We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Hotel is minuets from the shopping district of Belfast so the Location is great. just on the edge of the city centre and down the road from St georges market, 10min walk.
The Hotel when you get there seems dark and mysterious but that is the charm of the place., it certainly is different
The reception staff all were very helpful in everyway, and always available for a quick chat about where one wanted to go and see, I have a bad leg and needed certain helpful advise and I felt my questions were answered as i can only hobble about and can't walk too far.
The rooms were nice and quite large, we are two big adults and there was room for both of us and our luggage.
We had one meal in the restaurant, although the staff were helpful the food was not really up to scratch considering what is available in Belfast and all the wonderful restauants that are there.
Like I said we only eat there once and that was because we were short of time and wanted to get back to our room for a world cup match..we never went back to eat there.
over all the Hotel was reallly fine for our needs in Belfast..we stayed six nights.
Ifn you read other reviews then you will realise there is no Air con in the rooms, there do give a fan which is ok but we stayed in July and the weather was quite warm. i asked at reception about if they could do anything else...within 1 hour a plug in Air Con unit was in the room and up and running (exactly the same unit as I have at home )
We had a good time at the Malmaison Belfast

Room Tip: We had a high floor facing the road, noise not too bad The view is city centre and overlooking an o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loftusroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This has got to be one of my favourite chains - they just get everything right!

I was on a one night stop over with work - even with a corporate booking and a much cheaper rate the service and room did not lack in anything! The room was smaller than I've ever had when I've stayed in the Mal's before - but it was still roomy and extremely well equipped!

Would never hesitate to stop here again or any other Mal!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Parkie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Perfect location - you can walk to everything in the city. I stayed here in July and whilst I know that Belfast isn't known for its hot sunshine, it was warm when we were there, and the rooms here have no air con!! Just a huge fan which you have to leave on overnight to get some sleep. Very stuffy room, even with the windows open.

On the plus side, breakfast was included in my rate, and it was excellent. Service, buffet selection and freshly cooked hot foods were superb and very tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you don't want street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cabernetsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is is right in the heart of the city, a bit noisy late at night but too be expected. The rooms are a lovely size and the beds are so comfortable you can loose yourself in them. I ate at the bar as I was travelling alone, the staff were great and made me feel comfortable and at ease. Nothing was too much trouble for them.would highly recommend the hotel for location, rooms and the friendly staff. Park at either the hi park multi storey or the castle multi storey both are a short walk from the hotel the castle cost me £14 for 29 hours of parking. Breakfast was fab I opted for the cooked and it was hot and well presented . Bar menu was good I recommend the summer burger though the full evening menu looked very good as well.. A great place to stay in a great city

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

According to Google translate, Malmaison translates into English as Wrong House. Bing translate is less forgiving and translates it as Evil House. I wouldn't go quite that far!

Stayed here for one night on 25th July and frankly it was one night too many. Belfast was experiencing a heat wave with temperatures in the high 20s. This Malmaison has no air conditioning whatsoever. Not in the communal areas, not in the bar, not in the restaurant, not in the bedrooms.

Walking into the foyer to check-in was like stepping into an oven. The stressed out and sweaty staff behind the desks that serve as reception were trying their best to be chirpy and welcoming but it was an impossible task!

If the foyer was oven-like, my bedroom, a loft room, was an inferno. A trendy chrome fan groaned under the pressure of having been set to max since the last guest fled from heat exhaustion! Even the drinks in the minibar were suffering from malaise.

I sought refuge under a cold shower only to discover that many of the boxes containing Malmaison's famed amenities were empty. Had they too fled the room due to the heat or had the maid collapsed before she actually got around to servicing the bathroom?

I didn't opt for breakfast as I couldn't contemplate the thought of eating in these conditions. Myself and a colleague did try to secure a drink at the bar upon our return to the hotel but the smell of sewage/drains within was too nauseating.

What 4-star hotel anywhere in the world in the 21st Century does not have some sort of air conditioning system fitted. Malmaison Belfast 4 star - No Way! Wrong House - Definitely! Evil House - you decide.

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless it's in midwinter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank caseypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at other hotels in this chain and their sister chain Hotel Du Vin and this is by far the worst.

Rooms do not have any Air/Con - it was BAKING. They had opened the window and placed a fan in the room but this was definitely a case of gate-horse-bolted-too-late. The other aspect was that the room was so dark that you could not see the buttons on the remote. So dark it made doing things annoying.

Bathroom was clean but smelt of mould. Nice range of accessories, clean toilet etc etc.

Most annoying and basic fault, staff not paying attention and attending to customers, everywhere.
On arrival no interest from check in - not prepared. In bar after checking into my sauna it took 8 minutes in an empty bar to get served. Staff walking around and speaking to each other at the far end of the bar. Decided to go out to dinner as a result of the lack of care. On returning at 10.00 it took some time to get served and the attitude of the staff was anything but polite and welcoming. Surly would be a better description.

There was work going on from early in the morning, nothing said to us the night before or at check in that this might wake us.

Breakfast recovered things a little. The omelet was well cooked. The coffee was sharp and nasty, cheap.

Check out in the morning demonstrated another could-not-care moment. Two people at the "desks" in reception but only one of them working. I walk up to the second one and he ignores me. He then tells me to go to the other desk. No explanation why or apology, dismissive. The young girl is going as fast as she can but why only one person ? What is the other man up to ?

This place is looking tired, lacks 4* basic features (A/C) in this day and needs to kick all of its staff firmly up the bottom and train them how to interact with the customers.

I will not be going back there and I will be recommending others not to go there. Wake up and smell the champ you lot. You are dragging the quality of this chain down. I would recommend Maddisons on Botannic. I will be staying there again in the future. A little but slower and can be noisy when they have live bands on (ask for a top floor room) but much nicer and a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask if it has A/C. Inspect the room prior to unpacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank neveratrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was treated to a night in malmaison & totally loved the time experience. Friendly approachable staff and lovely clean luxurious rooms.
We had our Sunday lunch in the restaurant and while the portion sizes were not huge the food was delicious and they offer an excellent selection.
Hope to have a return visit soon! I would recommend looking for their special deals online.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#8 of 46 in Belfast
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 46 in Belfast
2,993 reviews
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 46 in Belfast
2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#20 Family Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £91 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing