We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wee gem :)”

Windrush Island Cafe
Ranked #286 of 1,056 Restaurants in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wee gem :)”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Wendy is a lovely person, made us feel so welcome and a wonderful cook! Loved the decor and music. Had a fab meal and will most certainly be back more often! Highly recommend if you fancy abit of tasty Caribbean cuisine. Yum!!

Helpful?
Thank irish_soul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    19
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely !!!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived here on a Tuesday "domino night" !! Dominoes are apparently a common carribean pastime!! We had a set 3 course menu , which was freshly prepared ! Corn fritters dumplings and chicken for starter, jerk fish with rice and plantains ( my wife had jerk pork) and a sweet potato cake with ice cream for dessert! Amazing flavours , great service and price! A hidden gem!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jimbomurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a great little place. We went during the week & the food was fresh, tasty & packed full
Of flavours. Waiter was great Craic and even showed us how to play dominos. Will be back & BYO is great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craic32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindrushIslandCafe, Manager at Windrush Island Cafe, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
thanks very much for your review, we hope you will visit our upstairs which will open in a few weeks, which will be a chill out spot for coffee and after dinner as well as our cook school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a quirky, fun, very different restaurant. It is BYO, with a limited selection on the menu. Our waitress was very friendly. The food is a bit slow coming out of the kitchen, but it is worth the wait.
We had the sharing platter of starters. The pork ragout and escoveitched fish mains were all delicious. This was a real find and worth a visit if you want something different.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindrushIslandCafe, Manager at Windrush Island Cafe, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place a review, we are glad you enjoyed the cafe, we continue to work on the menu and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Never had carribean food before. I had goat curry and I loved it! Great value for money and is byo. Highly reccomended it.

Helpful?
Thank Bastaberlusconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindrushIslandCafe, Manager at Windrush Island Cafe, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, the time taken is much appreciated, we are glad you enjoyed your time at the cafe, we continue try to work on making it an enjoyable venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windrush Island Cafe also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to Windrush Island Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing