We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is not up to scratch...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Bastille

La Bastille
Ranked #43 of 1,043 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Bastille Restaurant boasts true, chic, parisienne style and class for Northern IrelandAuthentic, traditional french cuisine with a modern twist in an intimate, romantic setting.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is not up to scratch...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I feel a bit bad giving a "poor" rating; Bastille offers friendly courteous service and a unique menu. However, for the cost of food and drink, the establishment's pricing itself as a higher-end eaterie; and falls notably on the wrong side of "average" in doing that.
If you enjoy trying out different eateries in Belfast; definitely put this on your list and decide for yourself. But if you are planning to get *really* good food in Belfast as a special treat; this is not the place to go.

The food all sounds good on the menu; but what's delivered doesn't impress. Steaks are mediocre; and other dishes just don't impress in terms of flavour, presentation or portion sizes.
One dish that stood out was sea bass with pickled vegetables - we expected a nice lump of fish; surrounded by small piles of pickle veg. What was served was a bowl of vinegary pickle-jar juice with shredded veg; and the fish (which wasn't huge in size) semi-submerged. The staff were very understanding about our complaint; but I feel that the dish should not have been served (or even put on the menu) in the first place.

Positives:
Nice atmosphere; and the staff are friendly. This is a good place to go if entertaining/dating is your priority rather than the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GobBluthComeOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    120
    49
    36
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Visiting Belfast for the World Police and Fire Games and stumbled upon this lovely restaurant.
I am vegetarian but had a choice - in fact, I had two small portions of different dishes as I couldn't decide what to have.
My friend - an avid meat-eater - was also more than happy with her meal.
Wonderful friendly service which seems to be a feature in Belfast.
Would definitely visit again when next over there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnLaramy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SERVICE WHAT SERVICE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday
They asked if we were using Groupon at the door and yes we were
That should have set our alarm bells ringing
Shown table and given menu
15 minutes before anyone took our food and drink order
Added a pepper sauce to go with a steak when the wine arrived
The pepper sauce arrived straight away on its own lol what?
The starters arrived and one was wrong so sent it back
French waitress then ignorantly told me it was my fault
Correct starters eventually arrived and it seemed all was fine
However after the starters we waited 45 minutes with no service or main courses
When we enquired told only a few minutes
So after another 10 minutes we decided to leave
The staff and management couldn't have cared less
After several good experiences here we will not be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty meal, great atmosphere and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

In the main, a very pleasant evening spent in the restaurant. Food was good, and reasonably priced, as well as arriving promptly. Ambiance had a romantic feel which was surprising given how busy it was with various group sizes. Dessert was delightful and well presented.

In addition to the above, we were very well looked after by the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A taste of the french riveria in Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a holiday booked for French Riveria but had to cancel due to an unfortunate accident. We went to La Bastelle as a token gesture to our lost holiday. We had the most wonderful meal and fabulous desserts. Totally lived up to it's reputation.
We are definetley converts and will be back again and again.
Looking forward to our next meal.Am encouraging my work colleagues to think of it as our christmas venue.
Davina

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davina23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bastille also viewed

 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to La Bastille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing