We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great staff”
Review of Ten Square

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ten Square
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We decided to go to Belfast for a weekend break and came across the Ten Square hotel through another site. It has a great location right behind the City Hall. We got it at what appears to have been a discounted price and certainly after staying it would have been easy to charge more. The staff are great, very friendly and efficient. The food in the Grill Room Restaurant was excellent, the bar is contemporary and has plenty of space. The rooms are beautifully decorated and are quite large and very comfortable. All in all we had a wonderful stay and cant recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed here on our wedding night.

As we arrived there it was clear that there is some mix-up with our reservation. Eventually we were taken to our room, but soon we found that there is someone's bag in there. We called the reception and they said that there was a mix-up (no kidding!) and that this suite is for another couple on their wedding night!

We were moved to another room and were told that the mistake will be sorted and that the hotel will make it up for us next morning. The room was great, with rose petals, champagne and all that jazz.

Next morning, none of the staff from last night was available and we had to explain the whole story all over again to a couple of people! We were given a voucher for £60 towards another visit! the room rate was £120.

Not a single word of apology was uttered during this whole fiasco, as if it was nobody's mistake!

Typical UK/Ireland customer service! Real disappointment from such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoe-mai-koon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TenSquareManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ten Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you were taken initially to our suite rather than the room you had booked. It appears on this occasion that we failed to meet your and our expectations.

It is with regret that you feel the situation was not communicated between staff. I do hope that the complimentary champagne, rose petal turndown and voucher recieved goes some way to expressing this. You have my assurance that this isolated incident is certainly the exception and not the environment we wish to create at Ten Square.

I hope that your experience does not deter you from returning to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back at a future date.

With kindest regards
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

When we arrived the receptionist took our bags explained where to park the car . When we got back to hotel our bags were already in the room. Lovely rooms with all relevant facilities.
Food was excellant and i would reccommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann209961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We had our wedding there on 29th December 2010 and it was truly amazing.
Completely recommend anyone getting married to have their wedding at Ten Square, you will not get a better venue. Lucy, Johnny and all the waiting staff were fantastic and made it such a fun day. 1st class service.
The Porcelain Suite was amazing, we did not have to do a thing Lucy and Johnny and their staff set up the room for us and it looked absolutely stunning. The food was out of this world, not 1 person had a bad word to say about any of it including the evening canapes, everyone was well fed. The waiting staff could not do enough for you and always made the time to chat to the guests and share a joke or two with everyone.
A number of us all stayed the night and the rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was just as good as the wedding food.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone either for getting married in or simply spending an evening there.

Thankyou so so much, Mr & Mrs Craig xo.

Stayed: December 2010
1  Thank Nicki_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Had our wedding in Ten Square on 16/10/10. Service from Jonny and waiting staff first class on the day. Rooms of premium quality and food superb for the wedding. Breakfast however wasn't up to the same standard. I wouldn't have been happy paying for a room in this hotel as an normal guest (well above average) and having this standard of breakfast - reheated.

However, when booking with wedding the year before we contacted Lucy on 3 occasions and received no call back - not the service we expect to receive from a hotel charging a 'premium' rate for its services. Made a complaint to Hotel Manager which really didn't improve the service from the functions mgr. Really would never recommend this hotel for an event but for the service we received on the day it really was excellent. Would have felt more comfortable dealing with Master of Ceremonies from beginning of our experience rather than meeting him the week of the wedding. Had he dealt with us from the initial booking I would have no hesitation in giving this hotel a 5* recommendation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljackson83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The hotel is excellently located near the city centre and certainly ticks most of the boxes.The bar is very comfortable and has a great atmosphere,the breakfast is very good with plenty of choice and very good service.The receptionists were very helpful and the rooms were very spacious clean and tidy,the only very small complaint is that at busy times the restaurant service can become disjointed,this however did not spoil what was a very good hotel experience.We would use this hotel again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmilesLondonderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

My wife and I had an overnight as we were going to a concert. Check in was very pleasant, welcoming staff, a nice complimentary glass of mulled wine and the young lady at reception took us to our room and showed us the facilities in the room including free movies - nice touch. Location for city centre is perfect. Food is always good. Having stayed at the Hilton previously this hotel is far superior. Will come again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyNewryIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#14 of 45 in Belfast
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Malmaison
Malmaison
#27 of 45 in Belfast
1,438 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
3,035 reviews
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#11 of 45 in Belfast
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Square

Address: 10 Donegall Square South, Belfast BT1 5JD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#8 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#17 Business Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £110 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ten Square 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Belfast hotel is located just steps from the historic City Hall, Waterfront Hall, the business district and the Victoria Square shopping mecca, and offers a variety of award-winning luxury hotel rooms as well as The Grill Room Restaurant & Bar - one of Belfast's most popular meeting and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ten Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
10 Square
Ten Square Belfast
Ten Square Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing