We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced, over-rated and microwave over-worked.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slim's Kitchen

Slim's Kitchen
Ranked #281 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Cuisines: British, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Over-priced, over-rated and microwave over-worked.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Thought I'd try Slim's Healthy Kitchen at their Chichester Street branch (Healthy Kitchen Express). I ordered a felafel salad. The ordinary salad is around £3. Add a few meagre pieces of felafel, and it costs nearly £6. Strange.

What was it like? The salad items were exactly as you'd find anywhere; not bad but not amazing. The real let down was the felafel. Now, I'll admit; I've had felafel in the Middle East, so perhaps my standards are unrealistic for Belfast. However, the felafel at Slim's is really, really poor. It's much worse than the felafel I've had in pre-packaged salads at Tesco. It's worse than frozen felafel. Much worse. It's awful. Mine was also microwave burnt. Not great for somewhere that markets itself as being 'fresh' and 'healthy'.

Positive points? The decor is bright and modern. The staff were nice and helpful. The juice I had tasted fresh and wasn't overly expensive at £3.50. The food was just very disappointing, and I don't think I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Raydar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    98
    70
    51
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
390 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Not much Slim or Healthy but tasted good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Funny when you go to a place with a "healthy label" you have an expectation of lots of yummy salads etc . Not so I found out, so maybe they could work on that , but did I have to say have a lovely chicken dish .
My advice go enjoy but don't think it's all healthy as you may be disappointed

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty & Healthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived without a booking after a long day visiting the Antrim Coast. We had to wait 15 mins for a table which was no hardship to us. The restaurant was buzzing and we were made to feel very welcome. The service, food and drinks were very good and would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great service by waiters, although manager or owner walked about a lot and didn't participate much on the service side! Chicken wings were amazing for starter, although main meal of chicken was very plain! Got Strawberry lemonade sorbet for dessert but was brown and more tasting like coke! Would go back for the chicken wings and sweet potato fries

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Two terrible experiences”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

My first experience of Slims was disappointing tasteless food in freezing surroundings,so bad I vowed I wouldn't return!! A few weeks later my niece suggested we eat in Slims and to keep the peace I said I would give it another try. Well I can only say I will NEVER be back, we had more tasteless food served in even colder surroundings!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnygardendoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slim's Kitchen also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Dundonald, County Down
 

Been to Slim's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing