We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but VERY VERY basic”
Review of Hotel Etap Belfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Etap Belfast
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean but VERY VERY basic”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rooms are clean and bright. However, extremely basic. This is fine if things such as a kettle, hair dryer etc not being in the room doesn't bother you.Although when you pay in excess of £60.00 for a budget hotel, you do expect a little more. There is only 1 double plug socket and this is located in the corner of the room, far far away from the mirror. Therefore, ladies if you want to dry/straighten your hair in front of the mirror, bring your own extension lead. Overall the room is clean but the price they are asking for rooms especially at the weekend is ridiculous and somewhat extortionate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Damien87NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay.
It is standard for the Ibis Budget brand to offer tea and coffee in the reception area 24 hours and to provide 2 pillows per 2 people. However should you require any extra linen i.e towels/pillows they are available to collect from reception 24 hours.
For future reference, if you know your arrival date in advance, you can make the most of the special rates on our website, exclusive to online bookings only, which start from as little as £36 per room, per night.
Patrice Renault, General Manager, ETAP Hotel Belfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    485
    287
    110
    115
See reviews for
179
458
123
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When booking i was a bit worried because people said it was way too small, but i was very surprised. yes everything is compact but for two people there was loads of room. the staff were very helpful. everything is so close by..literally walking distance. would recommend the black cab tours. overall loved my stay and would defo stay again :)

Room Tip: ask for the fifth or sixth floor we stayed in 521
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle19851964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here Easter weekend. While the front desk staff were not the friendliest, they were helpful enough.

The room was clean, and the shower was good. A little small, but ah sure that doesn't matter. Great blinds blocking out the light pretty well. Very little noise, except in the morning when we were leaving - the guy cleaning rooms nearby had music absolutely blaring with the door open. Pretty inconsiderate for guests.

Only thing I'd change really would be the pillows, giving more of them as they're pretty flat and hard. And the front desk staff could do with being nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mooalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I can assure you that the problem you raised in regards to the Housekeeping staff has been addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

this is a really a good budget hotel in most ways:-
* a good location near the Europa Bus Station - take the airport bus to this station and a short walk to the hotel and also near train station.
* good location with eateries - Subway and Chinese Food, and a 24-hour TESCO Express - for cheaper Coffee than in-house(sorry Etap) and breakfast,
* near City so good for last minute shopping before returning home
* the room is small and compact with everything in so need a bit of organisation for a family of three,
* it is clean, bright and quiet. We like it for it is non-smoking. Etap surprised us by giving us change of towels every day of our stay there, which we didn't expect as we even brought our own towels.
* the check-in and out was amazingly so simple and short - fuss free, I like it :)
* ease of going in and out - as we are visiting our daughter who is studying in Queen's, and we gave her a card key so that she can come to our room and joined us for some day activities. Good for parents who are visiting students in Queen's.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junli2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with our clean room, with good sized double and the bunk bed on top. Good selection of channels on the TV and an amazing shower. For the price (£53 between 3 of us) you certainly can't complain! The girl on the front desk was really helpful to my friend, printing out his boarding pass for him, following a stressful day!

Even though the shower was wonderful, it didn't allow you much privacy. Given that one of our travelling party was a male colleague, it was a little bizarre for all as you could see a lot from the shower. He had to face the other way, and I ended up drying myself and dressing IN the shower.
If you have a dodgy tummy, go to another toilet as there is very little privacy.
However, for a one night budget stay in Belfast it was super, and in a brilliant location

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cockneyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in March
Very good location
Lovely staff so helpful at all times
Rooms amazingly tiny yet totally functional for what you pay
Would not like to share as toilet and shower practically in bedroom
Overall good value for money £4o for night

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in the ETAP for 2 nights while on a short break to Belfast and I was pleasently suprised with the accomodation. Good central location (5min walk to City Hall) and about 25min walk to Titanic quarter. There was a miss-communication from booking.com to the hotel, but luckily I rang to check the booking, this was not the fault of ETAP but it was sorted before I arrived. We had a disabled room for two nights overlooking Dublin road and was very happy with the bed, room size, bathroom. Very nice staff on the front desk too.

You get for what you pay for, but i feel I got a bit more than I paid for here!

Room Tip: I was in 404 and it had alot of noise from the pub next door (It was a Fri and Sat night), but not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrice R, General Manager at Hotel Etap Belfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Patrice Renault, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#18 of 44 in Belfast
2,835 reviews
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ibis Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Etap Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Etap Belfast

Property: Hotel Etap Belfast
Address: 35 Dublin Road, Belfast BT2 7HD, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Etap Belfast 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jakub MAKUCHOWSKI, the manager of the Hotel ETAP Belfast would like to welcome you. This ibis budget is located in the heart of Belfast city centre near the Central Train Station, offering essential comfort with modest prices. There are 146 Cocoon rooms for up to three people which all feature en-suite bathrooms and a flat-screen TV. All rooms are 100% non-smoking. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and the reception is open 24/7. The hotel offers a good value buffet breakfast and there is also a snack vending machine available. Pets are allowed within the hotel (one pet per room, chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Etap Belfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing