We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for one night on business with a group of 9 other colleagues. All of us were really impressed with how spacious and luxurious our rooms were. The bed was comfortable, large with beautiful crisp white bed linen. There was also a well stocked but predictably expensive mini-bar. My bathroom had a huge bath, fluffy towels and lots of quality complimentary toiletries.

The whole group of 10 ate in the hotel bistro. Our table was booked for 7.30pm and despite only 1 other table of 2 in the restaurant, our food didn't arrive until 9.30pm. However when it did arrive everyone agreed it was delicious if a little pricey.

Breakfast was tasty with the full cooked offering having an emphasis on quality rather than quantity. Although if I'd have paid the £15 it cost I would've felt a bit short changed.

Whilst my booking was paid for by my employer I was still required to provide a £50 deposit when checking in. I was asked for a credit card to do this but as I didn't have mine with me I had to hand over my debit card. £50 was duly deducted from my account. Although when I checked out the following morning I was told this would be credited back to my account, this didn't appear until the following week. As this was the last week before payday it left me quite short of funds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamazo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    429
    230
    105
    60
See reviews for
94
660
47
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Decided to take a trip to Belfast because we found a special offer for the hotel which included dinner, a cocktail and accommodation. We were not disappointed. Hotel is located near the main shopping centre and a 15 minute walk from the Titanic museum - so just right for our needs. It was quiet when we checked in and we were thrilled to get a room upgrade. Our room (106) was spacious and elegant with tv and dvd (typical for Mal). Toiletries are fab. Dinner in the nautical themed bistro was delicious - the staff were friendly, helpful and discreet. We also spent time in the luxurious bar (for the complimentary cocktail!) - more excellent staff. Breakfast was another highlight - homemade bircher muesli and waffles particular highlights. Room overlooked the main road and was a little noisy on our first evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kesh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed with hubby, checked in no problems (strange reception set up!), very friendly staff who were also helpful. Room was fine and this real winner is location, minutes away from city centre and all we wanted!

We ate in the bar one evening, food good and server informative and friendly.......I could t fault the staff at this hotel - liked the bar and the atmosphere in there.
Bathroom skirtings etc a little dusty!

Room Tip: rooms at the front are interesting, people watching on the street below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and we received a card and mini bottle of Prosecco in the room which was a lovely touch. Service and room lovely, although drains in bath and sink were seriously blocked and room very warm at night.
We dined in the restaurant at night and the service was very slow and food just average.
Our package included a cocktail and that was excellent, along with the bar staff's service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Arrived well before checkin time but as the room was available there was no problem handing over the key. Great location - if you like to walk its 20mins to the peace murals and about the same to the Titanic museum with the city centre 5mins. Discount city parking across the road. The hotel bar has plush seating while the room was not big it served our overnight stay perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember090220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked into the Malmaison Belfast as a treat for our trip away to celebrate birthdays and visiting friends who were filming in the area, and it was lovely! Located minutes from the centre and shops it was ideal and met all of our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateW-B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Kate W-B_12
Thanks for takign the time to comment on TripAdvisor - pleased that we looked after you.
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I booked a group of five for a Sunday lunchtime treat. Expecting just the usual brunch menus of Eggs Benedict or a fry, we were astounded that the glorious array of foods , prepared and served by a very friendly and helpful chef were also part of the deal. The selection of hot and cold meats, seafoods, cheeses, breads and all sort of dainties to which you could help yourself was unlimited. One of us even had a fresh crepe made and another had a freshly cooked waffle. All of this was followed by the main menu, which did indeed include a delicious Eggs Benedict for me, but there were also fries and grills for anyone who could face them after the extensive starters on offer. The waiting staff were friendly and helpful, so when I explained that I could not manage a third course from the selection of sweets available, I was offered a coffee instead. This brunch in the Mal's restaurant has to be one of Belfast's best kept secrets. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S, General Manager at Malmaison, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Audrey062
WOW - thank you for your comments - we're delighted that you enjoyed everything. We love our Sunday Lunch too.
See you back soon?
Best Wishes
Lisa S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing