We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The other side to Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hidden Belfast

Hidden Belfast
Ranked #61 of 108 Tours in Belfast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one hour walking tour in Belfast City Centre uncovering the hidden gems both historic and recent in the city. The best thing about Belfast is the people and we cover the full range, ” Benevolence, Blackguards and Balloon Heads!” Informative, eye opening, engaging and good fun, we finish the tour with free coffee or tea. The perfect introduction to the city!
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The other side to Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was a tremendous tour, showing another side to Belfast. We covered areas I would not have known about otherwise, including the Entries and bit more in-depth history of Belfast prior to the 1900s. I'd say this was also one for the music lovers -- among the alternative sites we saw were the site of the Harp Bar, the pub where Snow Patrol performed their first gig, an astonishing mural of Van Morrison and other Northern Irish greats hidden down one of the Entries, the recording studio where The Undertones recorded Teenage Kicks, and of course, Good Vibrations record store itself. All this in one of the most entertaining hours of my life. Anyone with an interest in Belfast outside the usual Titanic and Troubles bus routes should do this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank StK_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“The way to see Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I took two different tours on each of the two days I was in Belfast. The first was run by a big bus company, and they whizzed you through Belfast at lightning-speed, cracking jokes, and breeze, and alternating between the two t's of the tourism industry: the titanic and the troubles. While the tour took us through many different sights, the pace was very fast, and we were able to look quickly at many different sights without ever really seeing them. That kind of exposure to the city, I feel, is only really good if you want to tick off sights without learning much.

The Hidden Belfast tour takes a different approach. It is on foot so they are not able to rocket you from the shipyards to the murals. Instead, you are taken through the city center, and taught about the foundation of Belfast, and its rich history, a history much larger than those gaudier things that Belfast is associated with. I don't normally write reviews, but I thought it was important to voice my support of what Hidden Belfast is does, how they treat the city with dignity, and make you associate new things with the city. The tour from the day before really just illustrated and confirmed pre-existing associations, which has its limits and makes you feel like you are still looking at the city from the outside, even while you are in it. Tour Guide Nathan was very informative and agreeable. The tour is also cheap and ends with free coffee.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Super Tour Fow Low Cost!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Found this by accident and it was GREAT! Although we have been to Belfast many ties, this tour took us to the inner part of Belfast and it's rich history that you would never find any other way. A special hour to see the underside of the city and how it came to be. A must do in Belfast!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great tour of Belfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

This tour doesn't just show you the "popular sites," it gives you a well-rounded view, from as big as City Hall to the invisible back alleys and locals cafes. Tour guide Nathan was passionate about his city. He gave a lot of information, wasn't afraid to give his own thoughts, and even went over time to show us more. Definitely worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very informative, personal and great value money wise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We were a small group of 6, wich allowed us to ask mamy questions. The guid introduced us to Belfast's main sights in the city centre but also showed us some hidden gems we would not have discovered otherwise. I can truly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank picatchouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden Belfast also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Hidden Belfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing