We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”
Review of Global Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Global Village
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham Island (Rekohu), New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Great little hostel with friendly staff and clean facilities. On checkin we were given good advice on local transport and the best local tours. The staff member also called and arranged our tour while we got settled in. Recommend to others

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mav055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    58
    14
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
21
72
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Had a fantastic stay! Absolutly nothing to complain about. We will be back!!! The kitchen and the common room are really good and its a close walk to town! Its truly amazing, also the staff are wonderful, taking everyone out and making everyone feel involved

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and i stayed ther for 3 nights. As a couple, we usually stayed at hotel or rented apartments. But this hostels was a great find. Good location, excellent staff and very clean rooms. The bathrooms was the cleanisest bathroom that we saw anywhere that we stayed in our trip in the UK. And probably the best of all our trips.
We definitly will stay there again when in Belfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonardoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Although my first stay at a hostel, I met with seasoned travelers from various countries who assured me (for what hearsay is worth) that Global Village embodied "be it ever so humble, there's no place" like it. Fox and his band of merry helpers were friendly, willing to accommodate me on pub crawls even though I don't drink (pubs in Belfast serve delicious coffee if you're a fanatic), and owner, Mark, joined in during movies. Nothing went missing, and although I wouldn't condone it, most felt free enough to not lock their belongings. Well worth the price as well as the fact that they care enough to entertain guests with their group barbecues (6.50/person).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isle of wight
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Well to Foxy the manager and ALL his staff, who are super friendly, so much fun, and made my stay in Ireland (for St. Patrics day!!) one that I will never forget! Amazing facilities (with 24 hour free pool, free wifi, tv/movies, and free range of the kitchen), cosy little outside area with BBQ's when the weathers nice! Oh I could go on and on, did I mention it's SPOTLESS! Everything and more you could ever want or need from a hostel, INCREDIBLE ART WORK on the walls, and great music. To sum it all up in 2 words!!??? .... "GOOD.VIBES." ;-DDDDDDD

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is my first hostel review and i've stayed in tons of hostels around the world. Reason i'm writing this one is because of how well it was run, how friendly the staff were and how clean it was. I've never walked into a hostel and felt at ease as i did at this one everyone was very chatty and saying hello and asking if you needed any help.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've stayed in over 20 hostels around the world, and this is by far the best. Excellent, clean hostel, with fantastic staff and facilities. Would definitely book again! I stayed over a weekend and got to know everyone in the hostel effortlessly. Staff are always encouraging you to socialise with other travellers. A large kitchen and social area, were equip well and even in the cold Belfast weather, you could stay all day inside the hostel and never get bored. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronwebb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,283 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village

Property: Global Village
Address: 87 University Street, Belfast BT7 1HP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing