We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable b&b with Hotel standard”
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #26 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable b&b with Hotel standard”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I had a one night stay as I was going out for a Christmas party night in Belfast. Initially I had booked a hotel near by and then when I had read the reviews for Botanic Rest I decided to give it a go. The service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional, it was so welcoming. I had a double ensuite room it was was very clean, modern and warm. It was as good as standard as many hotels I have stayed in and even better than some! The breakfast was very good with cereals and toast, fresh juice, tea, coffee on offer as well as a very good cooked selection. This was served very quickly in a pleasant dining room. There is also a spacious lounge with extra tea and coffee facilities, large TV and comfortable seating available if you were staying longer. Botanic Rest is situated in a good area if going out for a night or shopping in Belfast. I will definitely return and recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieandgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Annieandgirls
Thank you for trying us and I am glad we did not disappoint. Hope you enjoyed the Chistmas party and hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    98
    64
    38
    37
See reviews for
67
82
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Botanic rest bed & breakfast is located in the student area of Belfast. As such, it is close to Queen's University and you have ample opportunities to eat in the neighbourhood. Given that Belfast is a small city it is easy to go to the city centre on foot, which is about a 15 min walk. The downside of being in the student area, however, is that it can get noisy at night. Overall, I would say that bed & breakfast is located in a prime location.

The bed & breakfast itself mostly resembles a small hotel. You have a lobby, common area, breakfast area and the rooms themselves are plainly decorated. Some rooms are ensuite, while others share a toilet/bathroom. Consistency is not one of the strong suits of this bed & breakfast though. Some rooms have a water boiler, others don't. Some days your bed will be made, and some days you'll get fresh towels. The inconsistency extends to the floor which slopes up and down and to the working order of things like lights in the room/bathroom.

The breakfast is excellent, especially the hot breakfast. It is a shame though that they don't offer some simple lunch and dinner options. The staff is superb, and they often go to great lengths to help you. Furthermore, and a bit of a surprise, internet in this bed & breakfast is some of the best internet I've ever had; it is blazing fast and reception is spotless.

And so we come to the difficult question as to whether you should stay in this bed and breakfast. If you're travelling alone and you're on the budget then the answer is a resounding yes. However, when travelling as a couple or as a family the question becomes more involved. This is because the bigger rooms have prices that are very similar to hotel rooms in the neighbourhood. Often though, the rooms in a hotel will be bigger and will provide better amenities. Furthermore, for some the noise in this bed and breakfast at night may be an issue. I would definitely book this bed and breakfast again, but only when travelling solo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvaruni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi kvaruni
Thank you for the kind review. I think you are the first person to note that we have the fastest Wifi in Belfast which is simple to use.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Booked this B&B for one nights stay in Belfast as we were goin to a concert.The staff were friendly & helpfull and showed us right up to our room which was clean, comfortable, modern & spacious. As we were rushing and in a hurry to get to the concert the owner himself gave us a lift which i thought was an excellent personal touch! Breakfast the next morning was a varied menu not just your usual option of cooked breakfast and was lovely. We were going shopping and the staff offered to keep our luggage for us so we didnt have to trail them around the shops. All in all an excellent all round service, will definatly be back and will be recomending it to all my friends & family.
Thanx Colin & the team :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Guys
Thanks for the review. Was only to Glad to get you to the concert on time. I hope it was enjoyable.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay, great value for money. Would deffo be returning! Extremely helpful! Location is great! Thank you very much and hopefully be returning very soon. Modern and beautiful rooms and lovely communial area. Very clean! Defiantly a recommendation

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emskii1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Guys
It was a pleasure having you all. Pleased that you enjoyed. Our door is always open so do come back soon.
Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I chose Botanic Rest over the other hotels because of its excellent location within the centre of Belfast.

I am a frequent hotel user and tend to stay at Holiday Inn and Travelodge hotels across UK on a weekly basis. I was very reluctant to book a B&B after a bad experience in the past with a B&B in York however i am now glad i stayed at Botanic Rest as it has restored my faith in B&Bs.

On arrival i received a warm reception by the staff at Botanic Rest who were very helpfull, easy to talk too and had vast knowledge about the city and current events that were taking place.

The room i booked was the en-suite room and to my surprise it was modern, clean and quiet, it was not the stereotypical type of b&b room that i had expected, the breakfast was great too.

Overall a great experience in Belfast with the help of the lovely staff at Botanic Rest.

Wish you the best of luck Sergio, Collin and Louise and look forward to staying at the Botanic Rest next time i am in Belfast.

Room Tip: Ensuite room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raphykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Raphykins
We are glad you decided to give us a try over the Hotels and pleased we did not disappoint.
Hope to see you again when next back in Belfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Botanic rest doesn't look much from the outside but the room was modern, only problem it was freezing! Had to get a second duvet off the friendly girl at reception, breakfast was very basic,wifi was excellent, it was only 48 euro for the night so it has its advantages

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Brendan c
Thanks for the review. Sorry I think we got slightly caught out with the extreme cold snapp that hit Belfast. The Heating has been cranked up to resolve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I found botanic rest to be awful, having worked in the hospitality sector myself, I found the staff unprofessional, the floor that uneven I felt queasy when I walked across it, a dirty shower which is probably an understatement as 3 out of 6 lights didn't work.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Beth D,
Sorry but we have reason to believe that this review was left purely in an attempt to be damaging. Please feel free to contact us to discuss. As you say you work in the hospitality Industry yourself you will understand. I will not post the reasons we believe this to be the case but do give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#19 of 44 in Belfast
2,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing