We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds nicer than it is”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
1 review
“Sounds nicer than it is”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed in the hotel after hearing mixed reviews. For what we paid for it didn't live up to standards. We found the rooms did not live up to what you would expect, the shower handle fell off, the windows and carpets were dirty, when u paid for sumthing you expect to get it especially small things like rooms being cleaner.don't get me wrong staff are nice and it's a good loction for the city but I can't help but think they prices need to be more realistic for there standard.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinemonday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    456
    240
    110
    62
See reviews for
101
696
48
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

What a great hotel. The room was fab, so modern and new. the Bar had a really nice relaxed vibe to it. The reception and entire hotel was trendy boutique style hotel. the food was good and the location was excellant. will definately be heading back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Was visiting Belfast for the weekend and wanted a slightly nicer hotel than the Days Inn or Travelodge. Had previously stayed at Ten Square but that was fully booked so I thought I would try the Malmaison having been to the bar once or twice.

What an excellent decision that was. The hotel was superb. The room was very comforable, if perhaps a little warm, the service friendly and unintrusive, the breakfast menu was varied and tasty and to top it all off, I had booked under the Sham-Rocking package (available online) which included free cocktails on arrival and tickets to go on a musical tour of Belfast. The cocktails were excellent (so we had more than just the free one) and the musical tour was really interesting and well worth doing.

As I was checking out I booked my next visit. Need I say more?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M5835ULandym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Ive have just been on 3 day break to belfast and stayed at this hotel, and loved every minute of it,(belfast and hotel) i was able to check in early as the room was ready and was immediatly made welcome by all staff (lovely happy people) room was well presented and clean bed linen and towels changed daily, cocktails amazing lovely bar staff, lovely waitress(wish id took names) lovely breakfast!! i didnt want to leave *sob sob, perfect location, cant wait to go back, had a fantastic time!!! :)))))))))

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyH976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Beautiful hotel everything i've come to expect from the malmaison group..... luxury, comfort and elegance. We stayed in the samson suite which was absolutely beautiful, very luxurious, top class amenities and vouchers for cocktails in the bar.
Would highly reccomend the malmaison Belfast, its right across the road from victoria square and close to the city centre. Will most definitley be returning to this hotel if i'm lucky!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycbabe__7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Was very excited about going to this hotel for my boyfriends birthday surprise, and wasnt disappointed. Love the style and atmosphere, it was not extremely busy which was a little surprising as we would hightly rate it and location is so central to nightlife and shopping.

We did the sunday Mal deal which is amazing value, the brasserie restaraunt is really elegant, luxurious , cosy and food quality and presentation was excellent. Staff where excellent throughout our stay , but the one negative .....was the heat in the bedroom,the fan stored in the wardrobe was really necessary in September!

No car park either but the victoria shopping centre and Q park is 2 mins away ! So once you are prepared to pay for it.

Enjoy the cocktails in the bar!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Great hotel, good location, rooms lovely. The breakfast was great and the atmosphere in bar really nice. The facilities in room were good, only slight downside couldnt turn tv on, but all in all a great hotel.

Room Tip: Back of house quieter. St Georges market good on sunday morning when not much in belfast is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#7 of 45 in Belfast
1,204 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#22 of 45 in Belfast
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#24 of 45 in Belfast
206 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing