We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading advertising!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #19 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Misleading advertising!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The manager (and the ads) told us that the breakfast would be a full irish fry... and it was only orange juice and toasts! Location and equipments are good but if you go there, make sure you don't pay for the breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Benjamin
Thank you for your review we value all feedback whether good or bad or as in your case mixed.
I am pleased you found the location and our facilities to be good but disappointed that Breakfast did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately our chef's wife unexpectedly went into labour just a couple of hours before breakfast. This was also at a time when our other chef was on holidays and not in the country. The staff on duty made the best of the situation but were unable to produce a cooked breakfast. I note you state in your review "Don't pay for breakfast." Our breakfast is currently complementary and we do not charge for it and did not charge yourself. Our booking terms also state that our complementary breakfast is a continental breakfast, however we virtually always offer a cooked breakfast which is complementary also. I believe that you were advised at check in that a cooked breakfast would be available as this is normally the case. The online booking channel which you booked through however clearly stated that a complementary continental breakfast would be offered. I also understand that you did not raise any concerns on the day and thus the staff did not have an opportunity to help meet your expectations. Should you wish to contact me directly regarding this, please call reception.
Kind regards
Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    90
    60
    38
    32
See reviews for
63
77
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shankbridge
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Ok This is the the second time reviewing this B&B the last time because of a few teething problems and issues that wasnt there fault I gave it quite a bad review but after chatting to the manager I said I would give it a second chance. Colin the manager works extremely hard and couldnt do enough for us and I wish him every success.
Firstly the room we where given this time was bright with modern decor. Patricia our waitress in the morning was very cheerful and helpfull. Although we had a complimentry stay the room rates are very good which also includes breakfast. The last time I did give this B&B a very harsh review but im so glad I gave it a second chance and I will be returning again. This time id highly reccommend this B&B to anyone whos looking for a friendly place to stay in a great location.
Thank-you Colin best wishes for the future and c u soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Elizabeth,
We are delighted you returned to Botanic Rest for a second stay following your first when we had just opened. Thank you kindly for the review and the well wishes. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Colin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Visiting Belfast with my colleagues i am pleases to say we chose Botanic Rest for our stay

Staff where very helpful

Rooms where very clean and accommodating

Having never stayed in a B&B before I definitely wouldn't hesitate on staying here again on our next visit anytime in the future

All in all fantastic!!!

Thanks guys

Reiss

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonykarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Reiss
It was great having you and your companions stay with us. Glad you enjoyed and hope you can all return again soon. Many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Botanic Rest was a good place to stay we received a very warm welcome on arrival the rooms are very comfortable very clean and tidy.

The Botanic was well situated for the City center just a few minutes walk

The breakfast was good and served with a smile it was hot and well presented staff were courteous and very helpful

A great weekend was had by our party and we will return for another weekend next year

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room they are marvelous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Delwyn
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Its great to hear you all enjoyed both Botanic Rest and Belfast.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Three of us stayed at Botanic Rest in a triple room. The staff were very helpful and gave us great advice on places to go see such as museums and also what there was to do in the area. The rooms were great, very clean and modern. It is kept in great condition. We also had breakfast included which was very nice. Botanic Rest is very central with shops, bars, restaurants just around the corner. It is in a great location. It also had WiFi which was great! I would like to thank Brie for all her help during our stay there. Botanic Rest worked with various tour companies which collect you from right outside the door and take you to a variety of attractions such as the Giants Causeway and are all reasonable prices. It is only roughly a 10-15 minute walk into central city, with many restaurants/bars/shops along the way. I would definitely recommend Botanic Rest as it was exactly what we wanted for our stay and the staff made our stay even better. Thank you to you all we had a great time in Belfast.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front of the buiding, great light, a little noisy from traffic but it was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDonnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi Ann
We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay at Botanic Rest and it was great to see you all back for a second time. Hopefully you will make it a hat-trick at some point in the future. Thank you for your kind words.
The team at Botanic Rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you want a great B&B in a very cool section of Belfast, Botanic Rest is well worth your while. Great staff - went out of their way to make sure we had comfortable accomodations (had 3 people so the double bed needed to be broken down into 2 singles - in addition to the 3rd single), helped with navigating the city (we were from Chicago so had never been to Belfast before), etc. Plus the area is great with several trendy restaurants (and a Starbucks!) within 1 block. Newly renovated room. Great recommendation from us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Guys, we really enjoyed having you and hope you enjoyed the craic as much as we did.
Hope you had a stress free journey back across the Atlantic and made it home safe and sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Choosing an accommodation in an unfamiliar city is always chancy. We booked at the Botanic Rest and found the service a bit uneven. When I called to book my stay, someone who could not handle the booking answered the phone, and so my initial contact was a bit strange. After a couple of emails, I managed to secure a booking, but I had to request a confirmation and transport information and directions, which I never received.

Our stay was good after all. The newly remodeled room was clean and comfortable. The rooms could use additional seating--only place to sit was on the bed, and there was ample room for a chair or two. It was nice to have an electric kettle to make coffee and tea. The bathroom could use a place to set toiletries and some hooks for hanging clothing or towels up. Deconstruction on an adjacent building was going on during our stay, so it was a bit noisy with the window open, but it should be fine when the work is finished.

The breakfast was ample and could be chosen from a menu. And Tony was attentive and accommodating when overseeing the guests' breakfasts and other matters.

It was nice to be able to walk to the nearby botanical garden, which was lovely. There are a variety of different ethnic eateries locally. And transport is relatively close.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MistralGrenoble2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Owner at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Hi MinstralGrenoble,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found things mostly to your liking. Apologies that you found communications tricky pre booking. We had only opened up fully as a new business and this was during the busiest period Belfast has had all year while we were awaiting the installation of our IT system.
Some of your other points have already been acted upon which was always to be the case.
We welcome your feedback and hope you would return in the future when our full potential has been reached.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing