We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat”
Review of Hotel Etap Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Etap Belfast
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Neat”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights while on the conference. Initial problem with booking, I originally booked through booking.com and this is where the problem was. After sorting it out, checked in. Rooms are small and minimalistic, basic but practical and clean. Strange set up, toilet doors can't be locked(!) and shower is almost in the room.

Still, I recommend it especially considering the price.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Billymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    479
    280
    107
    112
See reviews for
174
450
122
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd time at this hotel, but it was the longest we had ever spent in it (2 nights)!
I only realised on this visit that whilst appreciating the hotel is a 'budget chain' there are still some basics which should be applied!
1. Mattress protectors, there really is no excuse for not having these on the beds, it should come down to hygiene!
2. The mattresses / beds were awful, whilst I have an issue with certain beds, even my partner had issues with the beds, I don't think we had a decent nights sleep between us. It was like sleeping on concrete.
3. Under the beds we discovered were also full of dust, they obviously hadn't cleaned under it in ages.
4. I thought the rooms couldn't get any smaller until the room we were in this time was nothing more than a bedsit.
5. We had the breakfast on 1 morning and whilst it was only £4+ I felt the selection was very poor value.
Unfortunately I do not think I would return to this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevorlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here 8th of March for a comedy show, I'm familiar with Belfast so parked across the road from the hotel. The girl on reception was lovely, checked us in quick and gave us all the info we needed. Room was fine for over night stay. Trying to get ready for dinner encountered a problem with the only sockets at the TV and the nearest mirror a meter and a half away, Safe to say my hair wasn't half straightened as I couldn't see what I was doing. phoned a taxi from the free phone downstairs to go for dinner. Came back about half 11 as we were exhausted and came straight in and went to bed. Beds were fine and pillows were a bit small, could have done with 2 more pillows. Then came half 2, I'm a light sleeper and the revelers woke me but I fell back to sleep until 4.15......Well, I don't know what way these girls where raised But I heard screaming coming down the corridor and the room door beside ours being beat so hard I thought she was going to put it through, the door opened and screaming turned into a fight. Girls beating each other in the corridor, I got up to find a phone to call reception, No phone, too scared to go out my door in-case they started on me. screaming went on, I never slept the rest of the night. we packed up and left the next morning, tired and groggy. I was very disappointed that security never picked up on this but maybe the people in the other rooms where too scared to leave too. On check out we weren't asked was our stay OK, If she didn't ask/care I wasn't going to tell her. Key cards taken we walked out and went home. I did get this hotel cheap as chips but would have paid more for a better nights sleep and more room essentials like a telephone in case of emergencies.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareScully1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here 8/3/14. Smallest double room ive ever been in. Didn't like having the shower in the middle of the room and toilet door was not adequate. Room only had 2 sockets which were not attached to wall properly.. (room 409) .
the level of cleanliness overall was excellent and couldn't fault the staff in reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location and cleanliness of the hotel.
I am sorry that you were disapointed with the room design but the design of the rooms is standard throughout all Ibis Budgets and ETAP Hotels.
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Travelodge Belfast Central
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etap Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etap Belfast

Property: Hotel Etap Belfast
Address: 35 Dublin Road, Belfast BT2 7HD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Etap Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jakub MAKUCHOWSKI, the manager of the Hotel ETAP Belfast would like to welcome you. This ibis budget is located in the heart of Belfast city centre near the Central Train Station, offering essential comfort with modest prices. There are 146 Cocoon rooms for up to three people which all feature en-suite bathrooms and a flat-screen TV. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the reception is open 24/7. The hotel offers a good value buffet breakfast and there is also a snack vending machine available. Pets are allowed within the hotel (one pet per room, chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Etap Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing