We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #26 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

the prices in this BB surely can not be beaten in central belfast!

the room we had booked was an en suite which not all the rooms are so note what you are booking. we where located on the top floor which was great then the traffic noise from the stair way was at a min (there is a lot of rooms in the BB our room was 36)

there is a communal room with a small venting machine, this room is closed at night so stops people stopping down there after a night out.

bathrooms are very small, but for the money that you are paying if you are expecting a suite style room you will be disappointed,

breakfast is horribly early though opens from 730 -930am not so nice when on a leisure stay, there is a small table with cereal and tea/coffee jugs and another with a toaster and bread, this is self service and a lady comes around to see if you would like OJ/apple juice can even provide a jug of water :D and takes order for fried breakfast.

All very simple and basic but value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo-monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi jo-monty,
We are please you found Botanic Rest to be good value for money. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a safe onward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    98
    64
    38
    37
See reviews for
67
82
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have stayed here on three occasions while on business in Belfast and will certainly be returning! It is the cheapest stay in Belfast and has very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast is very good and the rooms are very clean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank small_fish_big_ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Small Fish
Thank you for your comments. It is pleasing to note that having stayed several times you find Botanic Rest to be 'The Best in Belfast.'
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Botanic Rest was a very pleasant surprise. Considering what we spent for two nights, I did not have very high expectations - the Botanic Rest exceeded them by far! It is very clean (I literally inspected every corner of the room - it is one of the cleanest B&B I have ever been to) and the rooms are very modern and spacious!
One of the best features of the B&B is its staff. Colin and Louise very extremely helpful in recommending both things to do and places to go to. I even lost my comb while I was staying there and they sent it to me on the day of my departure, together with a very friendly note. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer but I will certainly go back!
Also, if you have doubts about the location (as it looks a bit far from the centre on the map), do not worry about that! That is the area you want to be in during your stay in Belfast, as there are loads of pubs/restaurants!
I can only recommend this place!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Simonka,
It was our pleasure having you both stay with us. Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed Botanic Rest, Belfast and our recommendations. We can not promise anything but should you return we will try to turn off the rain!!
Glad you made it home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Feb 2014. An excellent welcome, good facilities, bathroom could have been cleaner. Grateful for the free wifi. Breakfast was ok, no veggie option- only take off the meat. A midnight argument dealt with well by staff. Very good location from which to base yourself and enjoy Belfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Fiona F
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide some feedback. We are pleased you felt the location was excellent. Apologies if you felt there was no veggie option for breakfast - See more detail on this on the response below to your Travelling companion. We hope you enjoyed Northern Ireland as a whole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Andre on reception was friendly and the location is good for visitors, but other than that this B and B was charmless. The room was tucked away in a corner of the house, it was tiny, with hardly any space for two of us to put our bags or move around. Similarly, the bathroom didn't have space to even rest a toothbrush, no shelves or clothes hooks, so moving around with stuff was a bit awkward.
The breakfast ingredients are poor quality - the bread is the most basic, thin bread, the juice glasses filled only part-way etc. Vegetarians, don't expect a warm welcome. I asked if they would replace the meat sausages/bacon etc in the full Irish Breakfast with veggie sausages (which are cheap to buy and easy to keep in the freezer) and the chef refused, leaving me the option of a spoon of baked beans, a slice of tomato and 8 pieces of mushroom on a plate!
The bed I slept on was bumpy and sagged in the middle. I looked closer and the mattress and discovered it was a cheap foam block! They really haven't invested in decent stuff here.
you can hear everything in the nearby rooms, unfortunately for us a couple in the room opposite were incredibly noisy and woke us up a number of times one of the nights we were there. Between this noise and the uncomfortable bed, our sleep was terrible.
I couldn't recommend this place less! Sorry Andre..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshine23cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi sunshine23cambridge,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We are pleased that you found the location to be good and Andre to be friendly. Reference your room with the lack of hooks I shall personally look into this. As for the mattress being a cheap foam block I can categorically assure you without going into the technicalities of mattress construction that this mattress is not a cheap foam block, quite the opposite this mattress costs almost twice that of a mattress that can actually sag in the middle. The construction of this mattress does not enable sagging, it is simply impossible.
I note your issues with the breakfast. If I could begin here by pointing out that your booking included a continental breakfast. You were however provided with a 'Cooked Breakfast' as well as a continental breakfast at no extra charge.
As you rightly point out "veggie sausages are cheap to buy and easy to keep in the freezer." I would add to this that so is vegetable roll, and a whole variety of other vegetable pastries.
However if we are unaware of a special dietary requirement the freezer is exactly where these food items reside. It is not a case of the chef refusing to accommodate your free and unbooked, cooked breakfast request so much as being unable to meet it as he cannot defrost food at will and rightly refuses to do so with a microwave. We regularly cater for vegetarians, vegans, celiacs and other special dietary requirements.
It is disappointing that your stay did not meet your expectations but your experience seems to be unreflective of the majority of our guests.
We do however hope that you enjoyed Belfast and had a safe and uneventful journey back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had a trip planned to Belfast (mainly to see the Giant's Causeway via tour bus). I needed a place to stay that would accommodate 3 ladies (2 friends and I). I emailed with them and decided to book one of their rooms. There was an issue upon arrival. They hadn't received my confirmation that I wanted the room! As it was a Saturday night during a popular festival, they were fully booked. With this obstacle, the owner helped us book a room in a nearby hotel and also had a room for us the next night. She gave us free breakfast for Sunday (even tho we hadn't spent the night there) and let us drop our luggage off for the day while we were out seeing the Giant's Causeway.

Breakfast was yummy! Fresh poached eggs along with a few other hot options and the usual cereals, yogurts, toast, juice, coffee, tea, etc.

Our room was a 4 (5?) bed family room with an en suite bathroom and even a little changing room with a small wardrobe. All very comfortable and perfectly clean. It's been recently remodeled, as well, so I'm sure that helped a lot! There are many rooms here, so as another reviewer has said, it's more of a boutique hotel than a traditional B&B. Still a great experience. The owner was a lovely lady and incredibly helpful and understanding about the booking mix up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi MC M,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave a review. It our pleasure both meeting and accommodating you all. We could not have anyone going to the Causeway in the Winter without having a good cooked breakfast to set them on their way for the day.
We hope you all back home with a few good tales to tell about Belfast and Northern Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff , bright clean and comfortable room, which has all basic amenities. Very comfortable bed and linen, great full Irish breakfast - and all at such a good price means we are completely satisfied customers!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Catherine M,
Just to quickly say thank you for your kind words, for taking the time to leave a review and that our door is always open should you wish to return in the future.
Best wishes from all the staff at Botanic Rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 44 in Belfast
1,280 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing