We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Malmaison Ever!”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in Belfast from09/03/2014-11/03/2014 for my husbands's 40th Birthday.We are keen visitors to Malmaison hotels and have stayed at 5 and visited 7. I have visited Belfast previously on business but wanted to experience the more leisurely aspects ...and I wasnt disappointed.
As it was a very special occasion I wanted to stay at Malmaison Belfast and aplied for an upgrade when booking online.
On arrival at 1145 the receptionist was extremely friendly and advised us that we had been upgraded but the room was not ready. Delighted with this we went off on the Tour Bus (which is well worth a visit and takes you round the Peace Wals etc)and returned a few hours later.
On returning,we were told further that unfortunately the Goliath Suite was not available as the blinds were broken . Unbelievably,because of this we were upgraded for free to Samson Suite!
This was an experience neither of us had ever experienced!!
The suite was quite incredible-very dark and sultry,incorporating a full size pool table ,lounge area,2 50inch plasma tvs,bose surround sound and the most amazing bathroom with double sinks and showers plus a stand alone bath to die for!
This obviously made our stay even more special and added to our wonderful experience.
We ate in the restaurant as we had the Northern Lights deal . The food was exceptional and very tasty with superb service
What also made our stay were the excellent staff working at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and they were full of advice and help of where to eat,drink and be merry!A special mention must go to Chris on reception who was so helpful,extremely friendly and seemed to be around all the time! Also to Avril in the bar who gave us great advice on where to go and was very chatty. A special mention to Colm,who provided us with an excellent high standard of service whilst in the restaurant and outside of it. His friendly and warm personality is a credit to this hotel .Never have I stayed in a Malmaison and left knowing staff personally by their names...we did not want to leave and will 100% be returning.
Visit and experience it for yourself

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliBBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear AliBBirmingham
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and even more delighted that the team looked after you so well. Look forward to having you back very soon and thank you for your feedback.
Best Wishes
Lisa s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

824 - 830 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Good hotel for a short city break or business. The food was average/poor and the cocktail list disappointing. The room was small however it was clean and well kept. Would stay again with an offer but would not be tempted back into the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Misha73
Thank you for your comments especially in regards to the cocktail list - should you have more details that you wish to provide then please do call me on 08446930650.
With very best wishes
Lisa S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked online through a third party website as the hotel's own website said they were fully booked. We wanted to book a suite as it was our wedding anniversary but the third party website didn't offer this choice - so after making the booking, I contacted the hotel via the website explaining the situation and asking for someone to contact me. Someone did contact me to say they couldn't find our booking as it was too recent but as soon as it came onto their system they would be in touch.
This never happened and I never chased it as I was busy with other things.
However, I am glad we didn't bother!
When we arrived at the hotel at 11.30am, our room was already available. The lady who worked on reception was very nice and explained everything we needed to know.
We got our room, which was on the second floor - and it was just perfect. A good size, with a good size bathroom. Lots of hanging space for clothes and room to just relax. The room overlooked a side street so the view wasn't amazing but who cares??
The bed was comfortable and the room wasn't overly hot (which you sometimes find in hotels) - but we were able to open the window if it got too warm.
We didn't eat in the hotel but we had champagne (during Bubbles Times on friday evenings) and cocktails and drinks at various other stages of the weekend - and we found staff to be very helpful and efficient at all time. They were happy to give us directions, recommend drinks and just stop to have a wee chat.

The only negative to this fab hotel was that the lighting in the bedroom was dire. They have a lovely writing table and a mirror above it - which should be perfect for getting ready - but the lighting was so poor in everywhere but the bathroom - which was steamed from showers! Lol!!
Also, when the window was open (and even sometimes when it was closed) - we could hear noise from deliveries at about 5am from the street below! However, these were very minor issues and did nothing to detract from the great weekend we had at Malmaison Belfast!

We will definitely return here as we visit Belfast on a regular basis - and we have just found our new favourite hotel!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielouise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear MarielouiseG
Thank you ever so much for your positive comments - we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you joined us for Bubble Time. Look forward to having you back. Lisa S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for one night on a business visit with a colleague. We were given a warm welcome at the hotel reception - and recommended a selection of venues to visit in the evening. Great location, comfy bed, a window that opened, good shower, quality toiletries, free internet - all my needs met. Breakfast was excellent too. Definitely will return if we can get the same rate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Alan M
WOW - thank you for your comments, so pleased that we looked after you.
Hope to see you soon
Best wishes
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I was looking forward to staying at Malmaison and initial impression was good. The staff are very good and have great local knowledge. The location is great for getting around the city and seeing the sights.
The general interior design of the hotel is dark and subdued. This is nice and relaxing, but in the bedroom or in the public areas the light is useless for reading. As is the light in the room for make-up or shaving.
The in-house radio was fine in the bar area but in the restaurant some more relaxed music in the evening would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSherrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear LSherrard
Thank you for commenting about your stay on Tripadvisor, delighted that you enjoyed yor stay. The next time that you stay with us we can arrange for a lighter room. Look forward to having you back and should you wish to discuss, please call me on 08446930650.
Best Wishes
Lisa S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Seriously dated and unloved. I stayed here for business, last minute booking, and couldn't get my normal room.
It was nothing special.
Food was nothing great.
Overall i would definitely say it's not up to the standard I would expect of a hotel of this status.
The staff are very friendly however and it's in a good location.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbeambou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Jimbeambou
Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor about your stay, I would be delighted to discuss them further on 084469 30650. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us.
Best Wishes
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Comfortable bar and brasserie, good food, good service and good value. Centrally located and convenient for night life, sightseeing and shopping, what more could you ask! Location is right next to Victoria square and sophisticated nightlife, ideal..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiddles2Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Tiddles2Ireland
Thank you for commenting on Tripadvisor, delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, hope to have you back to stay with us very soon.
Best wishes
Lisa S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#18 of 47 in Belfast
305 reviews
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 47 in Belfast
3,057 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 47 in Belfast
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £93 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing