We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Folklore Restaurant

Folklore Restaurant
Ranked #447 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: Irish, European, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

great restaurant in front of the Ibis belfast city centre hotel. It is on top of a small pub, so may nit be noticed. Great ambiance; not busy when we had our dinner. I had the pork belly which is really lovely!! great service; meals for two cost less than £30 including drinks and starters. The service is excellent and the staff was friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lakbayWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Nice food and quirky restaurant. Make sure you walk up the stairs. Staff were lovely and Guinness was great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

we went there for lunch during the week after a living socal deal. 3 off us went at 12.30 and we were greeted with a smile and the place was layed out with hand painted tables and old photos off Belfast on the walls. I most say the food was super and the service was great. we passed the place on Sat Night and it looked really packed. I hope this place does well and I will be back. They do a super lunch deal even with out the living socal deal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peterraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quirky but just feels run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Went here on a deal with my daughter and the first thing we noticed when we walked in was the smell.. the space smelt like mens toilets which was distinctly unpleasant. The waitress was lovely and very helpful .. we were the only people in the place so she was very attentive. The menu was fairly limited and made even more so by the fact that the burger was off the menu due to a non-delivery.

The starter of brie was gorgeous and I couldn't fault the main meals either... very tasty. During our meal we noticed an almighty banging noise coming from the roof that was actually shaking the light fixture. It turns out there is a gym upstairs!! I suspect when the place is full the noise probably isn't an issue but it was awfully distracting when we were the only two people in the place.

while the tables are quirky with the different paintings on them the whole place just felt like it was a bit thrown together and bare. Overall really a bit disappointing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value and great potential.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

First visit here during the week and I enjoyed it. Quirky space, table art that locals may critique on the grounds of accuracy (but it's excellent), lovely staff and pleasant (if slow) service. The menu is simple, the food is great value and the principles in its cooking and presentation are sound. The execution was not however consistently good. My burger was beautifully dressed and flavoured, but over cooked. Chips were cooked straight through (not blanched), but this was not expertly done. Fish was nicely cooked, but the fillet did not taste of the best quality local haddock.

I'll certainly be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seafishtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Folklore Restaurant also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Folklore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing