We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Botanic Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Botanic Rest
Ranked #25 of 51 Belfast B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this is a large B&B that is really 3 terrace houses together. The room has just been done up, freshly painted etc. The ensuite, while tiny is clean and has everything you need for a couple of nights.
The room is bright and airy, although can be very noisy if there are revellers about.
Our room was 53 and overlooked the front street. The B&B is central and has lots of restaurants and bars around it. Andre the manager is very helpful and will book tours and make arrangements for you without a drama. We thoroughly recommend this place but perhaps a room off the street.

Room Tip: stay away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The room is small, but it's very comfortable. The breakfast is perfect, you can order omelettes and other things. There are a kitchen where you can cook your food. We would like stay here for more days!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We got a nice room however when arriving there were girls running from the bathroom to their rooms with only towels on. Very similar to a hostel. They put me and my 84yr old grandmother up 3 flights of stairs even though we asked for the room with the least amount of stairs. Very reluctant to use their card machine for taking payment and said if it was on credit they would charge another £2! We paid on debit. The ensuite bathroom is ridiculously small. Your bottom doesn't even fit on the toilet it is so tiny - I swear they have put in ones made for a children's nursery.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Stacy C
I have checked your booking. You booked through booking.com and nowhere did you make any special request for accommodating either an elderly person or an extra-large bottom.
We are happy to take payment via cash, credit card, or debit card. Credit cards are expensive for us to process and thus should you wish to pay with one there is a £2.00 fee which in many instances does not even cover our cost. If you do not wish to pay this do not use a credit card – It’s that simple. We keep our prices low and do not pass on credit card charges to “All guests.” Why should others pay this cost so you don’t have to? It is pleasing to note you thought the room was nice.
In future it may be an idea when traveling with an 84year old to do some homework before-hand instead of leaving it to chance and then blaming someone else.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I'm sure if you paid the lower rate for a nights stay it wouldn't be so bad, but I paid £100 cash (there is a definite reluctance to let you use a card ), So not worth it..!
The staff were friendly enough but the whole place is shabby and worn, almost like it's been decorated by an unskilled amateur at DIY.
The room was extremely small and the bathroom was almost comical in size.
The view from the window took me by surprise, I could almost reach the disgraceful derelict building opposite.
Oh well you live and learn, I've been banned from choosing the hotel again, the girlfriend is in charge now..!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank O42OXdavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi David,
You seem to have taken issue with the price you paid. You booked at the last minute and this was the cheapest room you could find as due to demand prices had gone up all across Belfast. The room you booked was a small room which was available to be booked as a single or a small double. There is no point booking a small double and complaining that it is small. You paid cash as you did not want to pay a £2.00 charge for using a credit card. As you did not want to pay it I am sure you can understand that we also did not want to pay it and do not want to pay it thousands of times over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

When we arrived I was a little skeptical of the neighborhood but it is just like any other city neighborhood. Our room was a nicely redone double with quite a bit of space and a nice sized en suite. The view wasn't amazing but, again, it's a city neighborhood. The window was a high quality new window and opened far enough to let in a lot of air. The room was clean and included a hair dryer, teapot, television, and soap and shampoo. I read some of the other reviews and perhaps they stayed in older rooms but our room was quite lovely. The breakfast was filling and included hot and cold options. The manager was lovely and gave a lot of information about getting to our destinations as well as some local perspective. All in all, we were very pleased with our our stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Kathryn C
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Belfast and at Botanic Rest. We hope you had a safe and enjoyable journey back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A beautiful B and B in an idyllic location whilst travelling around Belfast, you could not ask for more from this welcoming and friendly host, from wanting an extra pillow to tips and trips advise around the city nothing was to much trouble, the breakfast should also not be missed! An over all great service kept at surprisingly low prices this B and B will not disappoint and a return visit for me is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaCaitlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Jessica,
It was lovely meeting you and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Belfast too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We traveled as a group and chose the hotel for the location and price. We would go back for the same reasons but also the excellent service and friendliness from Andre, and the tasty breakfast!! We were a group of girls and felt comfortable and safe the whole time. We had a car and street parking was definitely manageable.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgreenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanicRest, Manager at Botanic Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hi Kgreenup
It was a pleasure having you all stay. We are pleased you enjoyed yourselfves enough to return and hope to see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#32 of 45 in Belfast
1,429 reviews
All Seasons Guest House
#17 of 51 in Belfast
285 reviews
The Gregory
#2 of 51 in Belfast
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Somerton House
#10 of 51 in Belfast
180 reviews
Windermere Guest House
#13 of 51 in Belfast
139 reviews
Golden Mile
City Hub Apartments
City Hub Apartments
#19 of 41 in Belfast
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botanic Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botanic Rest

Address: 7 Cromwell Road, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Queen's Quarter
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Belfast
Price Range: £34 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botanic Rest 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Botanic Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing