We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't bother...”
Review of Malmaison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Belfast
Reviewed 10 September 2010

we visited malmaison on saturday 4th September for a relaxing birthday treat. First of all nowhere to park your car! No one to help you/welcome you into the hotel. Decor was slightly gothic. Room was supposed to be deluxe but wasn't up to standard. Bed was hard, pillows very poor quality. The room was so hot we slept with the windows open but there was some kind of generator outside the back and it was extremely noisy. there was a quilt on the bed, but no option for just a sheet. When we complained the next morning...they said to ask next time we were there and they would put a portable air conditioning unit in the room! no offer of reduced rate! The food was good in the restaurant and the staff in the bar were very friendly. Breakfast was ok, but the wait for coffee was too long. When we asked for a refill it took them so long we just gave up and left.

Overall, nice brasserie, and bar. Good for an evening out, but wouldn't recommend staying. As one of the other reviewers said : spend your hard earned money somewhere else where you will be treated well!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed at Malmaison Belfast for one night Saturday 4th September 2010 and loved it. Such a welcome change from the bland modern so-called luxury hotels I often see. Very comfortable attractive room with a well-stocked mini-bar at unusually reasonable prices. Lovely large-sized toiletries in the smart bathroom. Beautifully quirky public areas and exceptional service (the receptionist "kept an eye" on my car which was parked on a double yellow line for most of the evening...) and great freshly cooked breakfast. I will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Service was good, the food was lovely, but otherwise I could not recommend this place.

There is no porter and getting a space outside to take in (yourself) your luggage is impossible unless a public space is free. No parking safe onsite or nearby.

The public areas are dreary, the wireless didn't work, we had to request every item on our "special" deal which was humiliating, making us feel cheap.

We had to have a noisy aircon unit parked in the middle of our "deluxe" room which was poky and dark with a miserable little bathroom. They ripped us off on the drinks - we asked for a standard whiskey and when they didn't have it they offered us an alternative which was £10 a shot.

We had to query our bill as they had conveniently forgotten our deal.

Wish we had gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldehyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

stayed here BH monday night - rooms were operfectly adequate considering we only paid £60 for bed and breakfast - the shower could have been more powerful but thats a minor gripe!! Breakfast next morning was really lovely with breakfast cooke to order - the bacon rolls were absolutely delicious - no complaints from me at all and if i got a similar rate i would certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juicylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed on Sunday night with my girlfriend. After being out for something to eat we returned to the hotel for a drink. Nice bar, drinks were fine and the staff were pleasent. Went up to bedroom about 11.30. When we got into the room it was like a sauna, so we opened the windows, which gave a little relief. Got into bed and discovered it might as well have been made out of concrete. Tossed and turned for a while, and then 12 o'clock came, when the albert clock situated about 100yrds away went off. Every hour on the hour. We were both out of bed at 6 with hardly any sleep. Complained when we went down the next morning and the room rate was halved. I can honestly say it was the worst nights sleep i've ever had in a hotel. In saying all that, the staff were all very nice. Could have been so much better. My advice, spend your hard erned money somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ash107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled to Belfast for the Belsonic Festival and booked this hotel as it was close by. We could not have been happier with our stay at Malmaison. We loved the decor, our room was perfect, breakfast was delicious but most of all the staff were fantastic. From reception, to room service, all could not have been more helpful.

In particular, we have to say a huge thank you to the bar staff who were not only friendly and told us exactly where to go and what to see in Belfast, but made the best cocktails around. Attention to detail is key and the drinks here were made to perfection. We stayed for a couple of nights and as soon as we went through to the bar we were looked after immediately and then remembered and made to feel very welcome throughout our stay.

We enjoy our food and drink and spend a lot of time sampling different restaurants and bars, and the bar at Malmaison has to be our favourite so far! The drinks menu had everything you could wish for showing the extent of knowledge held by the bar staff, and if like me you were unsure of what to order ask for a surprise!!! You will not be disappointed. We particularly loved the bar man's favourite, a dark and stormy!

So if you are in Belfast, Malmaison is highly recommended. Even if you just pop in for a drink!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_B10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed on a Saturday night on an excellent summer deal with evening meal and breakfast.Hotel reception check in was perfect and room was lovely and quiet-not as dark as one we had stayed in several years ago!Food in restaurant was excellent and chilled out atmosphere in the bar was nice.Hotel is perfectly situated for shopping with the Victoria Square Centre less than 5 mins walk away.Only slight niggle about this hotel is the lack of parking and the need to fork out another £20 to park overnight in one of the local car parks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strabaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Radisson Blu Hotel, Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Belfast
#20 of 45 in Belfast
3,035 reviews
Merchant Hotel
#2 of 45 in Belfast
2,623 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#9 of 45 in Belfast
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison

Address: 34-38 Victoria Street, Belfast BT1 3GH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast > Golden Mile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#22 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: £89 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Belfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing