We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous value, convenient location and comfortable stay”
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #20 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tremendous value, convenient location and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed midweek at the Botanic Rest because I had come over for a job interview. My criteria for somewhere to stay was somewhere cheap, convenient to the city centre and, hopefully, quiet. I paid £33 for a single room which transpired to be an absolute steel. The hotel is located in the pleasant and vibrant Botanic quarter, which is students-ville and where I lived for a while whilst I was working in Belfast a couple of years back. Botanic Rest is on Cromwell Road, just off Botanic Avenue and about a 15 minute walk to the city centre. The street was surprisingly relatively quiet given the nature of the area, especially so since I had a bedroom at the front of the hotel next to Cromwell Road itself. The hotel is four converted Victorian terrace houses; its a bit old fashioned in the reception and public areas, but it seems that the bedrooms have been modernised with a Euro-Ikea type look. My room was smart enough and a bit funky, if in a budget type of way. It was also very clean with plenty of spare towels and a small but functional en-suite. Although my bedroom was meant to be a single, it actually had three single beds in it which was great for spreading my stuff around. The room had character and was infinitely more interesting and comfortable than the bland and rather sterile Ibis hotel I stayed at the following night. I didn't expect the en-suite bathroom because of the price I paid, and also didn't bargain for the cooked breakfast that was included. The hotel was run by a very friendly and efficient Dutch guy and I couldn't fault the service. Breakfast was fine and certainly good enough at the price. I slept well and there were no noisy, rowdy students waking me up in the night. I wholeheartedly recommend the Botanic Rest if you are looking for somewhere cheap, comfortable and convenient to Belfast city centre. A really excellent stay and I was delighted. I would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: I had Room 45, a single room but it had 3 single beds in it and was extremely spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi EJB1976,
Thank you for your review and for the email which you sent after your departure. We hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    97
    62
    38
    34
See reviews for
65
80
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Not a big fan of Belfast but have to go for personal reasons and was not looking forward to this trip but thanks the Botanic rest and the staff it made it a good trip. The cooks a spurs fan don't let that put you off haha the next time i'm in Belfast i'll be staying there again even tho i'v been offered free place to stay at a friends. see you soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Steve r,
Thank you for the review. I hope if I tell you that not only is the cook a Spurs fan but the owner is too that this will not put you off returning. Andre on the other hand.... best not to mention football to him!! Did he tell you he used to be a player in the Netherlands? lol!
You know where we are if you need to return.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My self and my two daughters recently stayed at this charming B&B . My daughters had taken me to Belfast for my 50th birthday,(this info was divulged to the staff) later that evening there was a tap on the door and I was presented with a bottle of wine from the owner/staff of the hotel, we were very touched by this kind gesture,and happily knocked it back because it was a decent bottle of wine. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. It is a very cosy and relaxed place , and very good value.
The hotel itself is in an ideal location,it is a short walk into the centre of town,close to the university ,the train station ,botanical gardens etc ( check out the comedy club around the corner,it is well worth a visit.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again in fact I'm sure I will as Belfast is a city worth visiting several times over as is this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the triple room with the en suite bathroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luce164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Luce164,
It's not everyday you make the half century mark so a bottle of wine was nothing really.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope the girls can treat you again when you achieve 50 more.
Best wishes from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in a single with shared bathroom and was more than happy..
Everything was clean and tidy and breakfast was a multi choice of cooked or cereal or toast but a good amount...
Louise was more than helpful with anything i needed to know and nothing is too much trouble for this B&b..
Location is central with a bus stop on yr doorstep with loads of shops..
Cheap, clean and cheerful...
Great value for money..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nov000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi nov000,
Louise says hi. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back.
Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This B&B was excellent! We had a lovely room, which was very clean and comfortable. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The location is perfect you just need a little walk to the city centre. The breakfast was good, also. The price is amazing for what you get!

Room Tip: take a double room with own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi27890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jessi27890,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We glad you enjoyed your stay and.... well... you know where to come when back in Belfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

£28/ single, excellent value. Louise, owner, manager, and lady who served breakfast really friendly. Couldn't do enough for me. Spotlessly clean,Spacious lounge/ kitchen facilities.Organic muesli and freshly squeezed orange juice , this is not !Breakfast basic, but. It is cheap, fab value for money, and in a great location ,in student area, cheap eateries nearbye. 15 mins walk from bus station, where the airport bus leaves every 15 mins. I felt very safe, and would be happy walking late at night nearbye, as the area is busy. Of note, everyone else staying the night I was here had stayed before. This speaks for itself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C7AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Cam thanks for the review. We are please you enjoyed Botanic Rest and the Botanic area. You have noted that everyone else staying had stayed before. We hope some night you too will be a guest staying who has stayed before.
Regards from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pros -
Triple room was excellent, spacious enough for all 3 of us and a good price
Clean and modern with all facilities; hairdryer, kettle, TV, soaps, towels etc
Great breakfast - perfect hangover cure!
Friendly and helpful staff

Cons -
Bathroom a little on the small side and smelt damp
Location is noisy (was kept awake until 4am on Saturday) although we did have the window open and the place itself was quiet

All-in-all an excellent choice and everything we wanted, thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Jennifer D,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. You know what I am going to say re the noise........ "Close the window!" lol.
Thanks a million for the kind words.
Best wishes from all at BR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing