We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #20 of 48 Belfast B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Located in between the city hall and the queen's university in a nice and quite area. Ideal for a couple. The staff was really friendly and you feel cared for. The room was a bit tiny yet very clean. You have free coffee/tea.. The bathroom is large enough with a big shower. The beds are very comfortable

We would definitely recommand this B&B because it's worth the price.

If we were to go back to Belfast, that's the place we would pick.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaChaillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    97
    62
    38
    33
See reviews for
65
80
49
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My first visit to Belfast - picked up this B&B because of its reasonable price and location. The location was indeed excellent - convenient to visit major sites, nice places to eat and drink nearby, feeling safe & home, etc. The room I got was rather tiny but functional. The breakfast was simple (no orange juice and yoghurt) but offered a usual choice of hot foods one expected in any B&Bs in the UK and Ireland. The staff was very friendly. Wifi was working good. I don't know other B&Bs and hotels in Belfast but would consider Botanic Rest again for my future visit to Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is an excellent hotel for what you pay. A step above the hostel, the shower and toiler were still shared, but everyone was kind and polite. Very close to the university and lots of amenities around. You can walk easily from City Hall. The staff was very kind and helpful. Beds and facilities were more than sufficient, and breakfast was very good. Suited me very well for my two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysonabsalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely place to stay.
Staff are so friendly, rooms were lovely & clean.
Breakfast was nice.
So close to everything you need!
Great price for such a good location.
Would love to stay again and definitely will be!
Felt like home :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in the late afternoon after a long drive looking for a night to stay. Luckey for us they had a room available, the staff is really friendly and gave us some good tips and history lessons on Belfast. The rooms are spacious and clean with some nice historical features. We really appreciated the fact that we received breakfast after arriving late, they even reopened the closed kitchen. The next time in Belfast we will definitely be staying in the Botanic Rest again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I paid £99 to sleep in a single bed with a foam pillow on a hard mattress underneath a cheap duvet. I would get better value in central London. The people were perfectly friendly but the whole place had a shoddy and run down feel with stale cooking smelling throughout the building. The bathroom was the width of the toilet, all over the large house handles were tacked back onto the doors and cracks left unfilled. I came away thinking this was an exercise in cynicism. Not just the bankers who know how to rip people off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Hi Emer,
As has been explained time and time again. You booked a double room for one person, last minute on an extremely busy night in Belfast when prices were much higher than usual. Demanding at check in that we charge you for a single room price only. You booked this as you couldn't find anything cheaper and when reception staff explained that you still had to pay the price of a double room as that was what you booked, you were rude. You again attempted at check out to have the price reduced to a single room price by stating that you would leave a poor review on Trip Advisor if the staff did not comply and a good review if they did.
This says it all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Belfast hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed here for 1 night last Friday night and it was ideal. The room cost £74 and was a fine big double bed. It is in prime location with about a 10minute walk to the crown and £7 taxi to the Odyssey Arena. The only downside was that the toilet and shower room are shared.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Crescent Townhouse
#26 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Property: Botanic Rest
Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing