We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super pizzas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #121 of 1,040 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Super pizzas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nice pizzas, which can vary to your needs. Have ate here many times and would always recommend it due to its handiness. Staff very friendly also.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    30
    12
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best takeaway pizza in Belfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

In my youth tjis place was a regular haunt at the end of a night on ghe town. Now those days are gone and the pipe and slippers are the norm. But for dinner on the hoof or a late night snack this place is super. The pizzas taste amazing and staff are great. It only does takeaway. We often get one and eat in the car watching the world go by. At certain times there are a few drunkards staggering about but hey it's Belfast and makes for excellent dining entertainment. Top nosh. Worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always a good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Never had a bad one here. It's been open as long as I can remember. Great pizzas, especially after several pints in the Crown :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Yum! Perfect food with entertainment for free!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Yum!
Sometimes - especially at the end of a long week, neither my significant other nor I have the puff or inclination to stand in the kitchen to make a meal. I'm sure loads of you have also experienced this lack of enthusiasm feeling?

Well, fortunately for us the city centre isn't too far away - so when we combine a general "scoot about" town just to wind down, be out of the house, and be k that we are t missing anything .... We often end up at Little Italy!
You know the kind of nights I mean? Those evenings when you have got home from work, changed out of your day clothes & slipped into something more comfortable?

Okay, so dfinitely not the best look, but the week has just been so hectic that you've almost lost the will to live...... Except it's the weekend??
"Little Italy" is perfect for getting something quick, something we both enjoy, and something tasty to satisfy the hunger pangs. It's not just the pizza I enjoy but the fact that I can participate in some people watching adds to the 'atmosphere' of the location!

The pizza is not 'humungous'; Im glad to say the medium is just about the right size for me. We both have medium sized pizza, and whilst the food is cooking my dear husband will often dander back to the car to leave the drinks - so I get to sup whilst I wait. Fibber Magee's is so busy folks are standing around outside, tourists walk thorough the square en route to hotel or to town, but the most entertaining are the taxi drivers.
Parked on the left side of the road looking towards the Europa, I keep myself occupied with the antics! If the Taxi rank / spaces are filled the queue spews over to the right side of the road. It's so funny when another Little Italy customer parks there ...... Quite often the vehicle can be surrounded by Taxi cabs within seconds.... Sometimes it takes longer, but 9/10 the taxi's are definitely in control! Several drivers take off to drive around the block, choosing to park on the left, further back towards the old Belfast Tech Building; others who may be sitting in the passenger seat are filled with dread - it's almost tangible..... So often I feel their fear! You can see the sheer relief on faces as the driver gets in - and the speed at which the vehicle moves out of the space and takes off is minimal. So it goes - short skirts, high heals, spiky hair , dreadlocks; male, female and undecided all stroll by, cycle, or stumble - many without a care in the world!?
Then both the pizza's and my hubby return, and the aroma fills the car to remind me of my hunger. My knees are warmed through the box, and napkins at the ready.
But wait, not too quick now - you know what happens when you don't give a pizza time to cool even just a little bit?
Eventually I let myself begin - yum! That cheesy smell of my marguerite (never anything else), my teeth bite through the thin base and the spicy tomato sauce hits my tongue 1st...... Hmm, Italy is such a beautiful place! Close my eyes and I think I'm there? Yess..... The dough is good, slightly salted and just the way I like it. A second bite? Great - now I know I left the food for just the right amount of time... I haven't burnt that delicate pie e of skin just behind my 2 front teeth again, that's great.
We both eat in amicable silence, then, as we finish we begin to chat about what we see.
Another great meal in Brunswick Street - definitely one of my favourite pizza stops! Food is yum, small enough portion to be
able to finish without that awfully full & groggy feeling; yet big enough to be comfortably full. Service with a smile by a handsome hunk ( not that I would be biased in any way), excellent value for money (coz I never pay), and all the excitement of the passers by - much better than the cinema because the view and atmosphere changes every visit!!
Well worth the visit!
By the way........ the food is always excellent, service good; staff very pleasant, hygienicaIly clean and value for money. Can't beat a Little Italy pizza take away from Brunswick Street!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing