boutique Hotel with only 22 guestrooms, we do sell out on many occasions. We offer 5 different rooms types and they are listed via our website. Guests have the choice to book a guestroom to suit their requirements and budgets.
As a city centre hotel located in a Grade 1 listed building of 3 floors, we are at the mercy of general city and adjacent building noise. Whilst we endeavour to deliver all guest requests subject to availability, on this occasion, as explained in detail on many occasions with you, we were unable to accommodate your request.
We find your comment regarding accents distasteful.
Thank you for you kind words however regarding your lunch. Throughout your stay you were very kind with your comments about our staff and our bar & restaurant so we are now surprised that you have since changed your mind and found your meal poor. This was not relayed to us at any time.

I hope you find this and our previous correspondence is helpful.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had the pleasure of attending a wedding ceremony inBelfast City Hall on Thursday last week
followed by a Reception in TEN SQUARE. The manner in the way all of the guests wer received and catered for was out of this World.
Some of the guests were staying for 2 nights, feedback from these persons was fantastic.
Once again thanx and congratulations to all involved.
Highly reccomend the experience to all

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for an overnight on Monday. After a busy day's shopping and a lovely meal in Ten Square my daughter and I went up to our room at 1030. The thumping of loud music was unbelievable. Not being one to complain I thought it wouldnt go on like that for long. The music was still going on at 12 and I thought I'll wait till 1230 and it'll probably quieten down. At 1250 I rang reception and the gentleman on reception asked me if I hadn't been told about the music when I checked in (can't figure out how that made it any better!). The music did finish at one following which we had an hour of banging doors and people running up corridors - and then finally it went quiet!!!
I couldnt fault the staff on check in at reception or those serving meals both in the evening and at breakfast - they were very friendly, polite and welcoming.
I could however recommend a number of hotels in Belfast to stay in where you will get a night's sleep!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 213 if there is a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful Fabulous Amazing what else can i say. My daughters wedding on 30th may in ten square was all of these things. the staff are pleasant and cheerful and nothing is a bother to them. Johnny the wedding co-ordinator is just what you want to make things go without a hitch. Gemma our waitress was so friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are spacious with dressing gowns and slippers which is a nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. More tea and coffee than you could wish for. All in all I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you Ten Square xoxoxoxoxo

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angiebabe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just attended my sisters wedding in Ten square, it was fantastic. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and attentive, they had the room laid out immaculately. We also stayed in one of the room, comfy beds, clean linen and high pressure shower. We had a fantastic day and thank all the staff who made this day special. I would highly recommend Ten Square for functions, food and a night away :-D

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#5 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing