We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for just one night on an overnight trip to Belfast. The staff were really welcoming and friendly and the overall atmosphere in the hotel in very relaxing. The room we stayed in was lovely, so comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated. The location of the hotel is ideal for any of the city centre attractions, a couple of minutes walk from plenty of shops and only a couple of minutes drive to the Odyssey Arena and the Titanic Quarter. By the time we got down for dinner the ktichen had closed (@ 8.45pm) so I can't comment on the food (we ate at Coco restaurant a couple of doors down - it was excellent) but the cocktails were very tasty. Would have loved to stay longer, and would definitely go back if staying in Belfast again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pandsy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    269
    56
    32
    33
See reviews for
164
534
36
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Have never had the experince of staying here but was lucky enough to sample there food, perfectly planned menu (hubbies a fussy eater) that your guarented will leave you satisfied. Looking forward to my next vist already.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lullabelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

There are a lot of positives here and just a few negatives. First the positives. The location is very good. Belfast is sprawling and Ten Square is situated within walking distance of some of the more picturesque and architecturally significant areas and buildings. It is not within walking distance, or at least my comfortable distance, to the Titanic Quarter which is a must-see, but all in all, a great location. The welcome is warm, sparkling you might say as they give you a complimentary glass of rose when you arrive. The bar is large, fun and loud with discreet media which is good for conversation but not so good if you are a World Cup fanatic. The food was very good, particularly the skinny fries! And breakfast was great - lots of choices including cold and hot offerings.
The rooms are quite large, very nicely appointed, and very comfortable with beautiful bathrooms. There will be chocolates waiting for you! The staff is very helpful and accommodating.. which leads me to the negative. Ten Square is not air conditioned. Many would not find that a drawback, but we were a bit warm on a few overly warm days which made sleeping a little difficult. Housekeeping was immediately responsive, however, with fans... lots of fans. They didn't blink an eye when I asked for multiples, and even offered a free standing floor AC unit if I was still hot. A strange contraption which my cousins opted for which sent a hose out the window.. odd, but it made their stay more comfortable.
All in all, I would stay here again for all the positives and just deal with the weather as it comes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been to Belfast twice before over the past two decades, but this is the first time we stayed in the city center. I am so glad we chose Ten Square, from the moment we entered we felt welcomed. The hotel is the perfect location for all the main attractions and within easy walking distance of wonderful restaurants and shopping. We were upgraded to a Fabulous room and it was indeed "fabulous" with interesting artwork, a relaxing sitting area, and lovely views of City Hall. Staff could not have been more helpful - they booked a Black Taxi tour for us, arranged for water to be brought to our room (and this after just a simple inquiry at the front desk), recommended a shop for purchase of wine and whiskey and were just generally very warm and welcoming. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner, but breakfast was lovely with eggs and smoked salmon served at the perfect temperature. I do not understand the comments about city noise - as anyone who stays in a city center should understand that there is bound to be some noise vs. a stay in a quiet country village. We had no issues with noise as it was not above and beyond the usual comings and goings of a bustling city. In addition I would not expect a hotel in Northern Ireland to have air conditioning - I cannot imagine it ever being stuffy - having the windows open was refreshing. We were so happy to stay in this glorious rejuvenated city and the evidence of pride was palpable with the staff. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed only one night on a business trip, but it was a really comfortable friendly place. It is a great location, within easy reach to stroll round the city. This was great when I was only there for a short time. Room was comfortable and clean.

Receptionist was really friendly and helpful, as were the restaurant staff. It is advisable to book for the restaurant, as it got busy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnowls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I took a friend out for Afternoon Tea as a Birthday treat to Ten Square. The food, service and of course the Cocktails were exceptional. Very good value. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would not hesitate in recommending this - I certainly will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19TG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked into Ten Square for 3 nights with the NI Experience package, I would highly recommend it. Every single member of staff that we encountered was friendly, helpful and genuinely invested in us having a great time in Belfast. Our room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, our food (both breakfast and dinner) was lovely and the location is fantastic, 10 minutes walk to the Titanic Quarter, about 5 minutes to Victoria Square and just behind City Hall. We would definitely recommend Ten Square and we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilywhite26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Property: Ten Square
Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#6 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing