We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fountain bar”

The Fountain Tavern
Ranked #188 of 1,253 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Description: The Fountain Tavern is a traditional Belfast establishment offering great home cooked food upstairs in it's lounge, drinks and entertainment in the downstairs bar and an off sales were local craft beers and gins are a speciality.
Reviewed 9 December 2018 via mobile

After a meal in with my friends we werin and out of crowds ques at market bar wer to long went to another bar which we had to come out of every wer was too busy so we wer at verge of leaving belfast so we walked another while n we came across fountain bar good drink promotions on so we went in and it was busy so we had a few drinks got a table and the we band came and played all type of music we ended up staying here and we had a brillant ngt definitly will b back

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank LindaC2752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2018

Haven’t been in this bar for many years. Decided to pop in for a drink after doing some shopping in the city. These was a cosy feel helped by the open fire. Decided then to go upstairs to the restaurant for a bite to eat. I had scampi and my husband had the savoury mince pie. Food was delivered quickly and we both enjoyed our mea. Staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely return.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank N_IrelandFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018

Our cousin Jackie that doesn't live far took us there for lunch. We had beers, appetizers and lasagna and I had a chicken and goats cheese salad. Our server was awesome. Really liked the place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travel832230, General Manager at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Hi Debi D
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed The Fountain Tavern.
Also, please thank your cousin Jackie, for her recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

Was looking for a quiet place for a quiet Sunday night drink. Arrived a half six ordered and then discovered the place shut a 8pm and they do not show football games on their TVs ( But it seems they have just been bought by new people so maybe that will change) nice bar to sit and just chat or watch the world go by.Was going to eat here but the restaurant was closing at six on that Sunday.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichealG70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Was in on a Saturday afternoon. Only had two pints which were fine. The place is a bit dated, however I actually like that as it just looks like a normal bar, which is a rarity in Belfast these days as it's full over overpriced pretentious bars.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 561darrenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Tavern also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to The Fountain Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing