We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, food disappointing”
Review of Rajput

Rajput
Ranked #157 of 1,051 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice decor, food disappointing”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The restaurant design and décor is really nice. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant was certainly very busy the Saturday night we visited. Unfortunately regardless of ordering different dishes, they all seemed to taste the same and I couldn't say the food was really tasty. With having much better indian food available in the restaurant opposite the Rajput, I would go there first and foremost.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    30
    16
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant I've ever been to”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The good here is just amazing and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. As it is a BYO it works out extremely cheap for what you are getting both from a quality and a quantity perspective.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yipsandyeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fresh food, friendly staff, recommended”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Rajput serves some of the freshest Indian food I've tasted outside of India. The saag aloo (spinach and potato) was particularly good. The restaurant is unlicensed - you can bring your own beer or wine for a small corkage charge. We asked for Lassi. It's not on the menu (Belfast diners prefer beer with their curries) but the owner said with a day's warning he could have it made specially for us. He also said he could also provide fish curries if ordered a day in advance. Excellent customer service, as well as terrific food. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank quaestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian's we've been to!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Some of the best Indian food we've had! Excellent, friendly service. Great for Gluten free, virtually every option on the menu we could choose from which is very rare! Owner very knowledgable. Take away available as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This restaurant has two sittings, one at 6.45pm and the other at 8.45 pm - this means that you are always sure to get your table on time at the second sitting. Unfortunately if you are on the first sitting it means you have to leave at 8.45! The staff were very welcoming and we got free poppadoms and three dips to choose from - the dips were very tasty. The only disadvantage was that we didn't get our meal till 10.00 pm which was very late - it was as well we had had the poppadoms! I ordered the chicken saag which was lovely. My friends also enjoyed their meal.
As I have already said the service was quite slow - even though there were plenty of waiting staff.
I would definitely go there again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rajput also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Rajput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing