We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Samson Sutie - Best suite in Belfast by Far!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
1 review
“Samson Sutie - Best suite in Belfast by Far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I booked the Samson suite as a surprise to propose to my girlfriend - lets just say we've already planned to go back for our wedding night!!

The Samson suite is by far the best hotel room i've ever seen, and seems out of place in Belfast. A huge lounge area with open fire and cool purple pool table, an enormous bed in a separate bedroom area, a great bathroom with a very romatic double bath and shower and a dressing room - but trust me once your in you wont want to get dressed to go anywhere!!

The staff were very friendly and on arrival the room was set up with candles. romantic music, choc strawberries and Champagne on ice - nice little touches. We didnt have dinner in the hotel but the restaurant and bar area looked great. We ordered room service for breakfast and this was brought on time in individual hampers. The lack of parking is a bit of a let down, but victoria square car park is literally a 2 min walk away and, unlike other reviews, I thought very reasonable at £14 from 3pm Sat to 11am Sunday.

Overall an amazing stay and I would highly recommend treating yourself to the Samson Sutie. The attached photos dont do it justice . . . . must be seen to be believed!!!

  • Liked — Samsin Suite
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfast007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    421
    225
    101
    60
See reviews for
90
652
46
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Stayed recently at malmaison Belfast, and to be honest we thought it was a good place to be... Very easy check in from friendly and helpful staff!!...
The hotel itself is in a great location for shopping and exploring Belfast, only down side is that it has NO parking facilities, nor are there any on street outside.....Closest parking is at the Victoria Square site which is pricey!!
We ate at the hotel brasserie and must say we had a brilliant meal served by very informative and happy to help staff, service was excellant., and for a Sunday evening there was a good atmosphere too!!..
Hotel rooms were good and very well decorated of decent size. they came complete with flat screen tv and a DVD player (u can borrow dvds from reception, old titles but better than nothing!!)
Only complaint from our stay was the noise of the hotels heating system (on the roof- we were on the 4th floor) which constantly fired up all night!!!... double glazing would sort the problem!!!, but few more drinks next time and i am sure i will sleep right through it!!!..

  • Liked — The meal in the restaurant
  • Disliked — Noise from hotel heating plant on roof
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onholzagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

The Malmaison Hotel is a really unique hotel and a very enjoyable experience to stay there. I was a little worried after I booked as a few negative reviews were posted but I was not disappointed with the Hotel. Our room was very big with 4 windows and a really nice bathroom. Although there was no bath there was a separate shower [which we prefer anyway]. There were really nice toiletries also. My only negative about the room would be the bit was a bit hard. The Bar downstairs was really nice with comfortable seats and very friendly bar service. Also the breakfast the next morning was probably the best I have ever had. The continental selection was really good, proper freshly squeezed orange juice and cooked breakfast prepared fresh which is such a refreshing change from having food sitting out in a buffet for a few hours. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Parking is in the Victoria Quay's car park nearby [about a 5 min walk]. Overall a great experience and wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again on a return trip to Belfast

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc_irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

We have stayed at Malmaison on many occasions and have always loved it but this time we pushed the boat out and booked the Love Suite Love offer for our anniversary.
On arrival we were shown to the Goliath Suite. There was romantic music playing on the CD, scented candles all round the suite, the fire was lit and there was a bucket of champagne chilling and choc dipped strawberries.
The suite was fabulous. Separate lounge area, massive very comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom with freestanding tub and huge shower. Its at the top of the hotel and has romote controlled velux blindsall along the roof windows which were a lovely touch.
It was a bit hot though. We had to turn the fire off but there was aircon so it was fine. We ordered room service which came very quickly and was gorgeous. We went down to the bar in the evening and couldnt fault the friendly and efficient bar staff, despite the hectic bar.
Breakfast was served in our room and again was fantastic. It was continental and we had yogurt with fruit, fruit salad, cereal, croissants and fresh juice.
All in all, Malmaison ticked every box this time. I dont know how we will ever go back to a normal room after this!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — shower was a bit too hot
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Knockmany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed for a weekend in the hotel.

Good points: Well located for the Victoria Sq shopping centre,
Food in the restaurant quite good, liked the candles at night

Bad points: I would only rate it as 2 star. While they have tried to create a cool atmosphere it appears to have been done on the cheap and whole hotel is murky. Carpet in the foyer really needs a clean. Apparent lack of security at night, we witnessed an inebriated guest keeling over on the floor in main foyer, no security personnel attended to him. Extremely loud party in one of the suites, blaring music for all other guests to hear. The room was tiny and bed was rock hard. Tiny window which would not open and the heat in the hotel is unreal. No aircon in rooms. No parking although parking available in Victoria St carpark down the road.

Give it a miss.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The tiny room and rock hard bed
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

We very recently spent a most enjoyable 2 night break at the Malmaison. Their restaurant has a good atmosphere and great food was served. The hotel has a most enjoyable, lively bar which is also open to the public and seems to be very popular. We loved Belfast and also enjoyed an afternoon's racing at Down Royal racecourse in Lisburn - about 20 mins by cab from Belfast centre.

Helpful?
Thank coryangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

Classifying your hotel as a ‘boutique, stylish or luxury’ is a poisoned chalice for your average hotelier let alone hotel chain.

Most if not all in my experience are what one would traditionally classify as 3* properties made fancy. What differentiates a hotel like this from a 3* should be a significantly superior product all around. Great design, top quality furnishings and accomodation, great food and drink and above all superior service should are all equally important. Get one or more wrong and it can all goes horribly wrong.

Enter Malmaison Belfast. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad hotel – it’s decent enough in fact but it’s not a good one. The designer clearly set out to create something cool, sleek, and modern, decked out in purple and black with crushed velvet everywhere but it’s all a bit gothic and dark in reality.

A standard room plus breakfast cost £135 booking by phone – about £40 less than their B&B rate online.

Standards rooms are comfortable and well kitted out but small. Rooms to the rear face a courtyard which unfortunately contains a lot of really noisy plant equipment as in air-conditioning units and extractor fans – very audible even on the 4th floor. Not normally a problem but given there’s no in room aircon, if you need air when you sleep you must sleep with the window open. So we moved to the front of the hotel. These rooms face street side but again as there’s no aircon, the window must remain open. And jeez it’s a noisy city – sirens every 5 minutes howling down Victoria Street. Not the hotel’s fault, but to market and price this place as a luxury hotel, the lack of aircon or other ventilation other than an open window is unforgivable.

We did have another issue with our room in so far that the radiator was on full blast and could not be turned off. Not even the night porter could fix but an isolated issue I’m sure. The room was like a sauna though.

The bed is a queen, the TV flat screen but with a DVD player for good measure. There is also a library for CDs and movies in the hotel and also a CD in of Malmaison’s favourite music for sale in the room – be aware though, break the seal and you’ve bought it.

Bathroom was standard sized with a good shower and plenty of own brand toiletries.

Check in and out was smooth with all staff friendly. Food and drink reasonably priced with an ok breakfast – nothing special. We had lunch the previous day and that too was ok. The bar could do with a really good clean though – the tables and seats were a little mucky from the night before. Interestingly there’s a huge TV in the bar and I was told that hotel policy dictates that they only allowed Sky News and Fashion TV to be shown!

Parking is on street or across the road from Victoria Street carpark. It’s in a good location too – right across the road from the new Victoria Street shopping centre.

In reality Malmaison is not that far removed from a Premier Inn. It’s clean, comfortable while just a little bit swankier. It misses the mark of staying somewhere special and as such, it’s just another overpriced 3* hotel.

My suggestion to management – go stay at a W to see how it’s done.

I rate this property 3/5.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No aircon and broken radiator
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IronicMullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Bullitt Hotel
Bullitt Hotel
#28 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Hilton Belfast
#21 of 43 in Belfast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Property: Malmaison
Address: 34 - 38 Victoria St, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing