We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's happened to Malmaison?”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What's happened to Malmaison?”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I haven't stayed in a Malmaison hotel for a couple of years and I haven't stayed in the Belfast one for a few more. Oh my goodness - what's gone wrong? It was terrible - the room was appalling - dirty, grubby and worn. Got in bed and stayed there to avoid the dirt only to be woken at 1am by creaking floorboards from someone walking round in the room above (not their fault!). The staff were disinterested and distracted both on check in and check out - asked if I was having breakfast I replied that I couldn't remember if I had included it with my booking - so the guy just checked me out and didn't bother looking?! The pictures here are dark, as is the room(nothing has changed there) but you can see clearly the worn appearance. I used to be a fan but a good chain gone wrong in my opinion!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    450
    236
    108
    61
See reviews for
100
683
48
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed on a Saturday with a good last minute offer and were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is in a good location, close to a lovely area of Belfast with shops and bars. The architecture of the building is stunning, both inside and out. The inside reception, bar and restaurant are also decorated beautifully. The bar was so relaxing and comfortable we could have stayed there all night, very atmospheric with candles lit on all tables and service was great. The rooms are clean and have comfortable beds and are very roomy. They are very quirky. If you use the car park across the road over night the hotel will do a deal of £10, not bad. The receptionists were very helpful and gave us a few places to visit and eat. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaking103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

stayed here last night and was disappointed firstly when you check in they expect a £50 deposit in case you take anything from the fridge in your room but if you don't want to leave money they will arrange for it to be taken out. The beds are like a road very hard and uncomfortable aswell as one side being sunk in , to add to this the room above had very sqeeky floor boards we could hear every time they walked on them which was annoying. overall I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olivia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is located in the City Centre of Belfast City, which makes everything so accessible from it. I looooove the huge bed. It makes you wanna stay in it all day. :) One thing though, is that the bed linings can be a little rough on the skin, especially right after taking a shower plus the cold weather (sometimes you can get skin burns), but nonetheless, the bed is very comfy. I also enjoyed the soaking in the bathtub after a cold day. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. The floors are wooden, so it can be a little squeaky, especially in the hallway.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on 19 October 2013, it was very last minute, we didn't even have a toothbrush! That was immediatley remided, the reception not only gave us a toothbrush and paste each, but also gave my husband a shaving kit.
Our room was warm and pleasant, clean and welcoming.
We went for breakfast the next morning, and was greated by a very pleasant girl who showed us to our table and took our order.
The food came promptly, hot and tasty.
I would definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After my previous disastrous stay in this hotel I vowed never to return. However, I needed a hotel room in Belfast on a Sunday evening and the Malmaison do offer a great deal on a Sunday evening called the Sunday Stopover. Basically the price of the room is £25 as long as you spend at least £75 in the bar or restaurant. Seeing as I would easily spend that anyway on dinner and cocktails I thought it seemed like a bargain.

On this visit I didn't have any major problems, just a series of small issues that taken together were a bit of a disappointment:

i. When ordering my first drink at the bar I ordered food which didn't arrive, after 25 minutes I enquired about it to be told that there was a 'glitch' with the till i.e. they forgot to put the order through.
ii. In the restaurant we ordered two drinks and while my wife's drink arrived mine did not, it wasn't a big order so difficult to understand how they forgot about it but they did.
iii. The restaurant is fine for breakfast but not really suitable for an evening meal. There is very little space between the tables so little privacy is offered. I did see customers requesting to be moved to other tables because in some cases there's about 18 inches between your table and that of the party beside you. Also the decor needs revamped, on the seat beside us they have patched up a large tear in the upholstery with an iron on patch (see picture). Not exactly very professional.
iv. The food and drink is pricey. All I wanted was a burger which was £15, not exactly scandalous but a little on the high side. My burger was more well done than medium (which is what I had requested) but my wife enjoyed her seabass. The cheapest 'decent' glass of wine was £11 for 250ml and the cocktails in the bar are £8.95. All expensive for Belfast prices.
v. It's only after reading my previous review that I realised I had been allocated the dreaded room 208 that had caused problems on my last stay. Thankfully the issue with the noise of wind blowing through the window has been sorted but it still isn't well sound proofed to the noise of cars on the road outside. This wasn't much of an issue on a quiet Sunday night but it did cause me to waken at 8am the next morning as rush hour began. I would suggest requesting a room to the rear of the hotel.
vi. I know that it's an old building but you can really hear the floor boards above squeaking when anyone in the room above is walking around, I found this to be worse when house keeping were servicing the room above in the morning while I was trying to get a lie in.

Any of these issues taken in isolation isn't a big deal but taken together I would still recommend staying elsewhere if you're paying full price. That said, the Sunday Stopover deal is a bargain and is probably the only reason why I would stay here again. Just for balance I will say that the plus points of this hotel are the friendly staff, great locations and well furnished bedrooms.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel to avoid the noise of the busy road in front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewerk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel from the outset. friendly reception staff who really went out of their way to ensure we had a great night by offering a fantastic upgrade. The samson suite was first class and great fun to stay in. We really enjoyed dinner at the mal, great food, friendly effecient staff and relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast was to the same high standard. We look forward to returning soon. The worst part of the experience was having to leave, thanks for a really special stay.

Room Tip: Book the samson suite as its spectacular. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinead7564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#25 of 44 in Belfast
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#23 of 44 in Belfast
2,837 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing