We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent time was had by all.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #20 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“An excellent time was had by all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My self and my two daughters recently stayed at this charming B&B . My daughters had taken me to Belfast for my 50th birthday,(this info was divulged to the staff) later that evening there was a tap on the door and I was presented with a bottle of wine from the owner/staff of the hotel, we were very touched by this kind gesture,and happily knocked it back because it was a decent bottle of wine. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. It is a very cosy and relaxed place , and very good value.
The hotel itself is in an ideal location,it is a short walk into the centre of town,close to the university ,the train station ,botanical gardens etc ( check out the comedy club around the corner,it is well worth a visit.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again in fact I'm sure I will as Belfast is a city worth visiting several times over as is this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the triple room with the en suite bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Luce164,
It's not everyday you make the half century mark so a bottle of wine was nothing really.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the girls can treat you again when you achieve 50 more.
Best wishes from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    90
    60
    38
    32
See reviews for
63
77
47
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in a single with shared bathroom and was more than happy..
Everything was clean and tidy and breakfast was a multi choice of cooked or cereal or toast but a good amount...
Louise was more than helpful with anything i needed to know and nothing is too much trouble for this B&b..
Location is central with a bus stop on yr doorstep with loads of shops..
Cheap, clean and cheerful...
Great value for money..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi nov000,
Louise says hi. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This B&B was excellent! We had a lovely room, which was very clean and comfortable. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect you just need a little walk to the city centre. The breakfast was good, also. The price is amazing for what you get!

Room Tip: take a double room with own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi27890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jessi27890,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We glad you enjoyed your stay and.... well... you know where to come when back in Belfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

£28/ single, excellent value. Louise, owner, manager, and lady who served breakfast really friendly. Couldn't do enough for me. Spotlessly clean,Spacious lounge/ kitchen facilities.Organic muesli and freshly squeezed orange juice , this is not !Breakfast basic, but. It is cheap, fab value for money, and in a great location ,in student area, cheap eateries nearbye. 15 mins walk from bus station, where the airport bus leaves every 15 mins. I felt very safe, and would be happy walking late at night nearbye, as the area is busy. Of note, everyone else staying the night I was here had stayed before. This speaks for itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C7AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Cam thanks for the review. We are please you enjoyed Botanic Rest and the Botanic area. You have noted that everyone else staying had stayed before. We hope some night you too will be a guest staying who has stayed before.
Regards from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros -
Triple room was excellent, spacious enough for all 3 of us and a good price
Clean and modern with all facilities; hairdryer, kettle, TV, soaps, towels etc
Great breakfast - perfect hangover cure!
Friendly and helpful staff

Cons -
Bathroom a little on the small side and smelt damp
Location is noisy (was kept awake until 4am on Saturday) although we did have the window open and the place itself was quiet

All-in-all an excellent choice and everything we wanted, thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jennifer D,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You know what I am going to say re the noise........ "Close the window!" lol.
Thanks a million for the kind words.
Best wishes from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Also the clean and refurbished rooms as well the very helpful reception staff (Andrew) doesn't make up for the poor isolated, small rooms and very poor breakfast. The bed was very uncomfortable and we could hear every word from the corridor and other rooms. The light in the bathroom mirror could not be switched off and the room was bad ventilated. Continental breakfast consists out of cheap toast and marmalade, well ok, you still could order full british if you are very hungry. This is not a typical romantic B&B and is more pricy than a good budget hotel and so not really recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Matthiez,
Sorry to hear you had a couple of issues. Had you have reported the light we could have fixed it. Reference being pricier that the budget hotels I simply have to disagree. We are also cheaper than their room only price with ours including breakfast. I think you may be comparing the price on an extremely busy night in Belfast with the budget hotel prices on a standard night. We were cheaper. We also regularly have people check out of the budget hotels to stay with us as there is no comparison between the two.
We do hope you enjoyed Belfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

booked this last minute as I decided to head to Belfast to see in the new year, was not disappointed clean and spacious :-) the man on reception Dominic was a fantastic host and went out of his way to make sure we were all ok ;-) breakfast again lovely cooked fry and many choices to choose from :-) would defo stay again 5 star

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Carrina f,
Thank you for your review we hope you enjoyed seeing in the new year in Belfast.
Have a great 2014 from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing